We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing weekend”
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Townhouse
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an amazing weekend”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We arrived at the hotel on a Friday evening at 8.00pm and the bar was buzzing with people - we later found out that it was Champagne happy hour! Natalie greeted us at reception and showed us to our rooms. She is possibly the most friendly and cheerful person I have ever met - unfailingly hapy to help - she really made the weekend for me.
The rooms are gorgeous. Huge beds, lovely decor and the decanter of port and gift pack of shortbread biscuits was the icing on the cake.
The breakfasts were amazing - we had full English, which included 2 eggs! The sausage was so delicious that we had to ask the chef where he'd bought it from.
We hired the private dining room for dinner on Saturday night and enjoyed just the right amount of attention from the serving staff, who had to contend with the fact that everyone had forgotten what they had pre-ordered. they were very patient with us.
All in all, lovely surroundings and very pleasant staff - what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireCharlieHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    95
    43
    18
    9
See reviews for
50
324
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just returned from a 1 night stay. This is a great little hotel in a fantastic position in the middle of town. We were lucky to be able to park right outside the door as it was a Sunday evening and the parking is free from 6pm to 8am so we only had to feed the meter for a couple of hours next morning.
Our room, no 8, was quite small but ideal for a night or two. The king size bed was very comfy and the sheets lovely and soft. The carpets and decor are all quite new and the bathroom was immaculate with a very large shower. The room was on the second floor and very quiet even though we left the window open.
The small decanter of port and the lovely biscuits in the room were an unexpected bonus, as was the fridge in the room with the bottled water and the tiny bottle of fresh milk for the tea.
The staff make you feel welcome and on Sunday evenings they have live music in the bar. There were many locals there and we really enjoyed the evening.
Breakfast was very good. We had a last minute deal which was excellent but we will return for another break in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed for 1 night during a short break to Stratford. The hotel has an excellent location right in the centre of town. Only a 2 minute walk to the various pubs and restaurants that Stratford has to offer. Despite this, and despite the fact our room overlooked the front of the building, we had no issues with noise (despite us deciding to leave our windows being open all night).

The room was clean, spacious and immaculately decorated. Little touches like the fresh milk and chilled mineral water in the mini fridge, and hand made biscuits and a decanter of port on the dressing table really set the hotel apart from many chain hotels. The bathroom was clean, stylish and well equipped. The hotel provides hair dryers and hair straighteners in every room, which were a welcome addition! Our room (Room 10. A superior room, I believe) had rooftop views of the town, which were lovely. We had a look at some of the other (standard category) rooms as they were being cleaned as we left, and they were of the same quality, but smaller.

My only criticism would have been that the room was very hot, even in mid September. However I think this is due to the fact it is up in at eaves of the building, and cant be helped. The hotel provided a large freestanding fan in the room, so they are obviously aware of the situation and have done their best to remedy it.

Breakfast in the morning was very pleasant- we opted for the full English which was well presented and freshly cooked. Staff at the hotel/bar were very friendly.
All in all a wonderful, quirky hotel that I would thoroughly recommend. However, I would say that we paid a fantastic last minute rate of only £50 B&B. Ordinarily our room would have been circa £160 per night, which I think is rather expensive. However, this seems in line with most hotels in Stratford.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

What a great little hotel. We booked last minute on our way from Tavistock to Durham and absolutely loved the hotel. Great room - spacious and full of character (the carafe of port was a nice touch) - and our very own corridor to a super bathroom. The welcome was great as was the service at dinner and breakfast. Delicious dinner, followed by a great live singing duo in the bar. Amazed at breakfast to find that we could choose whatever we liked from a generous menu. Absolutely delightful and looking forward to returning sometime.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. We were in room 4. The room was lovely very clean and tidy. Very good size considering it was a 'simple' room. Staff were very helpful and avaliable if nreded.
Could not fault the hotel in any way.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meg9181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This boutique hotel has 12 well appointed, spotlessly clean, rooms (great bathrooms) and is a 5 minute walk from the RSC theatre and river walks.They do an excellent pre theatre supper, £16 for 3 courses! It is in a fairly quiet street in Stratford and although parking can be a problem, they have reserved spaces at a nearby covered car park at preferential rates.

Breakfast was first class, freshly cooked and served quickly.

All the staff were amazing....friendly, attentive and cheerful.

One of the best places we have stayed in Stratford.

Room Tip: Go for room 3, it overlooks a garden at the back and has no noise from the street, nor from the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hesiod58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our first wedding anniversary in room 1 for 2 nights and room 3 for the 3rd night. Both rooms were lovely sophisticated shabby chic with free biscuits and port! Also a free half bottle of wine as it was our anniversary.
Particularly good:
Dinner the first night was amazing. As good as many restaurants in London and certainly gastropub standard
The bath in room 3 was very well used (see main picture)
Very well located everything in walking distance even in heels! The stop for the open bus tour is minutes around the corner (don't do what we did and wander around aimlessly looking for the bus stop!)
Useful map at reception
Near the Saturday market-good for early Xmas gifts
Lovely piano playing on the cosy bar and 5-6 Friday is half price champagne night
If I am being pinickity:
Our breakfast on the Sunday and Monday mornings were not as good as Saturday. We wondered if the chef had changed or had a hangover! Still nice but we were spoiled on the Saturday!
I am gluten free and had to bring my own bread Genius (as everyone knows sourdough the only gluten free bread on offer is dry and rank) even though I had flagged the fact I was and the bread you can get in any supermarket (we bought it on the way from a service station and several restaurants inthe town served me this bread so I can't understand why this couldn't be sourced)
However these are minor niggles and yes I would stay again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairek2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,558 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,067 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
842 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: 16 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Townhouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished boutique hotel is housed in a 400 year old listed building in the heart of Stratford upon Avon. Located opposite Shakespeare's school, among the ancient half-timbered buildings the town is famous for and only 2 minute's walk to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. This is THE place for a pre-theatre supper - local pianists play at 5.30pm daily and the atmosphere is great. The 12 funky en-suite bedrooms vary in size, cost and view. Try for a room at the front of the building for the perfect view. Great food is served all day, through till 10pm in this buzzy neighbourhood bistro with Afternoon Tea a particular favorite. Champagne Happy Hour is every Friday at 5pm and the bar is packed with a great, upmarket local crowd. The staff make the place and nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Townhouse Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing