We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Townhouse
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife was at a hen do (spa day and evening meal) and we have a 3 month old who is still breast feeding so I decided to book a local hotel so she would be able to come and feed him if he didn't take the bottle very well; plus we could all stay as family on the night and have a look around town on the Sunday morning.

The room was very well furnished, extremely comfortable and spacious. Nice touches included complimentary bottled water, shortbread biscuits and a small bottle of port(!); plus an excellent array of toiletries, etc. The food from the dining room was delicious, especially the breakfast which was included in the price of the room. Well worth a visit even if not staying in the hotel.

The main selling point, however was the staff - both Natalie on the front desk and David (General Manager) who served us breakfast were so friendly and helpful it made our stay that little more enjoyable. Thank you!

Church Street Townhouse will definitely be our first choice when we next stay in Stratford-upon-Avon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which was an excellent size and very comfortable. No complaints over noise, howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night on Saturday 12 October. The staff, location and restaurant/bar all met our expectations (of a Mr & Mrs Smith boutique hotel). However, the room we stayed in and bathroom along with communal areas clearly impress those people who have fallen into the trap of choosing quirky shabby chic hotels which are in fact not much better than a tired £60 a night B&B. Although the bedding was lovely and crisp and a fresh jug of milk in the fridge is a nice touch, it doesn't make up for the fact that the bedroom (room 9) is dark with paint peeling off the walls, strips of carpet holding up the wardrobe and curtains which are detached from the pole. This hotel is just at the point where it could be possibly be rescued and returned to a standard to match the restaurant downstairs. I doubt we'll return.

Room Tip: We defaulted to standard. Make sure you upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My new wife and I stayed here on the night of our wedding and the following night. It was everything I hoped it would be, the staff were friendly and helpful as I had to drop off a bag earlier in the day and it was manned 24 hours so we could get into the room in the early hours.

The be d was comfy and the bath was very nice as well althoug it could have done with some bubble bath. I have to say the breakfast which was included in the price was the best thing about about the stay, I had the Eggs Benedict and they were stupendisouly good!

The location was excellent and although we didnt have a drink in the bar it seemed to have a great atmosphere everytime we went through it

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We arrived at the hotel on a Friday evening at 8.00pm and the bar was buzzing with people - we later found out that it was Champagne happy hour! Natalie greeted us at reception and showed us to our rooms. She is possibly the most friendly and cheerful person I have ever met - unfailingly hapy to help - she really made the weekend for me.
The rooms are gorgeous. Huge beds, lovely decor and the decanter of port and gift pack of shortbread biscuits was the icing on the cake.
The breakfasts were amazing - we had full English, which included 2 eggs! The sausage was so delicious that we had to ask the chef where he'd bought it from.
We hired the private dining room for dinner on Saturday night and enjoyed just the right amount of attention from the serving staff, who had to contend with the fact that everyone had forgotten what they had pre-ordered. they were very patient with us.
All in all, lovely surroundings and very pleasant staff - what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireCharlieHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just returned from a 1 night stay. This is a great little hotel in a fantastic position in the middle of town. We were lucky to be able to park right outside the door as it was a Sunday evening and the parking is free from 6pm to 8am so we only had to feed the meter for a couple of hours next morning.
Our room, no 8, was quite small but ideal for a night or two. The king size bed was very comfy and the sheets lovely and soft. The carpets and decor are all quite new and the bathroom was immaculate with a very large shower. The room was on the second floor and very quiet even though we left the window open.
The small decanter of port and the lovely biscuits in the room were an unexpected bonus, as was the fridge in the room with the bottled water and the tiny bottle of fresh milk for the tea.
The staff make you feel welcome and on Sunday evenings they have live music in the bar. There were many locals there and we really enjoyed the evening.
Breakfast was very good. We had a last minute deal which was excellent but we will return for another break in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed for 1 night during a short break to Stratford. The hotel has an excellent location right in the centre of town. Only a 2 minute walk to the various pubs and restaurants that Stratford has to offer. Despite this, and despite the fact our room overlooked the front of the building, we had no issues with noise (despite us deciding to leave our windows being open all night).

The room was clean, spacious and immaculately decorated. Little touches like the fresh milk and chilled mineral water in the mini fridge, and hand made biscuits and a decanter of port on the dressing table really set the hotel apart from many chain hotels. The bathroom was clean, stylish and well equipped. The hotel provides hair dryers and hair straighteners in every room, which were a welcome addition! Our room (Room 10. A superior room, I believe) had rooftop views of the town, which were lovely. We had a look at some of the other (standard category) rooms as they were being cleaned as we left, and they were of the same quality, but smaller.

My only criticism would have been that the room was very hot, even in mid September. However I think this is due to the fact it is up in at eaves of the building, and cant be helped. The hotel provided a large freestanding fan in the room, so they are obviously aware of the situation and have done their best to remedy it.

Breakfast in the morning was very pleasant- we opted for the full English which was well presented and freshly cooked. Staff at the hotel/bar were very friendly.
All in all a wonderful, quirky hotel that I would thoroughly recommend. However, I would say that we paid a fantastic last minute rate of only £50 B&B. Ordinarily our room would have been circa £160 per night, which I think is rather expensive. However, this seems in line with most hotels in Stratford.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

What a great little hotel. We booked last minute on our way from Tavistock to Durham and absolutely loved the hotel. Great room - spacious and full of character (the carafe of port was a nice touch) - and our very own corridor to a super bathroom. The welcome was great as was the service at dinner and breakfast. Delicious dinner, followed by a great live singing duo in the bar. Amazed at breakfast to find that we could choose whatever we liked from a generous menu. Absolutely delightful and looking forward to returning sometime.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,865 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,935 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,407 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,153 reviews
0 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Address: 16 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £67 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished boutique hotel is housed in a 400 year old listed building in the heart of Stratford upon Avon. Located opposite Shakespeare's school, among the ancient half-timbered buildings the town is famous for and only 2 minute's walk to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. This is THE place for a pre-theatre supper - local pianists play at 5.30pm daily and the atmosphere is great. The 12 funky en-suite bedrooms vary in size, cost and view. Try for a room at the front of the building for the perfect view. Great food is served all day, through till 10pm in this buzzy neighbourhood bistro with Afternoon Tea a particular favorite. Champagne Happy Hour is every Friday at 5pm and the bar is packed with a great, upmarket local crowd. The staff make the place and nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Townhouse Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing