We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fantastic”
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Townhouse
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just fantastic”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I came here for his 40th birthday. The staff were attentive, the food fantastic (although portions are huge and we ate far too much!) and the rooms brilliantly comfortable. A good reason to visit the area!

Room Tip: We had room number 3 - for a special occasion you can't beat it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    97
    44
    18
    9
See reviews for
52
328
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I'm not sure why the Townhouse is listed under B&B's and inns. It is a fully-fledged boutique hotel, competing head-to-head with the best hotels in Stratford - and winning by a mile, in my view. The location is perfect - five minutes' walk to the theatre - and the building is full of elegance and charm. We spent two very comfortable nights in one of the mid-priced rooms (No 11), which exceeded expectations at this price. The king-size bed and linen were top-class, as were the bathroom fittings and excellent shower. There were many 'extras' worthy of a five-star hotel, such as iron plus board, hair curlers, top quality toiletries, DVD-player, cafetiere, and even a mini-decanter of port (replaced next day) with delicious home-made shortbreads. We had to remind them of the promised complementary half-bottle of champaign, but this arrived promptly with an apology. Breakfast is a la carte and includes luxury items such as eggs Benedict and salmon omelet. So why only four stars? Well, the bedrooms are quite small (apart from the top-priced ones) and the wardrobe/drawer space would be inadequate for anyone staying more than a couple of days. Lighting is too dull to read by, and there was some traffic noise. But this is a well-run establishment, and the staff are charming and efficient. We will have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: The mid-priced rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrishandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The appearance of the Church House is enough to make lenses whirr. It truly is lovely. The people who looked after us were kind and very helpful. The cooked breakfast was of an exceptionally high standard and generous proportions.
We stayed in Room 2. The high range toiletries, port and shortbread and proper milk in the fridge were much appreciated. There was no noise in our room. The bed was comfortable and large.
So why not a higher mark? Well, the hotel is honest about this but the car park is a little way away and one has to pay. Reduced charge. In the rain it's not funny. Unless you are fully fit the narrow, dark winding stairs are a challenge. I have no idea what the view was because we had two small windows right at the top of the wall. This contributed a a very dim light. The bedside lights just about gave off enough light to read by. There were one or two little bits of dust where lights hadn't been moved.
Overall I think we'd go again but it does need to up its game.

Room Tip: 2 no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Church Street Townhouse is a charming boutique hotel, in the centre of Stratford and only a short walk to the Shakespeare Theatre. Our room was well furnished and cosy - one of the larger ones on offer. We stayed two nights and ate in the restaurant on both evenings, pre-theatre. ood food, well presented and great value. Wine list was varied and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cxward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reluctant wrinkly in Herefordshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Church St. Townhouse is a lovely luxurious but informal hotel run by a charming couple, Sarah and David.
Food was excellent (although did not realise 'french cut' pork steak meant a pork chop) room roomy and comfortable and the general ambience very warm and friendly.
Highly recommend this small but really convenient hotel (if you can couple your visit, as we did, with a magical performance of 'Richard II you too will have a really, really great time !)

Room Tip: Room 12 was really roomy and full of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoLo97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely small boutique hotel, attentive staff, beautiful food, thoughtful decor. Our room was at the top with small windows but huge bed, crisp white sheets and feather pillows. En suite had double shower and large fluffy white towels, heavenly. The little extras were lovely, from the toiletries, to the biscuits, to the port, to the fresh coffee and milk in the room. Would definitely stay again. Thank you

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erica2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent just one night here and we can't wait to go back. The hotel is in a brilliant location, right in the heart of Stratford Upon Avon. The restaurant was excellent, the room was beautiful and the bed was so comfortable. There were lots of extras in the room that were included in the price and the staff were really attentive and helpful.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,625 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,079 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,754 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,228 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: 16 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Townhouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished boutique hotel is housed in a 400 year old listed building in the heart of Stratford upon Avon. Located opposite Shakespeare's school, among the ancient half-timbered buildings the town is famous for and only 2 minute's walk to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. This is THE place for a pre-theatre supper - local pianists play at 5.30pm daily and the atmosphere is great. The 12 funky en-suite bedrooms vary in size, cost and view. Try for a room at the front of the building for the perfect view. Great food is served all day, through till 10pm in this buzzy neighbourhood bistro with Afternoon Tea a particular favorite. Champagne Happy Hour is every Friday at 5pm and the bar is packed with a great, upmarket local crowd. The staff make the place and nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Townhouse Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing