We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet anniversary drink”
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Townhouse
Reviewed 17 November 2013

spent our anniversary in Stratford and discovered this lovely bar. Perfect for a celebratory drink. The atmosphere was lovely and the staff very welcoming. Would highly recommend a visit even if just for a drink. We will be coming back-hopefully to stay and sample the food, which looked and smelt delicious. Sadly had already eaten by the time we discovered this little gem.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank sleepingcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

We recently held our small wedding reception in the private, library area of the Townhouse. Tom, the restaurant manager, ensured we had the perfect day. The room was set out beautifully and the food and service were great. For an intimate, informal event the setting was just right.

We also stayed in room 12, which was a real treat. It is spacious and tucked up at the end of a corridor on the top floor. The room has dual aspect windows, so you get nice views out onto the front. The small decanter of port and biscuits were a lovely touch. The bathroom was amazing, with a beautiful roll top bath and huge shower.

Breakfast the next morning was good, and was served in the attractive restaurant surroundings.

Overall I would highly recommend the Townhouse as a destination in itself. It provides much more than just a room for the night, from which to visit Stratford

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed in hotel for 2 nights - arriving home today. We spent one night in room 5 and as we decided at a later date to stay for the second night we had to change to the lower rate room 4.
Room was lovely and clean, great touches only 1 problem the noise from the smokers in the courtyard which carried on until midnight. Then you have an early wake up call when bins are emptied!

However the staff are amazing and very friendly, breakfast fantastic, location excellent and I cannot wait to return. Next time I will pay a bit more & choose a higher floor room. We stayed here in May and had room 11 and that was beautiful! I cannot wait for the next Race Meeting!

Thanks for a fantastic time.

Room Tip: Choose room 3, 10 or 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had a late lunch here after visiting Nash's house, enjoyed our meal so went back the following evening for dinner. The food on both occasions was plentiful and delicious, service wasn't speedy but neither was it too slow. Staff members were friendly and attentive without being over-familiar. I'd think seriously about staying at the Inn if we returned to Stratford, it looks lovely and is well placed for all attractions in Stratford. Congratulations on a very pleasant restaurant in all respects.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AliNel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I came here for his 40th birthday. The staff were attentive, the food fantastic (although portions are huge and we ate far too much!) and the rooms brilliantly comfortable. A good reason to visit the area!

Room Tip: We had room number 3 - for a special occasion you can't beat it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I'm not sure why the Townhouse is listed under B&B's and inns. It is a fully-fledged boutique hotel, competing head-to-head with the best hotels in Stratford - and winning by a mile, in my view. The location is perfect - five minutes' walk to the theatre - and the building is full of elegance and charm. We spent two very comfortable nights in one of the mid-priced rooms (No 11), which exceeded expectations at this price. The king-size bed and linen were top-class, as were the bathroom fittings and excellent shower. There were many 'extras' worthy of a five-star hotel, such as iron plus board, hair curlers, top quality toiletries, DVD-player, cafetiere, and even a mini-decanter of port (replaced next day) with delicious home-made shortbreads. We had to remind them of the promised complementary half-bottle of champaign, but this arrived promptly with an apology. Breakfast is a la carte and includes luxury items such as eggs Benedict and salmon omelet. So why only four stars? Well, the bedrooms are quite small (apart from the top-priced ones) and the wardrobe/drawer space would be inadequate for anyone staying more than a couple of days. Lighting is too dull to read by, and there was some traffic noise. But this is a well-run establishment, and the staff are charming and efficient. We will have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: The mid-priced rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrishandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The appearance of the Church House is enough to make lenses whirr. It truly is lovely. The people who looked after us were kind and very helpful. The cooked breakfast was of an exceptionally high standard and generous proportions.
We stayed in Room 2. The high range toiletries, port and shortbread and proper milk in the fridge were much appreciated. There was no noise in our room. The bed was comfortable and large.
So why not a higher mark? Well, the hotel is honest about this but the car park is a little way away and one has to pay. Reduced charge. In the rain it's not funny. Unless you are fully fit the narrow, dark winding stairs are a challenge. I have no idea what the view was because we had two small windows right at the top of the wall. This contributed a a very dim light. The bedside lights just about gave off enough light to read by. There were one or two little bits of dust where lights hadn't been moved.
Overall I think we'd go again but it does need to up its game.

Room Tip: 2 no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beaminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,867 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,942 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,409 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,158 reviews
0 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Address: 16 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £67 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished boutique hotel is housed in a 400 year old listed building in the heart of Stratford upon Avon. Located opposite Shakespeare's school, among the ancient half-timbered buildings the town is famous for and only 2 minute's walk to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. This is THE place for a pre-theatre supper - local pianists play at 5.30pm daily and the atmosphere is great. The 12 funky en-suite bedrooms vary in size, cost and view. Try for a room at the front of the building for the perfect view. Great food is served all day, through till 10pm in this buzzy neighbourhood bistro with Afternoon Tea a particular favorite. Champagne Happy Hour is every Friday at 5pm and the bar is packed with a great, upmarket local crowd. The staff make the place and nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Townhouse Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing