We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spa Day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Spa Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We came here for a Couples Spa day and were blown away by the facilities and service. Very modern and clean and great staff. Keep it up.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    450
    215
    106
    59
See reviews for
315
805
23
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

The grounds, spa and main hotel are beautiful, like a stately home. Unfortunately the room we had (a superior room) was a little tired and dated (the tv looked about thirty years old). Likewise, by the end of the day the spa looked tired and a bit grubby- tissues over the changing rooms, used water cups everywhere. Having said that, we still had a fantastic stay and the hotel is excellent value, but part of the great value means that not all of it is perfect.. We still had a lovely romantic break and would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alwaysonholiday24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for your comments and I can ( at last ! ) report that we are on the last phase of our total refurbishment - so there are no more ' older ' bedrooms. All rooms have now been completed and have been brought up to the highest standards - all with Apple iMac televisions. I have discusssed the issue of the Spa with the team and increased the staffing to ensure the facility looks presentable throughout the day no matter how busy , my apologies for the poor standard you experienced. So please do return to experience the new bedrooms - try a four poster bedroom which has an iMac and a plasma tv ! Kind regards
Greg Fehler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed here as part of a group of 8 for my sister-in-law's 50th (spa weekend, kindly financed as a gift from her husband!). The hotel grounds are stunning, with good walks as well as the golf course. I also discovered that it's possible to run (or walk!) to Stratford in a very few minutes along the river, which was pleasant as well as good exercise. Lounge areas in the hotel are extremely comfortable, would like to have taken one or two of the sofas home with me, and the coffee was excellent. Dinner - the £30 deal mentioned in other reviews - was also great value, good quality and all our group enjoyed the various choices. Rooms clean and comfortable, but, as has also been remarked, the complimentary toiletries are quite mean, and I was stunned to find that there was 1 bottle of mineral water, plus two glasses, for our twin room. I don't think the hotel management really appreciate quite how stingy that looks in such a high quality venue. One star off the total, simply because of this lack of thought. Spa was excellent, various pools very well kept, gym was also good, and we had a treatment included in the price so I also enjoyed a luxurious facial - highly recommended! Overall very highly recommended. The staff were dealing with a full hotel, a golden wedding, a wedding, a hen night, and our party, and I can honestly say the service could not be faulted. Well done to all of them.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IgorStrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for your kind review and I am sorry that we let ourselves down with the lack of water in the bedroom - as I have stated in a previous response this was an error on our part which has now been corrected - there are 2 bottles in each room every day. Really glad you and your group enjoyed their stay. Thanks again
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

First the good - the building and grounds of this hotel are lovely. The check-in was quick and our room as clean and pleasantly decorated. The bed was really comfortable, and the shower was great and also the bathroom had plenty of flat space for putting your stuff on - a thing too many hotels forget! Breakfast was yummy and staff at breakfast couldn't have been more helpful. Likewise the lovely porter. And now the bad...the toiletries offered included combined shampoo/conditioner, which is kinda rubbish. There was only one small bottle of water in the room and no mini-bar. There were no robes. There is a lovely pool here, but we were told it is in a separate building, so if it's cold or raining outside, you have to get properly dressed against the elements to go for a swim. Not ideal. We had lunch in the bar the day we were leaving - we were the only two guests, and ordered a burger each. This took 45 minutes to arrive and when it did, they'd forgotten the drinks. Staff were so busy chatting in the kitchen that we had to go knock on the kitchen door to ask for the bill after 30 minutes of hoping someone would walk by. The thing that really got us, though, is that housekeeping started their rounds at 0830, by knocking on each door and shouting 'housekeeping!' - they seemed utterly oblivious to the fact that our door, amongst others, had a 'do not disturb' hanging on it, but thanks to their noise, and the fact that they started vacuuming the other rooms at 0830, a long lie was completely out the question..just too much disturbance from this and also noise from other rooms. So - lovely comfy bed, shame we had to get out of it so early.

Room Tip: Expect to walk a long way to any room, and expect to encounter stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tintigieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your very constructive comments and for the compliments regarding the hotel, check-in and the quality of your room and breakfast. We have just changed our toiletries to the White Company products and I am sorry you do not like the combination of shampoo and conditioner - the fact that there was only one bottle of water was an ommision on our part - sorry- and we do put robes in all the upgarded rooms. Clearly the wait for your lunch was unacceptable and this has been discussed with the Restaurant Manager. Similarly knocking on bedroom doors and cleaning themso early is also unacceptable and this also was the topic of the housekeeping meeting today. I note your comments regarding the distance to your room and that there were stairs - we do have rooms near to reception and the lounge , also rooms on the ground floor - just put a request in and we will endeavour to accommodate.
Kind regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire,UK
Level Contributor
202 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

A group of 5 of us booked a golf weekend via a tour operator for this hotel to include, 2 rounds, 1 night, dinner, bed and breakfast....£110 each, fanta
stic value when you consider that this place is absolutely top quality and the golf course in great condition for April and although it looks straightforward it has plenty to catch you out !

Firstly the golf course...the club house is quite new, great bar/lounge area and a large, well-stocked pro-shop. Plenty of practice facilities outside including a large driving range. Even though it had been a bit damp the fairways were in great condition and winter rules meant a clean&place. The greens were lightning quick but well tended. There was a half-way house serving tea/coffee/sandwiches/cakes/choc etc..this was open both on the Sunday and the Monday we played. I played much better on the 2nd day when i had more idea of pins , distances etc.. Some great holes, Par70 but all the Par3's are long... 17th teeing off across the lake in a showery squall with the hotel as a backdrop was a great memory !
There is a course marshall who gives some good advice before you tee-off if you havent played this course before.
After our first round we retired to the club house bar for a couple and then drove up the adjacent track (not public so you can have 2 or 3 beers) to the hotel which has a magnificent frontage overlooking gardens, countryside and the 17th tee !

The Hotel is fantastic, from the moment you walk into the hall with the enormous lounge on the left with roaring log fires it is simply one of the best available not just for a golfing weekend but any kind of weekend away as there is an attached Spa which is also one of the best i have come across. Since there were 5 of us we had booked one of the 3-bed apartments at the back of the hotel, these were great, 3 double bedrooms (1 ensuite), bathroom, kitchen, lounge, dining room, all decorated to a high standard and quality fittings, much better than being in a regular hotel room. We went to the Spa and enjoyed a huge range of facilities, but we did have to walk outside to get to the Spa from our room as there is no internal link door/corridor (note to management !) .

After the Spa we had a great meal in the restaurant overlooking the formal garden and the sun setting on the Warwickshire countryside, simply stunning. The food was excellent, many choices and bearing in mind this was part of our deal the quaity was fanastic for a Table d'Hote menu. The beef simply crumbled into a tasty gravy... Good wine list, the £22 Cotes du Rhone was very good.
Replete with full bellies we retired to the lounge and the squashy sofas in front of the log fire, great end to the day.

The following day after a huge breakfast, you name it, it was available, we checked out and drove down the lane to the club and were able to get off quickly from the first and had a good round in good weather. Had a quick lunch in the clubhouse before we left, cup of tea was £2 (!), and a very average (dry) ham sandwich was £5.50...the only negative of the entire weekend really, but not enough to ruin it one bit.

We are already looking forwward to coming back, we are a geographically-dispersed family so this location in the middle of the country is ideal, real hidden gem if ever there was one !

Room Tip: Ask for one of the apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoom6562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

lovely place to stay, stunning place to go, would come back again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lezley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

From driving up the winding drive you know you are in for something special at this hotel ... managed to park right outside reception, checkin was quick and easy, and then we were shown to our suite. Honestly it was one of those jaw dropping moments - we weren't expecting anything like it at all - a massive 4 poster bed, stunning views over the gardens, massive bathroom, massive tv ... service at the hotel was impeccable ... dinner beautiful in the restaurant ... breakfast the following morning was just what we needed.

AND ... I haven't even mentioned the spa area - it's amazing. The crystal steam room was our favourite, and the outdoor heated pool was great too.

I cannot fault anything about this hotel - book it now!

Location wise it is not far outside of Stratford Upon Avon at all ... if you wanted to walk it you could, or a taxi would just be a few minutes and less than a tenner.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, upgrade to a suite - but even the standard rooms are lovely ... if you can gua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TobesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0NR, England (Formerly Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Luxury Hotel with spa and golf resort set in fantastic grounds with Italian Gardens and views over the Welcombe Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Welcombe Hotel And Golf Course
Menzies Welcombe Hotel Course

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing