We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very uncomfortable bed, not worth the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Cornwall
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very uncomfortable bed, not worth the money.”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights back in November for a wedding. I was part of the bridal party and 6 months pregnant so requested during my booking to be close to the bride. I ended up being in the newer area of the hotel about as far from the bride as possible!! We arrived later than expected and only had 10 mins to make a meeting with the bride so had no time to complain. I asked reception for directions to the bride's suite as it wasn't sign posted and it took 10 mins for the girl to give me directions as she didn't know and in the end she just guessed!
That night I slept so badly, the bed was AWFUL. It was 2 singles pushed together, they were rock solid and the duvet didn't actually fit the bed either - it was 2 zipped together with a third folded over inside the cover so one half was doubled up and the other single. In the morning I again had no time to complain as had a wedding to get ready for! I would have expected for a 4 star hotel a robe and slippers but neither were provided resulting in me walking round the hotel in my pjs and socks!
The older part of the hotel itself was a lovely building but the facilitates are not what I would consider to be worth the expensive price tag at all. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. A number of other guests at the wedding also had a bad experience and were moved but I just didn't have time to complain. I wouldn't stay here again even if I had been moved, I felt it was a let down and expensive.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, ask to be in the older part of the main hotel, most people I know who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smartihols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry we were not able to allocate you near to the Bride but she would have been in one of the main house rooms where we do charge a supplement and wherever possible we do try to get the bridal party together but we must have been particularly busy not to have put you near to her.

The beds are just over one year old and are top hotel quality zip & link beds that can be split in to twins - sorry if you found them too hard.

Regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    964
    468
    218
    109
    61
See reviews for
327
841
23
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a wedding party. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms luxurious. The service at breakfast was terrible and a real let down after such a lovely evening at the wedding..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princessperkzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warkwickshire, England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Although we're local we stay here with friends for Christmas and always have a wonderful experience. The atmosphere is just perfect and staff attentive and surroundings luxurious with a very traditional flavour. If you're lucky enough to stay in one of the suites (we got a free upgrade) then they are a delight, both the views of the sumptuous gardens and comfortable luxury surroundings. Standard rooms are great and above average for standard in high quality hotel.

Room Tip: if you can get an upgrade to a suite then do!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

What a letdown.
I can't comment on the hotel really as we just went along for afternoon tea. The telephone manner of the lady who made the booking was delightful. We were a party of 10 and I wanted the tea to look welcoming and special.
We arrived and nothing was set. Most unwelcoming. Food wise what we got was two platters - one with sandwiches which were pretty dried out, and the other with a selection of gelatinous panacottas and shop bought tarts cut in half. It was embarrassing.
At £15 a head too - you should be ashamed of yourselves.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WirraWirra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Having investigated your review I must sincerely apologise - we got this completely wrong from start to finish. The reservation for the afternoon teas had not been recorded hence the initial problem when you arrived and to compound this the kitchen were totally focussed on a wedding and not prepared for afternoon teas.
I can only apologise and assure you that this is an isolated occurance of which you are correct in assuming we are not proud of
Sincere apologies
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

As we have no dependents we have a tendency to swing from one extreme to another, we either have all and sundry over for Christmas day, or we escape family and friends completely, whether that is as Mr and Mrs Billy No Mates at home, or to a hotel abroad. This year we stayed in the UK and thought we would spoil ourselves and go to a good class hotel, The MenziesWelcombe Hotel, in Stratford upon Avon.
It was on a recommendation that we chose this hotel and we were not disappointed. We paid a little extra and had an ‘Executive Suite’ in the old part of the hotel, Room 204 ‘Helen’s Room’. If you wanted to pay a great deal more (£120 a night), there are rooms with four poster beds and much more. The room was large and well furnished, with views over the formal garden, golf course and then onto the River Avon, which was in flood, although this did not cause any undue concern as we were in an elevated position. We were told that the Hotel had been cut off by flooding previously? I digress, the facilities in the room were very good, the hotel acceded to our wishes and decaf tea and coffee were made available to us. An Apple computer was in the room and provided the entertainment system, although I would have preferred a standard TV with remote, as the controls were rather pedestrian and the picture rather dark and the definition was poor. Still we didn’t come here to watch the ‘Box’. Skyping our friends in Poland on Christmas Eve from our hotel room was a novel treat.
We availed ourselves of the excellent Spa facilities during the afternoon; I’d never before experiences the like of a massaging hot power shower in an outside hot pool. The gym had some excellent facilities and you were able to watch TV on your own personalised screen whilst running, walking or cycling.
We partook in traditional afternoon tea and cakes, so much for the gym!
Christmas Eve dinner was heralded by a local Church choir, who entertained us singing carols in the large lounge, whilst champagne and canapés were liberally distributed amongst the thirty or so guests who were sat around the grand marble fire place and roaring log fire.
Dinner was a sumptuous affair, silver service, plenty of choice, quick and efficient service. The dining room was dressed simply but beautifully with white linen and silver.
We attended midnight mass at The Holy Trinity Church in Stratford, where the atmosphere was fantastic, full of expectation and anticipation. Taking communion beyond the chancel was an experience.
We returned to the hotel a little after 1 a.m. only to find it deserted, but were able to rustle up mince pies and mulled wine before bed.
Christmas Day was a revelation, with a fantastic menu for breakfast, every taste was catered for. The Spa was open from 8 till 12 mid-day. So a Christmas Day morning swim was called for. Christmas Lunch was to be our formal Christmas Dinner, with traditional Christmas fare, delicious and plentiful. Our table was situated within the large bay window in the dining room, overlooking the gardens where we were treated to the site of deer foraging for food whilst we were eating our own.
After a restful afternoon we were tempted by yet more food and an extensive buffet, that took us into the evening and beyond, chatting to new friends.
Boxing Day by its very nature is a day for being outside and a walk in the extensive grounds was called for, but because of all the rain that we had experienced the footpaths were extremely boggy, although just about passable with care. I was able to get to the Obelisk which had been erected near to the large house to commemorate the life of Manchester born MP Mark Phillips, he rebuilt the house in the 19th century. A very interesting feature of the building is that it was actually built as a 'Calendar House'. The property has:- 7 entrances, one for each day of the week. 12 fireplaces, one for each month of the year 52 chimneys, one for each week of the year 365 windows, one for each day of the year. I again attended at the Spa and gym.
Lunch was yet another splendid buffet.
Dinner was a ‘Gala’ dinner, so black ties and DJ’s were called for. This meal was a set menu and for many was a disappointment, although I enjoyed it, the main course of roast lamb was not to every ones taste and a number of ladies on my table complained of the fat and gristle.
Entertainment was provided by a chap accompanied by all manner of electronic wizardry, which enabled him to sound very much like the many singers he mimicked, together with Lusty Springfield, his partner. Unfortunately most of his audience left at the time of his interval, leaving just the hardcore to dance the night away. When he finished his set with ‘American Pie’, he did look spookily like Don McClean.
The 27th December arrived and so did the time for us to leave, after a humungous breakfast, we bade farewell to our new friends and the staff and we were on our way. Despite the exercise the scales indicated an increase in weight as did the extra inches on the belt.
All in all, a pleasant and enjoyable way to spend Christmas.
The staff were fabulous.
The only negatives would be that the decor in the corridors and staircase to our room was tired in places.
I personally steered clear of the buffet breakfast, preferring to order from the menu as the bacon and eggs had a tendency to look very dry and overcooked.

I would recommend a stay here and we will be back ourselves in the near future.

Room Tip: Garden views are the best in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drusiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2012

The rooms were very good and comfortable. We were made very welcome by the staff . Enjoyed the spa facilities. Excellent food. All round a very enjoyable stay. We stayed one night and there was 30 people all different ages and they catered for all of us. We all had a wonderful time. The staff were great and very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Just returned from a 3 night christmas stay at the Welcombe hotel and Spa In Stratford Upon Avon, what a fantastic way to spend christmas, we arrived christmas eve and from the moment we arrived we were made very welcome at the Welcombe !! all of the staff without exception were friendly and very helpfull and went out of their way to make our stay a fantastic experience, our room (No8 Jessica's room) was wonderfull and sumptuous with a great view over the gardens and towards the golf course, the food was fantastic and there was plenty of it, dont need to eat until new year now and the spa is a great place to relax and have a swim, the hotel is warm,cosy and relaxing we have stayed many times and have always enjoyed our stay and we are going back twice in January and again in February, it really is our favourite hotel cannot fault it: PS you can also take your dog as it is a dog friendly hotel and there are plenty of walks

Room Tip: Standard rooms are excellent but for a real treat try room 8 Jessicas room for the great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
6.3 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
3.9 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,014 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon MK45 1AE, England (Formerly Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Welcombe Hotel And Golf Course
Menzies Welcombe Hotel Course

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing