We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Booked 1 night stay through Secret Escapes, upon checking in we had been upgraded to a Executive four Poster room at no extra charge, what a lovely surprise, the room was beyond words it was beautiful over looking the gorgeous gardens. Even had its own office with Apple Mac computer, bathroom massive, lounge area and very comfortable bed. Dinner was 3 courses beautifully cooked and presented as was breakfast this is buffet style, so much choice.
The Spa is wonderful very clean. All the staff were so attentive. Did not want to come home.
We stayed on a Thursday night so was quiet which was nice. Would stay again with out a doubt. If you want to walk into Stratford Upon Avon it takes about 30 minutes, but with so much to do at the hotel, you don't really need too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy190737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,705 - 1,711 of 2,162 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

What can I say, stunning doesn't do it justice. Stayed here for one night and played two rounds of golf on the course twinned with the hotel. The reception staff were very welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The decor was extremely grand, with beautiful wood panelled walls in the main sitting room and a huge and very ornate fireplace, and lots of comfy chairs to fall into. The room we had were twins, which were very nicely furnished, with a state of the art computer too. The spa and swimming pool etc were all excellent. The food was also very good, our evening meal was of the highest standard and breakfast the following day had everything you could possibly want for breakfast. All in all, if you don't visit this place, then you are missing out!

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curly48_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The hotel was beautiful. We were very lucky to be upgraded to a suite, which made the whole experience even more special. The spa was excellent. The staff were so helpful and polite (especially Claire who was the waitress in the dinning hall) nothing was too much trouble. Would love to come back and stay again when the weather is better and my husband can take advantage of the golf course!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delbertWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Driving up through the gates and towards the house seemed very grand. Once inside, staff were friendly and welcoming, all said hello and made sure that we were happy. The main sitting room felt like we were in the midst of an episode of Downton Abbey, with up to date newspapers of course.
We had an adjoining room with our three year old son which was comfortable and warm with the added benefit of an Apple Mac in our sons room so that he could watch a little cbeebies whilst we caught a lie in.
Relatives staying in the hotel at the same time were housed in the Countess Suite whose square footages was larger than most places I have lived in - the room with the leopard bathroom for those who have visited the website. The suite itself had its own library! The spa and pool were great. Clean and the correct temperature,( with limited hours for children understandably) we really couldn't see the point of a tepidarium but it was fun to try it out. The outside courtyard pool was a treat with the warm massage jets.
Food in the evening was lovely with a good choice on the menu however we have had better breakfasts elsewhere. The children's menu was varied and our son especially enjoyed the veg and dip selection.
All in all a lovely stay (with a slightly pricey bar - even when we have Brightonian bar bills to contend with at home) however even with all the small touches to cater for children, the atmosphere of the place dictates an air of tranquillity and decorum which, with a misbehaving three year old would not be conducive to a peaceful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abbi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed here for a night as we had booked up a play at the RSC. This old manor house makes you feel like you are in a 1930s film set - sitting in the cocktail bar you feel the 'old money' feel of a classic hotel sipping your drink. The restaurant was lovely and warm, fantastic chandeliers, and the rooms were sympathetically renovated to retain their charm, great beds and lovely spacious & characterful rooms .

Most of all the Spa is fabulous..... particularly if you go through the double doors, there is an open air section which is open all year round, and heated. So you get to sit in the hot pool, and yet experience the elements, which is rather...inspiring! The heat and steam rise up from the pool whilst the cool rain and breeze wakens your senses. Incredibly relaxing experience.

Would definitely never stay anywhere else in stratford upon avon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fleur2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We got a great deal here on secret escapes, it's a lovely big old country house hotel and spa with beautiful gardens, just what you want from that type of break. So my sister and I hit the spa while the hubs went off with their golf bats, or whatever they're called. The spa is fab, lots of facilities including those big taps that mega-blast you with water (hang on to your swimsuits under those girls, I saw far more of one woman than I cared to), and I'm told the golf track, or whatever it's called, is also superb and big enough to keep the little rascals busy the whole day. The service is faultless, and if there are better words in the English language than 'we have upgraded you to the penthouse suite', I am yet to hear them, said suite being excellent huge bedrooms with open fireplaces, highly nickable toiletries, and from what we saw as we nosily peered into every open room we passed, all the rooms look great. I can't wait to go again and if I see you there, mine's a champers thanks. Oh they're pretty good words too...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dani-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on way to another hotel. Beautiful place, lovely lunch and hotel, just wish we were staying the night. Staff were so lovely and lunch was delicious. We will definitely be back for the night and soon!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank AliBLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,217 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,582 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#12 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,925 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,471 reviews
1.2 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe

Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0NR, England (Formerly Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £86 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe is a calendar country house located on the edge of Stratford-upon-Avon and the beautiful Cotswolds. It's a calendar house because it has 7 entrances, 12 fireplaces, 52 chimneys and 365 windows. Perfectly located within walking distance of Stratford-upon-Avon yet not far from the A46 and M40 motorway, this oasis has ample free parking on site. There's also 78 comfy bedrooms and 7 spacious apartments for groups of friends looking for a relaxing retreat, a wonderful spa with hydropool, an 18-hole championship golf course and acres of landscaped gardens which make for picture perfect wedding memories. Of course, if indulgence is on the menu, you can't go wrong with the award-winning menu, a classic combination of great British produce and seasonal specialities crafted with charm and innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Welcombe Hotel And Golf Course
Menzies Welcombe Hotel Course

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing