We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just wonderful! Need more!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just wonderful! Need more!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed for only one night with my boyfriend and our english bulldog and we all had an amazing time! Staff just loved Tiny, and he just could not get enough of the surroundings, made friends with the cows and fitted in with the hotels decor perfectly! :)) Stunning location, had an amazing walk around before going to the theather, unfortunately we did not get a change to use the spa facilities, but the restaurant and bar area were lovely, the perfect english manor experience, very friendly staff. I just can't wait to go back and get a better feel of everything this place has to offer!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boogiebubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    451
    215
    106
    59
See reviews for
315
807
22
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

This must have been quite some residence when it was built. As a hotel it has lost some of its glory, yet the staff of the hotel do their best to preserve the atmosphere of the old times.

We attended a company dinner, and the food was disappointing to say the least. The hotel will say that they had to serve over a 100 people and this inevitably affected their ability to give guests a choice and a consistently good meal. From our point of view the meal was uninviting and cold by the time it got to us - we were on the top table. Those at the back of the room must have felt let down by their directors. Not the impression we wanted to create.

The gents toilet was a long way from our dining room, and this created quite a big topic of conversation between the men.

On the whole we probably choose the wrong venue for a company Christmas party with so many attendees.

However, the bedrooms we were allocated we very good and we were pleased with them.

We stayed only one night so did not have the chance to check out the golf or spa facilities.

Breakfast was mediocre for a place of this standing. Many of our party browsed the food at breakfast and took only a coffee and a croissant. Several employees mentioned their disappointment of the offering at breakfast.

As a couple, we may go back for a two night stay, but we will not hold another company function here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwynRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Spent a long weekend here as my birthday treat. The weekend got off to a good start being welcomed by friendly staff who put you at your ease. Our executive room was very large with a separate dressing room and bathroom. The room was clean and had all the requirements. On the Saturday evening the hotel was very busy with the dining room full, consequently the service, though good, was a little slow. The public areas are very comfortable with roaring log fires. The Spa facilities are very good with a good size pool and other facilities.

This was a very good hotel to explore Stratford and the surrounding area from.

Overall a lovely hotel with very helpful staff, my wife and I enjoyed our time there very much.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the golf course give delightful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Visited this hotel 3 years ago and was really impressed. Booked a Friday night stop on line for my birthday. Arrived at hotel , room ok and went to spa. Spa was excellent with friendly staff and impressive facilities. Booked evening meal as part of package which allows £35 per head for 3 courses. Service initially poor and ran out of some food , even though very limited menu ,no beef or lamb on menu.
Next problem was 2 drinks fell over on table soaking my wife - luckily not red wine.found a hole in the tabletop the size of my fist covered over with tablecloth which caused the drinks to fall. Called the manager who agreed was unacceptable. He offered something off the bill. Retired after the meal to the bar and waited 10 mins to be served but no staff manning the bar at 10pm. Decided to retire to our room.
We were offered a small discount when checking out but refused this and spoke to the manager again who offered further compensation. Overall disappointed with this hotel and would not go again and have food but would use spa.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warwick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in an Executive Four Poster room and it was superb. Dinner was included on one of our evenings and that was all we had hoped it would be. I could not fault a single thing with the food. I would have given a 5* rating but the service sadly let the beautiful hotel down. On arrival to our room after our first day out, our room service from the night before was not taken away nor was the bed made properly. It was so disappointing for such a grand room. I also had a bottle of wine bought as a surprise by my parents and had I not been informed upon arrival to the hotel the day before, the wine would not have arrived as I had to remind the waiter twice for this when he handed me the menu. We left very happy and would certainly return, it was just such a shame for the little things which all add up to the overall picture.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LEW30_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed overnight the Saturday before Christmas, the Christmas decorations only added to the lovely seating area with its huge open fire. The spa at this hoteel is lovely, the gym was modern and empty and I love the outdoor pool area with the strong jets and sprays.

The breakfast was buffet style and the service was excellent. Rooms have modern facilities and ours had a lovely view over the formal gardens.

The location of this hotel is great for Stratford just down the road. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariona72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just arrived home after a fantastic weekend. Everything from start to finish was absolutely superb. Got a weekend deal 2 nights B&B and 1 evening meal. Had dinner first night, was a la carte and was absolutely lovely taste, presentation, surroundings and service. Room spotless, and comfy had a great sleep in a huge bed. Breakfast was great. Spa is also spotless and I had the best massage by a lovely girl called Lauren. Am renewing my wedding vows next year and I cannot think of a more perfect place to do so. Cannot wait to go back. Definately one of the best uk hotels I have stayed in. As a bonus we also met some fab people too.

Room Tip: had a low floor room and was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittykatsimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon MK45 1AE, England (Formerly Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Luxury Hotel with spa and golf resort set in fantastic grounds with Italian Gardens and views over the Welcombe Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Welcombe Hotel And Golf Course
Menzies Welcombe Hotel Course

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing