We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had the most relaxing three days of our lives at this lovely hotel; with fires roaring in the lounges, a brilliant massage in the spa and beautiful food at breakfast and dinner this was a lovely place to stay. The staff are delightful; the charming porter gave my father a tour of the building, and the service during dinner couldn't have been better. There was one rather dour waitress at breakfast, who flatly refused to bring us any coffee or toast despite repeated (polite) requests, stating 'Very busy as you can see' without a smile, and we never got the coffee, but she was very much the exception. We enjoyed the fantastic grounds, spent lots of time in the spa, which wasn't too crowded even during half term, and made frequent trips into Stratford-upon-Avon, which is only about five minutes away, to see some brilliant plays. Our rooms were just the standard ones, but very comfortable and spacious, and we all commented on how well we slept there. Our dinner, bed and breakfast package was ridiculously good value and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMomiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,482 - 1,488 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Recently stayed at the welcombe hotel in Stratford upon Avon at the end of January 2014. When you turn off the main road, it is an impressive drive on a private drive to the hotel, which at first sight is an impressive building. We were welcomed upon arrival by a courteous member of staff. Our room was of a good standard, clean, appletv, with inbuilt apple pc, with internet access. nice bathroom, comfy bed, with
Nice furnishings. Our first night we had an evening meal, which was of a ver good standard, lots to choose from. We were shown very attentive service, and were impressed. The next morning we were down early for breakfast and again of a good standard and plentiful selection. Wr used the spa facilities which were of a high standard, I believe they had recently spent a lot of money on the complex. A nice sized pool, sauna and jacuzzi. With an outdoor one. A great hotel and a comfortable stay

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We stopped at this resort on for 1 night with a special offer from SecretEscapes.

We booked an executive room and I have to say for a 4 star resort not sure I would call it executive no little comforts such as Bath robes in the room etc.

The spa was nice but the treatments were a little on the pricy side in my opinion.

Overall though an OK resort not to far from the Stratford-upon-Avon which is a good point as it was the main aim of our trip.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jrmurray86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I don't watch Downton Abbey, but guess that the Menzies Welcome hotel has a similar look and feel. Well staffed with helpful, smart people, great leisure facilities, lovely suites and very good food. What's not to like. Set in it's own grounds, with an adjoining golf course and a 15 minute walk into Stratford Upon Avon, this is a delightful venue.

Room Tip: We booked a 2 night deal via a booking website - double room plus breakfast both mornings and evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonMikeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have been here a couple of times before and have always been quite happy but we did have a suite the previous twice and this time we had an Executive Double. At first my husband thought we had been given the wrong room No. 3(not Executive) but on speaking to the Receptionist it was indeed an Executive Room but she did try and be helpful by offering a different room, only next door,No. 1. but it was slightly better. Nevertheless, there were things in this room, or lack of them, that we found to be dissappointing. There were no drawers to put our belongings so they had to be left in the case. There was a wardrobe to hang bigger items in plus a shelf at the top of the wardrobe which from the floor was approx. 7' high - could not be reached! There was no luggage rack for our suitcase and no really suitable place to put it. All in all room not well thought out and lacked basic things. Be aware also that being an old building there is much creaking from above when people are walking about. Staff in all areas were really helpful so no complaints there, but over all this visit did not inspire me to want to return soon!

Room Tip: Room 2, Clopton Suite is very good. has everything including separate living area,loads of room, wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINTREV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Totally amazed that I had to wait for 20 minutes in a queue for breakfast in a 4 star hotel. They seem to only cook new items when everything has gone resulting in tons of people hungry in a queue.

Oh, and the door to our bathroom was hanging off it's hinges.

Terrible.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SteveW001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

I sincerely apologise to have to wait in a queue for breakfast is unacceptable and at the Welcombe very unusual .
We do try to keep the buffet breakfast as fresh as possible and I know we were caught out recently when a large number of residents all came at once. Clearly we should have anticipated this and we have learnt from this putting in measures to ensure this doesn't happen again.
Please do not let this isolated issue put you off returning and if you can please let me know which room you were in - thank you
Kind regards
Greg Fehler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I booked a special offer B&B package which was good value at £120. The room was small but comfortable and the bathroom had clearly been refurbished fairly recently. However the window would not shut completely; we pointed this out but nothing was done. Spa was cold because an outside door was jammed open. Two lights in our room did not work. So maintenance of buildings seems to need improvement. But pleasant staff and lovely grounds so overall decent value

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for your review I do hope you let my team know of the maintenance issues so that we could rectify them. I am so sorry the doors were left open to the Spa I have had a team meeting this week to make the whole team in the Spa that it is important to check such details especially with the weather we're having !
Glad you felt your stay was good value and I hope you will return.
Kind regards
Greg Fehler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,189 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,569 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,903 reviews
1.2 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,503 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe

Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0NR, England (Formerly Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £92 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe is a calendar country house located on the edge of Stratford-upon-Avon and the beautiful Cotswolds. It's a calendar house because it has 7 entrances, 12 fireplaces, 52 chimneys and 365 windows. Perfectly located within walking distance of Stratford-upon-Avon yet not far from the A46 and M40 motorway, this oasis has ample free parking on site. There's also 78 comfy bedrooms and 7 spacious apartments for groups of friends looking for a relaxing retreat, a wonderful spa with hydropool, an 18-hole championship golf course and acres of landscaped gardens which make for picture perfect wedding memories. Of course, if indulgence is on the menu, you can't go wrong with the award-winning menu, a classic combination of great British produce and seasonal specialities crafted with charm and innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Welcombe Hotel And Golf Course
Menzies Welcombe Hotel Course

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing