We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute pleasure.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Southend-on-sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“An absolute pleasure.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend following a business meeting in Warwick. Initially having booked into another local hotel (which shall remain nameless) I called the Welcombe at 5pm on Friday in a bit of stressed out state as the hotel we were booked into was simply awful. From the moment I made the phone call I knew my weekend was saved! Nothing was too much trouble, the gentleman on the phone said my room would be ready and waiting for us which is was - and what a room - simply stunning. A large four poster bed with amazing views over the gardens and golf course, large bathroom and well appointed room.

The hotel was built in the 1800s and is so full of character and charm and yet following a 2012 refurbishment the amenities are of an extremely good standard.

The Spa is exceptionally good although I didn't have time for any treatments so will have to report back next time I stay.

My husband managed to squeeze in 18 holes on the Championship course (once the hotel manager sorted out an exceptionally good set of loaned golf clubs and even size 9 golf shoes).

There was a wedding whilst we were there which although a little noisy into the night was not really any bother and it's always lovely to see a bride (especially in such beautiful surroundings).

The food and drink were also lovely but the real star of this weekend was the staff, from the General Manager Greg to the door men and all the restaurant and bar staff, we could not have been made to feel more welcome and what started as a very stressful weekend ended with me being as relaxed as relaxed could be.

I can't wait to go back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Percy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
And it was an absolute pleasure to have met you both. Glad we were able to help ' rescue ' your weekend and that the weather was good enough for the round of golf.
I have passed on your thanks to the team and we all look forward to seeing you again
Kind regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,020
    488
    229
    119
    67
See reviews for
348
894
24
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a fabulous weekend in this spectacular hotel, rooms, service, staff and food were second to non. It was a wonderful venue for a wedding, and the staff were so accomadating. would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: select a view over the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you , glad you enjoyed your stay , why not come back for a more leisurely break ?
Kind regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

After going to view a few other wedding venues in the area we thought we would take a trip to the Welcombe as it's somewhere I always thought I wanted to get married but I thought it wouldn't be affordable. After stepping inside the hotel and having a tour around we couldn't wipe the smile off our faces. Nowhere else came close and we'd certainly found our venue.

Our wedding co-ordinator Jess was with us every step of the way to guide us along and answer our queries. Nothing was too much trouble and the hotel were very flexible in terms of our requirements.

The day itself was amazing and everything ran smoothly and to time. We got married in Church and then travelled back to the hotel with 100 guests (including 11 children). The grounds were perfect and our photographs are amazing. Even the children didn't get bored and loved playing together outside.

We had a large number of guests staying at the hotel and everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Even breakfast for 40 guests the next morning wasn't too much trouble. A number of us then used the spa facilities and swimming pool which the children loved (children are only allowed in the swimming pool at certain time but that suited us fine).

In total, I stayed for 3 nights over the wedding weekend and each night was special for its own reason. The suite was amazing and large enough for me and my three bridesmaids to stay in the evening before and then get ready in the next morning looking out over the stunning gardens. Our wedding weekend was so relaxing (at no point did we feel stressed) and we were made to feel very special by the hotel.

Although we only live 5 miles away, we will certainly return.

Many thanks to Jess and the team.

Mr and Mrs Evans

Room Tip: If you are travelling for a special occasion, upgrade to a suite overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEvans4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for the excellent review and very kind words about the hotel and Jess the wedding co ordinator - so glad that she helped you throughout the wedding arrangements and the day itself.
The Welcombe is a fantastic venue for a wedding ( I should know as I also got married here ! ) and I am glad you had time to enjoy the Spa and grounds.
We look forward to welcoming you both back soon
Kind regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here in May and we have stayed here 4 times in the last year and a half and always had good service. The spa facilities are great and in a tranquil location. Also, we use this venue for our work conferences which I arrange and they never disappoint. So far my partner and I have stayed in The Countess Suite, The Lady Caroline Suite and a couple of Four Poster rooms in the Gallery Area. I would recommend the Old part of the Hotel and it is worth the money to upgrade. The breakfast is also wonderful. It is close to Stratford up Avon and I have walked it a couple of times which is a nice walk.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for this kind review - hopefully we will keep up the good work and you will keep coming back . You have certainly stayed in some splendid rooms here with fantastic views.
Thank you again
Kind regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Welcome hotel seemed to be the perfect place for afternoon tea. Having phoned twice to make a booking and the third time to confirm the booking, on arrival our group of 11 we're not expected. We were dumped in a bar area. Had to chase someone to get a drink. When afternoon tea arrived the table we were sat around was not big enough to accommodate all the plates and cups and food. As 11 people were squashed around one small table the waiter struggled to lean through us to place items on the table and showed his frustration by keep giving very audible sighs. We were given two pots of tea and one pot of coffee which was not enough for 11 people and we had to track down staff to ask for more. One plate of sandwiches did not go around 11 people and the cakes appeared to be bought and not home made. Overall a very disappointing experience for such a high quality hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Please accept my sincere apologies for this unacceptable service and poor standards - I would be grateful if you would contact me so I might get a better understanding of how we got it so wrong - greg.fehler@menzieshotels.co.uk - 01789 295252
I look forward to hearing from you
Kind regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We booked a 2 night stay with one evening meal and breakfast included. The meal was fantastic and the breakfast overlooking the gorgeous gardens was perfect. The room was a standard one and we were quite happy with it. However there was a wedding Fayre on so we had chance to view some of the suites. Absolutely amazing!!I cannot wait to return and hope to be able to stay in a suite!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for this review , so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon ( in a suite of course ! )
Kind regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A beautiful hotel in gorgeous surroundings. I booked this hotel as a surprise stay for my husbands 40th birthday. My first contact with the hotel was with reservations, a lovely Laura Murphy totally understood the importance for me to get everything just right for this special occasion, and that's exactly what she did. After talking to Laura I had nothing else to do, she arranged everything from reserving the perfect parking spot on our arrival, golf for my husband, a perfectly positioned table for both dinner and breakfast to a beautiful Executive Suite. The staff throughout the hotel were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay. The Hotel Manager Greg Fehler was both friendly and professional and also ensured everything was just perfect for our stay. We are looking to return to the hotel in the future and would definitely recommend it. All that's left to say is, that every hotel should have a Laura Murphy!!!!! Thank you x

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helsbells130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Glad we were able to help make your husband's 40th birthday very special - Laura is unique ( need I say more ) and thoroughly enjoys making everyones visit memorable. Thank you also for the personal mention , it was a pleasure to have been part of the special day.
Kind regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,085 reviews
3.9 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,100 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,291 reviews
1.2 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,414 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0NR, England (Formerly Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Welcombe Hotel And Golf Course
Menzies Welcombe Hotel Course

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing