We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Great Staff, but left a bit to be desired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Great Staff, but left a bit to be desired”
Reviewed 21 February 2010

I went to this hotel for a valentines weekend, firstly it has to be mentioned when you come up to this hotel and approach its sprawling landscape it looks amazing. Also when you enter it is very impressive with friendly staff and a large oak living room with a roaring fireplace. What is interesting is that the rooms range from a 2 star to 5 star hotel. I think in the past this hotel must have been amazing hotel with fewer rooms but now it has put a room almost everywhere. We had one of those special deals an agent found for us but that pretty much puts you in an average size room in what seemed to be the basement which now had an extra 30 rooms. This would be like taking a flight on a more expensive concord jet only to find out the seat and service was exactly the same as any other plane. Overall the stay was great, close proximity to the town center, and the food the night we ate in was very good, actually better than I had expected. I highly suggest paying a lot extra for a premium room to be "wowed" or else you might be in an average room you could find in any number of hotels there for a lesser price.
I would definitely go again if I was planning to use the spa (they were fully booked the weekend I was there) or have a golf outing.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsaturday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 22 February 2010
Thank you for your review - glad you like the hotel , food and service. I am sorry you didn't feel the standard room was to your liking - they are classified as four star bedrooms and were refurbished only 4 years ago and are contemporary in their design. Sorry the Spa treatments were full - they are popular.
Kind regards
Greg Fehler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    977
    476
    220
    112
    62
See reviews for
327
859
24
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

We have just returned from a 2 night break to celebrate our delayed 10th Wedding Anniversary (was last Oct, but I had spinal surgery and have just finished physio etc).

We were upgraded to a suite, which was absolutely stunning. It was situated in the main section of the hotel overlooking the gorgeous grounds. It was massive, with a seperate room for our daughter.

We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the food was spectacular and delicious and the service could not be faulted in any way. There was so much attention to detail and the lady in charge was lovely, she obviously loves her job as she never stopped smiling!

We used the spa/pool twice and loved it. It is very modern and spotlessly clean!

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for excellent service in a stunning setting!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGMANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 22 February 2010
So glad you enjoyed your stay - the Spa is rather special isn't it ! Thank you for the kind comments especially regarding the restaurant service I will ensure they are passed onto the staff.
Regards
Greg Fehler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2010

After reading some of the reviews i was a litle worried regarding the rooms and what to expected on arrival. I should not have worried, we were allocated a beautiful room with a dressing area and large bathroom. Granted the view wasnt amazing but we didnt spend much time in the room, perferring to enjoy spending time in either Stratford or the hotel bar as we were travelling with friends. The hotel really is stunning and the service from all staff was fantastic. The management should be proud of having should a good team working at this hotel, nothing was to much trouble for them. The hotel restaurant offers a good selection of dishes and the food is delicious - as is the breakfast which offers plenty of variety. We didnt have time to try the spa but were assured by fellow guests that it was really enjoyable and we will be sure to try it should we travel back to this hotel.
If you are thinking of eating out in Stratford during your stay, book a meal at Lambs on Sheep Street. Be warned you will need to book in advance but it is worth it - the BEST meal we have had in a long time.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Secret_Agent_Hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 16 February 2010
Thank you for this review - it is very refreshing to see that customers can take the time to praise ( where praise is due ) and not just complain.
We have approximately 500 guests each week and I would like to think that the majority think the same as this - so thank you again for your comments.
Kind regards
Greg Fehler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Nice country manor hotel located 5 min drive from Stratford. We stayed here for New Year and chose the cheapest room to keep costs down. The room was small but comfortable, unfortunately it was located in the attic space and had sloping ceiling. The bathroom was almost as big as the bedroom but had all the fittings located in one corner giving you a hugh open space at the other end - Why??? TV reception was rubbish - only 1 channel was watchable and then only just. The room was cold when we checked in and took a few hours to warm up. The common rooms in the hotel were obviously old, but also felt a bit musty , as if they needed a bit of tender loving care.
The service was good and all staff we dealt with were efficient. The food was tasty but maybe a bit overpriced. Drinks were not as expensive as you would expect in a country hotel, although still not bargains - wine was expensive.
Unfortunately this hotel like so many other Brtiish hotels , thinks that it is really grand and places a premium on the room tariff which does not really do the room justice. Maybe the building and grounds warrant a high price but the room is nothing special. I also saw one of the 4 poster bedrooms which our firends were staying in - this was significantly bigger, but was decorated neither in an 18th century style nor a modern style, but more like a whatever we had left style. Don't get me wrong, everything was nice...but was it value for money?? Probably not - maybe staying in the local Travellodge and coming to the manor house for a meal or afternoon tea , or paying to use the spa as a day guest would represent better value.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicianManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 27 January 2010
Thank you for your comments - as previously mentioned on tripadvisor we are in the process of having the whole hotel re-cabled to take new digital flat screen televisions which will solve the picture problem.
Clearly at The Welcombe we have numerous room types and the type of room allocatted is reflected in the rate paid, the room allocated here was a standard which as you describe is fairly large and the bathroom was of course designed quite some time ago - despite being re-furbished just over a year ago - admittedly quirky but traditional none the less !
I am glad you enjoyed the food and service and I do hope to welcomBe you back.
Thank you
Greg fehler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2010

We had a wonderful stay, the hotel is quiet and immaculate, the staff are friendly and accomadating. We took two very young children and they were welcomed and taken care of beautifully, nothing they required was too much trouble. On arrival our room had been set up perfectly for our needs, a travel cot was provided for us along with suitable blankets.
The hotel is very near to the centre of town and so is perfect for all local amenities, aswell as sight seeing and theatre trips.
The surroundings are stunning and the restaurant is situated to take full advantage of the views, it was snowing heavily throughout our stay and the view at breakfast was breathtaking!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussyguest1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

This is the second time I have stayed at the hotel. I think people should note that the quality of the rooms differ a great deal. Last Tuesday I was put in a Travel Lodge style room at the back of the hotel. I definately won't be staying again. The bathroom was awful and the room not up to the standard this hotel purports to present.

Check what tyype of room you are getting they must be aware of the varying standard of rooms. Its a shame as the location is really good and you can walk into Stratford.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 22 December 2009
I do apologise that the room last week was not at the same standard as when you have stayed previously. Being an old country house style hotel clearly the types of rooms do vary tremendously - and we do have a number of modern bedrooms in one wing, nevertheless they are still of a four star standard but clearly are not as large or have as much character as the rooms in the main house. Should you wish to have a more traditional room then please ask for me or mention this message when next booking and I will do my best to ensure an upgrade.
Thank you
Greg Fehler
General Manager
Menzies Welcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Hotels don't come much better than this. We wanted for nothing. We now regularly stay even though we live within ten miles of this grand place. We struggle to believe that we can have such luxury and service at such a reasonable rate.
Service starts with a friendly greeting at the door and never stops. The Spa is second to none. The Golf course is World class.
The food is always wonderful and the service prompt and efficient.
The perfect place to chill, unwind and relax with a drink in front of the roaring fire.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
6.3 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,447 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,038 reviews
3.9 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
845 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,069 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon MK45 1AE, England (Formerly Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Welcombe Hotel And Golf Course
Menzies Welcombe Hotel Course

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing