We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Nearby Hotels
The White Swan Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Stratford Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Billesley Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Stratford, A QHotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Arden Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,266)
Filter reviews
2,266 results
Traveller rating
1,230
574
256
128
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,230
574
256
128
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvitality poolcountess suitespa facilitiesgolf breakgreat spabeautiful hotelfour posterstately homeupgraded to a suitespa weekendroaring firesteam roomthe main hotelcream teaevening mealchanging roomsstandard room
Filter
Updating list...
2,133 - 2,138 of 2,266 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We stayed at the Welcombe Hotel and Spa on a special offer (£98 DBB) and upgraded to a Superior Room (No.104) for a further £30 which was well worth the extra as it was a huge elegantly furnished four poster room with sitting area with the most lovely views over the Italian Gardens and the golf course. The service was fantastic and during the evening meal we could not fit in the desert following the lovely 2 courses so they brought it to our room half an hour later with coffee. The breakfast was a feast. Plus the Spa is second to none. We recently stayed at the London Savoy, and in truth this bettered them on quality of rooms and service. For golfers the course looks very challenging too. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Gabby.27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2010

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay - the view from room 104 is one of my favourites. Thank you for your kind words regarding the service I will pass this on to my team.
Kind regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

My friend and I decided to book a relaxing weekend break away and after seaching on the Menzies website found a great weekend package deal at the Welcombe Hotel.
The staff at check-in were really cheerful and gave us lots of ideas on what to do in Stratford town centre, which is only a 5 minutes drive from the Hotel.
We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a fantastic suite, which was clean and tidy but still maintained lots of the character!
The spa was the real highlight, with great facilities and very friendly staff!
The overall experience of the food, service and facilties were 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juice27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2010

Thank you for your very kind comments - glad you had a relaxing and enjoyable weekend.
Please tell your friends !
Kind regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

I went to this hotel for a valentines weekend, firstly it has to be mentioned when you come up to this hotel and approach its sprawling landscape it looks amazing. Also when you enter it is very impressive with friendly staff and a large oak living room with a roaring fireplace. What is interesting is that the rooms range from a 2 star to 5 star hotel. I think in the past this hotel must have been amazing hotel with fewer rooms but now it has put a room almost everywhere. We had one of those special deals an agent found for us but that pretty much puts you in an average size room in what seemed to be the basement which now had an extra 30 rooms. This would be like taking a flight on a more expensive concord jet only to find out the seat and service was exactly the same as any other plane. Overall the stay was great, close proximity to the town center, and the food the night we ate in was very good, actually better than I had expected. I highly suggest paying a lot extra for a premium room to be "wowed" or else you might be in an average room you could find in any number of hotels there for a lesser price.
I would definitely go again if I was planning to use the spa (they were fully booked the weekend I was there) or have a golf outing.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsaturday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2010

Thank you for your review - glad you like the hotel , food and service. I am sorry you didn't feel the standard room was to your liking - they are classified as four star bedrooms and were refurbished only 4 years ago and are contemporary in their design. Sorry the Spa treatments were full - they are popular.
Kind regards
Greg Fehler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

We have just returned from a 2 night break to celebrate our delayed 10th Wedding Anniversary (was last Oct, but I had spinal surgery and have just finished physio etc).

We were upgraded to a suite, which was absolutely stunning. It was situated in the main section of the hotel overlooking the gorgeous grounds. It was massive, with a seperate room for our daughter.

We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the food was spectacular and delicious and the service could not be faulted in any way. There was so much attention to detail and the lady in charge was lovely, she obviously loves her job as she never stopped smiling!

We used the spa/pool twice and loved it. It is very modern and spotlessly clean!

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for excellent service in a stunning setting!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGMANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2010

So glad you enjoyed your stay - the Spa is rather special isn't it ! Thank you for the kind comments especially regarding the restaurant service I will ensure they are passed onto the staff.
Regards
Greg Fehler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

After reading some of the reviews i was a litle worried regarding the rooms and what to expected on arrival. I should not have worried, we were allocated a beautiful room with a dressing area and large bathroom. Granted the view wasnt amazing but we didnt spend much time in the room, perferring to enjoy spending time in either Stratford or the hotel bar as we were travelling with friends. The hotel really is stunning and the service from all staff was fantastic. The management should be proud of having should a good team working at this hotel, nothing was to much trouble for them. The hotel restaurant offers a good selection of dishes and the food is delicious - as is the breakfast which offers plenty of variety. We didnt have time to try the spa but were assured by fellow guests that it was really enjoyable and we will be sure to try it should we travel back to this hotel.
If you are thinking of eating out in Stratford during your stay, book a meal at Lambs on Sheep Street. Be warned you will need to book in advance but it is worth it - the BEST meal we have had in a long time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Secret_Agent_Hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2010

Thank you for this review - it is very refreshing to see that customers can take the time to praise ( where praise is due ) and not just complain.
We have approximately 500 guests each week and I would like to think that the majority think the same as this - so thank you again for your comments.
Kind regards
Greg Fehler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews