We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, fantastic spa!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Just returned from 3 days at this hotel with my husband and 15 year old daughter. The main hotel itself is lovely and comfortable, with oak panelling in the main rooms and a huge fire in the lounge. Breakfast in the beautiful dining room was buffet style with lots of choice. We had dinner in the hotel each night, which was always beautifully presented and very good, as well as being plentiful. The hotel spa is fabulous, with a large indoor swimming pool, a great heated outdoor section, with jacuzzis, steam room, sauna, etc. The gym was well equipped with television scrrens on the individual machines showing Sky Sports. A covered walkway from the hotel into the Spa would have been a bonus. The gardens and grounds are lovely with formal gardens and a large golf course. I have read some negative reviews of the standard rooms and I sort of know what they mean - they are in a separate newer wing of the hotel and though comfortable, the bathrooms are small and they lack the character of the main house, the bedrooms of which look lovely. If I stayed again I would definitely upgrade. However, saying that, we felt we had good value for money. Staff were all friendly and helpful. A special mention to the staff in the dining room who were very pleasant and attentive and also to the concierge who was always welcoming.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneStokeonTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

Thank you very much for your complementary review , I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Beacause both the hotel and the Spa buildings are listed we cannot construct any covered walkway between the 2 buildings - but if this was the only negative then clearly it was worth the few steps to the Spa.
I will pass on your comments to my team - thank you
We all look forward to welcoming you back
Kind regards
Greg Fehler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,990 - 1,996 of 2,153 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2010

Stayed here just one night but thought it was a beautiful hotel. Great value and the spa looked fantastic, but was unable to use it. Breakfast was OK -- not all that great given the hotel. Great location for visiting Statford -- just a short walk into town. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockieReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

Thank you for your great review, sorry you didn't have time to use the Spa ..............maybe next time.
Kind regards
Greg Fehler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

My husband and I booked a 2 night stay last year as a final romantic get away before the arrival of our first baby in the December. Unfortunatey, the night before our proposed stay my husband dislocated his knee and sprained his ankle. I was also suffering with sciatica in the final weeks of pregnancy. I rang the hotel in a panic, thinking that we would have to cancel and lose all our money since neither of us could walk well at all. The staff were great and as there was no lift, transfered us to a ground floor room close to reception. When we arrived they helped us with bags to our room and organised a disabled taxi to collect us so that we could go out for a meal.
The room was lovely, and the breakfasts were just gorgeous! We enjoyed the pool at the spa but the steam room and foot spas were out of action, which was a little disappointing.
We were disappointed to have gone to such a glorious hotel in such a beautiful setting and to be confined to our room by our inability to move!
Because of this we have booked to go again this coming November as our first break away from our baby daughter. This time we hope to be able to enjoy the gardens and grounds much more, I will be celebrating with bubbly!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alimedland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

Thank you for your kind comments and I trust all is well with your baby daughter . I am so glad my team were of assistance to you both and that you enjoyed your stay. I do apologise for the fact that the foot spas and the staem room were temporarily out of order - this was only for a few days but I am sorry you were dissappointed.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a more romantic break !
Kind regards
Greg Fehler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Location superb, Spa excellent, and a lovely feeling and style to the bars and lounges, albeit dated.

Staff and service very mixed. The key staff seemed to know what they were doing but a number were inexperienced with no appreciation of the levels of service expected at a hotel in this price bracket. Some of the younger inexperienced staff were lovely, and trying very hard, but let down by those responsible for training.

The concierge staff on duty during our stay are worthy of special praise – they were excellent.

Our Executive Room was large and clean. The bed was comfortable despite the groans from the springs. The furnishings fell below our expectations in a room charged at £205 per night being old and mismatched both in style and colour, with an ancient TV.

A towelling robe and slippers should be standard, especially if guests are using the spa (even though there is no internal access from the hotel).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choosyhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

Thank you for your kind and constructive comments - we did indeed have a few new members of staff in September and I can assure they are now fully trained. I will of course pass on you compliments to the rest of the team and the concierge staff.
I do appreciatte your comments regarding the furnishings and we do hope to refurbish some rooms in the new year.
Kind regards
Greg Fehler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Myself and my husband hired the Welcombe Suite for our wedding reception after our church ceremony. Martina the events co-ordinator was fantastic as was Drew the toast master on the day. The gardens looked beautiful, the food was delicious...everything ran like clockwork. We stayed in one of the suites which had a four poster bed and was huge! It is a typical English hotel that makes you feel like you are in an old manor house. I can see though that if you are not part of a wedding party why you may not like the bar being taken over by guests etc. I think that some of the reviews of this hotel are a bit too negative. I agree that in some ways it is not as luxurious as other four/five star hotels..little things like no bath robes or flat screen tv's but really you are paying for the atmosphere and surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsWinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2010

Thank you for your review and I am really happy that you had such a good wedding day - as you rightly state we are a country house hotel and would hate to modernise the facilities too much but do try to keep the traditional ' manor house ' feel.
Look forward to welcoming you back on your anniversary ?
Kind regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

I was a bit nervous about going to the Welcombe because of the poor service reviews and corresponding crotchety responses from the manager. And yes, the first coffee we ordered took nearly an hour to arrive, but the staff were very, very helpful; the location is beautiful; private dining room and all food we had was fab. The spa was great, although children allowed in the pool at times (a shame on our child-free-recharge-the-batteries-weekend); therapists all friendly; facial brilliant; manicure and pedicure just average. Spa 'appartments' fantastic; roomy, clean, stylish. I didn't meet the manager, but I did ask some staff what he was like; much to my surprise (given his crabby remarks on TripAdvisor!) they all said he was lovely; very kind and never got cross! I recommend the walk across the fields to Stratford and clambering up the hill for fab views from the obelisk.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catbcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2010

Thank you for your kind review - sorry that you were disturbed by children in the pool ( we do keep their swim times limited ) but I am glad that you enjoyed the Spa and the treatments.
I am really sorry if my responses come across as crabby - I will try harder !
Thanks again for your feedback
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Recent 2 night stop was Superb in every way . Service from friendly Staff in Every Department as top marks.
Food again what can you add to Superb.
Room was Very Well maintained clean bright , was cleaned
daily . Nothing was to much Trouble all the staff so helpful
If you use this Hotel you are getting the best there is .
TAXI that helped us DIAMOND TAXI 07781580715 Superb.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony_Eglf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2010

Thank you for your very kind comments - I will pass this on to my team
Look forward to welcoming you back
Kind regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,213 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,579 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#12 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,921 reviews
1.2 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,522 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe

Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0NR, England (Formerly Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £92 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe is a calendar country house located on the edge of Stratford-upon-Avon and the beautiful Cotswolds. It's a calendar house because it has 7 entrances, 12 fireplaces, 52 chimneys and 365 windows. Perfectly located within walking distance of Stratford-upon-Avon yet not far from the A46 and M40 motorway, this oasis has ample free parking on site. There's also 78 comfy bedrooms and 7 spacious apartments for groups of friends looking for a relaxing retreat, a wonderful spa with hydropool, an 18-hole championship golf course and acres of landscaped gardens which make for picture perfect wedding memories. Of course, if indulgence is on the menu, you can't go wrong with the award-winning menu, a classic combination of great British produce and seasonal specialities crafted with charm and innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Welcombe Hotel And Golf Course
Menzies Welcombe Hotel Course

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing