We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spa although the hotel itself needs a bit of TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely spa although the hotel itself needs a bit of TLC”
Reviewed 3 January 2011

My Fiance and i have just returned from a one night stay. Our first impression of the hotel was great as was the service received from the receptionist. The spa was lovely, one of the best i have been to. The hotel however could do with a little TLC in places. Our room was number 132 on the second floor. We couldn't believe how big the room was! We had a four poster bed which was nice although on closer inspection of the room it could do with a lick on paint in places, which wouldn't take alot.
We dined in the restaurant and the food was delicious but i wasn't happy that we had to wait 45 minutes for a drink. We did mention this to the waiter and he was apologetic.
The buffet breakfast was also very nice.
We would return to this hotel as we got a very good offer, the spa is definitely the best bit about the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Thank you for your kind review and constructive comments , we have now started our refurbishment programme and room 132 will be included so please do return as the rooms we have done so far are amazing especially with the iMac system we're installing.
Thank you also for the favourable comments regarding the Spa this facility never fails to give the WOW factor to all our guests.
Kind regards
Greg Fehler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    479
    226
    114
    65
See reviews for
335
866
24
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2010

we stayed here and were looking forward to a nice evening of fine food and drink.on arrival we were told the restaurant was fully booked but we could eat at the bar or lounge or via room service. we thought maybe if we asked nicely they may squeeze us inat any time we was not fussy! we were told the restaurant was only for people who had booked DB&B, we had only B&B. wish i had known! never felt comfortable eating off the big chairs and the table low down. so we had to go into the town and eat very dissapointed.my wife suggested our room but went to the phone by the toilet and it was not working!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westwood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Mr Westwood thank you for your comments regarding room 6's telephone in the bathroom , this has now been rectified.
With reference to your Laterooms booking , we do offer a discounted Dinner bed & breakfast package which as you can tell from your experience is very popular. The hotel was full on the night you stayed (28th Dec) and the sheer number of dinner inclusive guests did put us under a lot of pressure - I do apologise that we could not cater for you in the restaurant on this occasion.
Kind regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

arriving at the hotel along a long driveway between the golf course then first impression from outside is very impressive, this is a very beautiful building on the out side untill you get inside, as the building is old you don.t expect everything to be pristine, we were given a very warm greeting and excellent check inn, although sent to wrong end of building for our rooms at first we thought we where in for great rooms as we had been upgraded, on returning to the desk we were then pointed in the other direction this then felt like you going into servants qaurters we were given rooms 101 and 103 our dissappointment when we opened the doors was unreal and we all said if these were upgraded rooms what would standard have been like, 101 has a complete mismatch of furniture and the bed wasn,nt even joined together at base becauase clip was completely broken also not even valance sheet so all this was clearly visable, the bathroom was one of the worst i have ever seen in any hotel it looked as if total need of refurb, 103 our friends room although having matching funiture and bed fully made smelt very musty and had a lady bird infestation and cracked window panes in bathroom as well as temperental electrics in bathroom, our meal inresturant in eve was lovely and likewise a great breakfast, the staff were very friendly and welcoming, we could see clearly the hotel was very empty and surely they must have better rooms available we wonder why management do not allocate you the best they can so you can leave with great memories with intention probaly to return, but instead we all thought it has to be the worst hotel we have stayed in being very shabby and well worn and would think twice about returning which is something we have done on many occasions as we take several breas a year

Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank tracyserena25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 24 December 2010
I do apologise for the fact that you sent in the wrong direction for your bedrooms , I know this was done by a new member of the team and he was extremely sorry. The bedrooms in the Trevelyan Wing are traditional bedrooms and classified as 'executive ' rooms - clearly there are a number of better upgrades.
Rooms 101 and 103 are being refurbished in 2011 but are very large traditional country house bedrooms and I am sorry you did not like them - I know that one couple did actually move when we gave them a complimentary upgrade - I trust they enjoyed this , just a shame it wasn't mentioned in your review.
Thank you for your complimentary comments regarding the enjoyable dinner and breakfast as well as the friendly and welcoming staff - I was therefore somewhat surprised at the very low score. Please try us again in 2011 when the bedrooms mentioned will have been refurbed.
Kind regards
Greg Fehler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We stayed overnight on dinner bed and breakfast basis and were overall very happy with the standards and value of the break. We arrived on a very cold and icy evening and it was a considerable boost to be welcomed by a huge open fire in the lounge. We had a warming drink in the Trevelyan bar and the young barman was excellent in both his manner and professionalism. In fact throughout our stay the service proved to be excellent and the young French lady who was in charge of the restaurant service was a model of professionalism and charm, whilst both our waiters were good.

We enjoyed the food. which had very much an English flavour to it and the set meal had a good range of choices and one could mix and match with the a la carte. A good way from Michelin star level but perfectly acceptable and complemented by a reasonable wine list and a dining room with a pleasant ambience.

Probably the most disappointing aspect of the stay was our room (number 11 on the ground floor). We had paid extra for an Executive room but this room had no particular style and was a little dingy and utilitarian. After saying this we both slept extremely well so obviously the bed was comfortable but it just needed a bit of pizazz and a feel that one was being pampered rather than being given a fairly boring ambience.

Overall did we enjoy our stay .... yes. Was the log fire a wonderful feature .... yes. Was the ambience that of a huge baronial establishment ....yes and was the service helpful and professional .... yes. Equally was it excellent value, given all of the preceding features ....... yes, as we have paid a considerable amount more for a less enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StAlbansWilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 10 December 2010
Thank you for your kind comments and I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the log fire in the lounge.
Bedroom 11 is one of our newer rooms and probably doesn't have the character of some of the older ones but during the refurb next yesr we will be ensuring that all the older rooms do keep that country house character.
I have of course passed on you kind comments to Elizabeth and the restaurant team.
Kind regards
Greg Fehler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

This is a fantastically located hotel, with an amazing Jacobean building. Overall, we had a good stay and a very comfortable 2 nights' sleep, but a few things would have made our stay so much better.
We had a 2 night stay booked in: we arrived to find a battered metal barrier - which was a good sign of things to come - it did the job, but needed a refurb.
The receptionist gave a very half hearted welcome (it almost felt as if we were disturbing her evening) and only issued one room key (not much use when you each need the key for the locker in the spa). She also forgot to give us the code to exit the car park - which has no help speaker, which meant another trip back to the desk to get out of the car park, despite us telling her on arrival that we simply wanted to drop our bags and go straight out to eat). There was no apology from the receptionist and even when we checked out, there was no enquiry as to whether we'd enjoyed our stay (maybe some customer service training wouldn't go amiss!). Our room was very quiet, which was a big bonus as there was a wedding at the hotel that weekend, but the room could have done with a good overhaul and looked a bit tired. Huge plus was that the bed (two singles zipped together) was extremely comfortable.
Breakfast was really good and plentiful, although dinner wasn't the nicest and the room was absolutely boiling, so much so that we had to move to the lounge area to have dessert as it was just sweltering.
The spa was really enjoyable - again, just a couple of tweaks (no plastic cups in the gym, yet overflowing cups in the spa area - all it would take is for a manager to allocate someone going round once an hour to make sure these are supplied/cleared away).
Overall, we got a good deal on the package break and the hotel is located only 5 minutes' drive from Stratford, which was perfect for a weekend away. A bit more customer service on reception (which was a real shame as it's the first and last impression, yet the restaurant staff couldn't have been more helpful) and a bit of money spent refurbing some of the rooms and it woud've been a very good stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunningGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 10 December 2010
Thank you for your very constructive comments it is very helpful to get such detail and I can assure you we will be acting on your comments.
We do start a refurbishment programme early in 2011 so hopefully this will encourage you to return.
Kind regards
Greg Fehler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Chose this venue as a good half way compromise between Yorkshire and Surrey for two days Golf, Dinner Bed&Breakfast for two couples.
Arrived and played Saturday morning and asked assistant pro about safety of clubs left outside shop. Assured "no problem".
Also noticed security barrier and signs reminding guests to get code prior to leaving.
Finised round, which was thoroughly enjoyable (greens what you'd expect at this time of year), dumped the clubs in "safe" car park and returned to clubhouse to change and enjoy a few drinks.
Returned to now desterted car park at 5.10pm to find my car (SUV) rear window broken and missing two sets of clubs, Powerkaddy etc .
At that point on reporting incident, we are told that security barrier is inoperable and had been for some weeks.
We were offered a complimentary drink before dinner.
Despite futher discussions with an understanding and very pleasant Greg (General Manager) who after hearing the full story, agreed to take my request for some type of financial recompense upwards to his superiors for consideration as he did not have that level of autonomy.
From a total bill of £680 for two couple I thought that they may have some scope to make a gesture as it turned out my insurance excess is £200 plus higher premiums going forward.
Unfortunately they didn't see things my way. No deduction at all from my bill was on offer.
No gesture of goodwill, no acceptance that not knowing the security barrier may have influenced my choices, absolutely nothing.
In this climate when customer service should be king, some short sighted "jobsworth" has removed their chain from future weekend break options of ours and potentially, on reading this, many other people who might be considering one of their sites.
Bedrooms also a bit grubby for supposed " Executive" status.

Andy Maddock

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyMadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 10 December 2010
Dear Mr Maddock

I was not surprised to see your review as you had indicated that this was your intended course of action should we not agree to your demands.
Nevertheless , I am somewhat surprised at the content of the review as you had assured me you had enjoyed the golf and everything about the hotel including the food , service and your room , in fact you also complimented me on the attentiveness of my team.
Clearly the car park barrier was out of action but has only been so for a number of days (not weeks) and having asked the Assistant Professional about the safety of leaving clubs outside the shop, he had of course assured you there are no problems as he can see this area himself through the window and there is an infra-red camera on this part of the Club.
However, the whole of the car park is not covered by infra-red cameras and there are signs notifying guests that we cannot be liable for any loss incurred in that area.
Surely we cannot be held responsible for the actions of criminals intent on theft.
During both our telephone conversations I did offer you with the purchase of new clubs, where clearly you would have benefited from a vastly discounted price and also mentioned that I would look at giving you an exceptional rate should you return.
Therefore having provided you with a superb golf experience and an enjoyable stay, which you confirmed prior to your review, I am somewhat surprised and saddened that you are suggesting golfers beware.
Greg Fehler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

i suprised my partner with a two night break for his 50th birthday. the hotel were great, they gave us a free upgrade to a executive suit - fantastic ..... it had an - entrance area , bedroom , bathroom and office. the floor area is more than the ave 3 bed house.
the staff were so helpfull and the lesuire facitaties were secound to none.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackienmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, 17 November 2010
Thank you for your very kind comments - I will of course pass this on to the team. So glad you had a great celebration we look forward to seeing you for the 60th or before.
Kind regrds
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,057 reviews
3.9 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,061 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,223 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,079 reviews
1.2 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon MK45 1AE, England (Formerly Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Welcombe Hotel And Golf Course
Menzies Welcombe Hotel Course

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing