We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Arden Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Billesley Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Stratford, A QHotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Grosvenor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,632)
Filter reviews
2,632 results
Traveller rating
707
818
603
318
186
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
707
818
603
318
186
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach houselovely hoteltown centrespa treatmentsevening mealleisure facilitiesold buildingshort breakwithin easy walking distancefew minutes walkafternoon teaa lovely staystratfordweddingcharactertheatrebeams
Filter
Updating list...
2,332 - 2,337 of 2,632 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2011

My wife and I got married at Alveston Manor on the 14th May. We chose the hotel as our venue due to its beautiful character and the welcome that we received from the hotel staff when we first visited. On every detail we can only praise the service and professionalism and friendliness we have encountered in every correspondance. The Alveston is a wonderful wedding venue. The staff, especially Laura the co ordinator have been amazing, helpful and considerate and patient with our demands and questions. On the Andy the concierge was everywhere guiding and supporting and was calming. Keith the restaurant manager was helpful and guided us through our food choices and selection pre wedding and was always helpful. Also on the day thanks to Tim the master of ceremonies and the staff in reception for their charm and attentiveness to us and our guests. The food on the day was amazing, thanks to the chef and his team. All of our guests praised the wedding breakfast. Our stay at the hotel was lovely, a beautiful light, warm four poster room. Many of our guests were also enthused by their rooms, their experience and the breakfast on the morning after. They all found the Alveston to be a wondeful quality venue. We can thoroughly recomemend the hotel for a wedding and a short break venue. Thank you all again for a beautiful wedding day to remember.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoetfromBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed at Alveston Manor to celebrate our wedding anniversary, having got married at the hotel two years ago. The hotel was fantastic from the moment we checked in. Our room (no.2) was beautiful and the hotel gave us wine and chocolates as an anniversary present which was a lovely touch. The GM was very friendly and welcoming as were all of the staff - great service throughout. The leisure facility was great, nice pool to swim lengths or just relax. Breakfast was very good, and it was nice to walk around the gardens. The location of the hotel is perfect for walking into the town centre, less than 5 min, and it has a complimentary car park. All in all, we had a fab stay and we can't wait to come back next year!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Better_than_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

Thank you for returning to the Alveston Manor for your wedding anniversary, I am delighted that we did not disappoint and thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you next year. Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We enjoyed a two night weekend stay at Alveston Manor earlier this month and would definitely recommend the hotel. From our greeting at reception to the restaurant staff at breakfast and the attendants in the spa - all were friendly, welcoming and went out of their way to help. We stayed in the older part of the hotel in a room that although a little tired looking was exceptionally clean. With a location only a stones throw away from the centre of Stratford it was accessible for all the town's tourist attractions. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMcVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. The team work very hard to deliver excellent customer service, and it is always good to receive such positive feedback. Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Alveston manor is located in a very good place to explore Stratford and the public rooms have elegant olde world features that provide an enjoyable environment. In maintaining the hotels features however the low rise building means that you may have to walk a considerable distance to and from your room a well as up and down stairs. We requested rooms close to the public areas but this was ignored so if you have mobility problems I would check whilst they allocate your room. The bar is nice if a little expensive and the service in there is good. The restaurant however, award winning or not was as we would have hoped and there is little point asking how you would like your dish prepared if the instruction is to be ignored even when you send the food back to be redone. Functions such as wedding stretch the hotels resources resulting in long waits for breakfast. Overall we were dissapointed

Room Tip: How far do you want to walk? some a way off
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alant1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

Thank you for your comments, clearly we did not meet with expectations on this occasion, and our apologies for any disappointment. Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Overall, we had a comfortable two night stay at the hotel, but it was inconsistent in its quality. We stayed in room 37, which is a double room in the extension block behind the historic old manor house building. The location is terrific, only a few minutes walk from the centre of Stratford.

On arrival on the Friday evening, the car parks were very full and we ended up in the rear car park. However, there was virtually no signage to then direct us to the reception so we ended up wandering into a wedding reception!

Our room itself was shabby but clean. The double bed was extremely comfortable, but the duvet provided barely covered the bed so was on the small side once two guests were also in the bed. There was no milk provided for the tea/coffee. Although there was a note in the fridge saying that it could be ordered through room service, it would have been very simple for the reception desk to ask us if we wanted any milk on our arrival and check-in.

The bathroom was again clean but shabby. It was overly large, which was in contrast to the slightly cramped sizing of the bedroom. There was also very little headroom when using the shower in the bath - fine if you are 5'8" as we both are, but uncomfortable if you are any taller.

Our view of the room was that it was overpriced at £135 per night that we paid, and somewhere around £100 would be fairer.

The breakfast in the main restaurant on both mornings was excellent, although some of the waiting staff did not have good enough English to take an accurate breakfast order at the first attempt. Whilst there were no mistakes on our table, we were vastly amused by the Fawlty Towers-esque goings on at the adjacent table with two older gentlemen struggling to make themselves understood!

The health club, in particular the swimming pool, is excellent and well worth a visit if you are staying.

Overall, we just felt that the hotel was on the complacent side. It was a captive market of visitors to Stratford and so is not having to compete effectively on price or quality. Slightly disappointing as it could be an amazing place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toptoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry you felt we were complacent, we can't afford to be in the present climate. We take on board your comments and will take action where possible. We hope to be undergoing a refurbishment of our rooms within the next twelve months. We hope you will visit us again. Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews