We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sequoia House(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Lodge(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Thistle(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Arden Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Payton Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
Reviews (2,567)
Filter reviews
2,567 results
Traveller rating
687
797
589
314
180
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
687
797
589
314
180
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach houselovely hoteltown centrespa breakevening mealleisure facilitiesold buildingfour postershort breakwithin easy walking distancefew minutes walkafternoon teastayed for one nighta lovely staystratfordweddingcharacter
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,258 - 2,263 of 2,567 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed at the Alveston Manor Hotel for two night early in June to attend a wedding not held at the hotel. We were allocated a Feature Room in the original manor house. There is no lift to the first floor in this part of the hotel, not an issue for us and we were offered help with our luggage, but it is something worth considering when booking. Room was fairly basic, not sure it warranted the extra price compared to the 'classic' rooms, but everything was clean and tidy. Bar prices expensive, I don't expect to have to pay £5 for a bottled beer or more than £10 for a glass of average wine. Cooked to order breakfast was good both days.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor, I am sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us and found the bar prices to be excessive. We will take your comments on board when reviewing our prices in the future. I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your breakfast on both mornings. Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We held our wedding at Alveston Manor in March 2011. All our guests commented how relaxed we were at our wedding, which is all down to how well organised and comfortable Laura, the wedding co-ordinator, and the rest of the staff made us feel in the run up to the big day and on the day itself. Every aspect of the day ran like clockwork, it was a brides dream day! The food was superb, the service exemplary and the setting idyllic! The tudor elements in the hotel are fascinating and the hotel has a comfortable unfussy feel, with cosy sofas and a gorgeous open fire in the bar.
Close family and friends stayed with us in the hotel, and were all delighted with the standard of the rooms and the facilities at the hotel. We can't wait til our first anniversary when we can stay there again!

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to any sightseer, couple, family and as a perfect wedding location.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBanks31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

May I say sincere thanks for choosing the Alveston Manor to host your wedding. To receive such positive feedback about both the hotel and service, and in particular Laura, is fantastic and I will ensure that you comments are passed to the team.
Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in February for Valentine’s day using Tesco vouchers. I thought the hotel could do with being decorated especially the rooms but overall a good stay. We used the pool which was OK. Breakfast was good, and we had dinner one evening from the set menu which was fine. We had problems connecting to the Wi-fi so reception suggested we go to their sister hotel across the road – it worked fine there. The hotel is in a great location – once we parked the car in the free car park we didn’t use it again as it is a short walk in to town.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Essex62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Thank you very much for your comments, and I am pleased that overall you had a good stay with us. My apologies that you had problems with access to WIFI, this is a service provided by BT and at times connection can be intermittent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

close to town, lovely oak-beam interior, well appointed... a good experience

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izziebon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Thank you very much for your kind comments. My team and I really do try our best to achieve excellent customer service for all of our guests, sadly sometimes we are unable to provide this as many circumstances do affect the day to day running of the hotel.
We always take all reviews from our guests in a positive manner and ensure that we take note of any feedback to help us deliver to guest expectations.
I was so very pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your comments to the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Alveston Manor Hotel & Spa
Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Alveston for our first visit to Stratford Upon Avon with our 2 young children. We are always concerned how children will be received at nice hotels (they are very well behaved) but had no worries, the staff were wonderful with the children and the porter (think he might have been more than that!) even remembered my daughters name. They were very welcoming and the staff provided a consistently friendly and efficient service. The room (42) was ideal - a good size for a family and with its own fridge which was very convenient for storing the milk! The breakfast was very nice and we made full use of the swimming pool and facilities which were excellent - there were even flotation aides which was ideal for the children. It was ideally located - a few minutes walk and you were by the river or the town although it was busy directly outside the hotel with traffic which was a bit hairy with a pram crossing the first road! My daughter particularly liked the garden which had ample hiding places for hide and seek and was very well maintained! We also ordered a picnic to have on the river - whilst not cheap it was ideal and convenient and was prepared at short notice so ideal for us. My only gripe was the fact you had to pay for internet access and there was a block in the hotel which prevented us from even using our own WiFi service on our mobile phones - probably not ideal for business users! My daughter enjoyed it so much she didnt want to leave and I tended to agree with her!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

I was so very happy that Andy, our Concierge, was able to look after you and your family during your recent stay. It is good to receive such positive feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Stratford in the future.
Steve Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews