We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Loughborough
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, good hotel”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Me and my sister stayed here for one night for a spa package. We enjoyed our stay very much. We were able to check in early and went straight to our room to drop off our bags.
The room was spacious and very clean. It is just a basic hotel room but it was very nice. The location is great for Stratford as it is just over the bridge to the town.
We had our treatments later in the day and we were very pleased. The gym & swimming pool are very nice too.
The only things I didn't like about the hotel was that the corridors are not very well lit and it was a long walk with bags to our room. But our room was right next to the spa/swimming pool which was great for us.
Also I was rudely awaken by hoovering at 7am on the Sunday morning, which I wasn't very happy about as I rarely get to sleep in. I think this is too early to start hoovering on a Sunday morning. Once awake I can't get back to sleep.
The best thing about the hotel was the resturant. I have to say the food is some of the best food we have ever tasted. It was delicious and beutifully presented. We were really impressed. Also the waiting staff were so polite, friendly & helpful. Breakfast was great too. Loads to choose from.
Overall this is a good hotel with great food and great staff. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the spa if you will be using it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coxy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you very much for your comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your Spa Break with us. I will investigate the hoovering at 7am on a Sunday morning, I agree this is not acceptable. We hope to welcome you back sometime soon. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    745
    546
    298
    157
See reviews for
371
1,331
38
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Overall our stay was a pleasurable one, although there were a few things that left us a little "underwhelmed". Room was of a generous size although if you were to put the contents in a smaller room I'm not sure you would be so impressed. The rooms were cleaned to perfection although there was an unfortunate "stench" in the room on arrival, that seemed to be coming from the bathroom and it seemed to linger throughout our stay. This meant we had to leave the window's open and the bathroom door closed at all times with the fan on constantly. Couldn't use the dressing gowns provided, as there was a glorious stain left behind from previous guests, which was of course very off putting! Staff were inviting and friendly, although I felt could of possibly gone that extra mile to explain more about the hotels facilties on check in. We ended up having to walk the hotel to try and find the swimming pool and other facilities that may have been available. Only knew about the gym as we could see it from the pool!

Mysteriously had costs added to the bill, which differed from all previous quotes. Had to pay £3.00 for room service, although I had to go downstairs to find out where it actually was as it was late by almost ten minutes and I ended up passing the staff on the stairs.

If this was a Holiday Inn or a Travel Lodge we would of sincerely sang it's praises but for a hotel costing £219.00 per night we expected more.

Not all bad though, outstanding location, perfect for a day visit to Stratford Upon Avon, everything within walking distance. The premises were amazing and the building is definitely well taken care of.

Is it worth the stay???? Yes...... worth the money????? No!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you for your comments, I am sorry that you fel 'underwhelmed' with your visit to the Alveston manor. As a team, we strive to deliver excellent standards and customer service and I am sorry that we did not deliver on this occasion. We take on board your feedback, and we will do better.
Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We visit Stratford several times a year and have been using this hotel for more than six years. This was already our fourth visit this year. Whilst we do like the hotel and its setting, it is sad that there are always little niggles, such as this time our papers were not delivered on each of the three mornings of our visit. On the first two mornings somebody did go out to get them for us, but on checking out on the third morning we were told in a quite offhand manner that, 'people take them from outside the rooms.' Strange, as none of our neighbours' papers had been taken. Maybe the staff expect their guests to be a light fingered lot, as the bottle of 'complimentary' water in the room now has the warning that if guests take the empty bottle, they will be charged £7.50 on their account!
the big pluses are the leisure centre and the breakfasts - although we have encountered problems with service at breakfast on some occasions.
As I said, we do stay here several times a year - it is such a pity that every single time we check in - even though we request a particular room which overlooks the garden - we are asked, 'have you stayed here before?' Other hotels we use regularly not only recognise the fact that we are regular visitors and welcome us accordingly, but also place a welcome gift in the room. I do not expect gifts, but a simple, 'welcome back' would be an improvement.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor, we do greatly value our loyal guests and I can only apologise that my team fail to welcome you as regular visitors to the hotel. We take note of the various issues you highlight, and empathise with your frustration at the small niggles; we assure you that we will take action to make improvements and deliver the service and standards you expect in a hotel of this standard. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2011

A wedding party was taking place and still going strong till 12.45am in spite of us being informed the disco would end at midnight. Our smoke alarm in the room went off twice for no reason and there was no reply to Reception when we rang to inform them at 11.30pm. I dressed and went down only to find the desk unmanned. Our room service meal was advertised as coming with a mixed salad, which turned out to be 5 sprigs of water cress. We complained on checking out and were offered a refund for both meals. Needless to say we won't be staying at any other MacDonald Hotels again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor, and our apologies for any shortfalls in service during your stay; we have corresponded with you personally. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

Workington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Spent a night here as a stop off on a journey from Cornwall to Cumbria. At check in the receptiononist could'nt locate our booking at first but was very apologetic and gave us an upgrade. The room was very spacious and comfortable with large TV . The leisure centre was impressive , clean and well -run. The dinner in the restaurant was superb , with extremely friendly service, as was breakfast. All the staff were polite , efficient and friendly. At check out the initial problems with the booking had been rectified. All in all a very pleasant stay in a fantastic location with first class staff. i would love to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheresaJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for your kind comments, particularly about the staff. My team strive to deliver excellent customer service and I am delighted that you had such a pleasant stay. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, Dorset
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Hotel is in a very good location for the main town, being just a short walk to the centre.The hotel itself is lovely with the room being a good size, clean and well equipped, with air conditioning which was a must during our stay.

Reception was pleasant but had us booked in for three nights stay not the two we had requested through their central booking system. I had to also point out that we had already paid for the booking in advance as they were wanting to charge me again for the stay as well as the customary two day deposit that they require on the credit card.

We stayed on D & BB basis. Dinner was superb but the the allowance of £28 for inclusive guests didn't stretch to dessert. We both had steak for main course and was to die for. Unfortunaately they were only able to offer bitter or wine to drink as had a problem with their delivery from the brewery. As a larger/ cider drinker i think they judged my surprised expression well as they offered me a complimentary glass of wine with my meal.Nice touch i thought. We were looked after both nights by Joe who was very attentive and provided a high level of personal service.A credit to MacDonalds Hotels.

Drinks in the bar are the usual expensive hotel expierence. 1/2 pint Strongbow £3.75 and only available in bottles. Would of thought that it would have been on draught. Something to consider i would suggest. Looked after by Dan through to early morning hours. He also ensured that we were well looked after and again a credit to MacDonalds.. Was able to supply a lighter when mine ran out and he isn't even a smoker.

Breakfast was also a pleasant expirence, with quick service but i would suggest that you get down there before 9 am as our friends who arrived at that time were made to wait for their cooked breakfast for some 30 mins whilst others around them were getting theirs and they arrived after them. It apparentely gets very busy at that time and i think the kitchen seems to to struggle. Breakfast the following day was an exact opposite expirence, with every thing so slow, cold food on the plate and a long wait for it.Wasn't the serving staff's fault. Seem that they were split between two resturants and again the kitchen couldn't keep up with "rush hour".

All in all i would recommend a stay here with friendly staff but be prepared to pay for the add ons if you intend to stay up late in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnieboy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and for the kind comments about joe and Dan, which I will ensure they receive. Our apologies that we were unable to offer the drinks of your choice, but I am pleased to note that my team supplied you with a complimentary glass of wine. We take note of your comments about breakfast and apologise for the shortfalls in service on both days. At busy leisure periods, the restaurant is very busy between the hours of 9am and 10am, and we continue in our efforts to proivde the quality of service expected during this time. We hope to welcome you back. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

ok the room is a typical standard hotel room but ok size, clean and all what you need. pool was nice although full of screaming kids, so dont go there is you want a quiet time. spa was good and massage was great. bar and restaurant were excellent, the quality of the food for dinner and breakfast was great although breakfast was a little chaotic due to the number of people eating at the same time and the staff being a little overwhealmed. we found a special offer which included room, dinner and breakfast and £10 voucher to spend in the hotel which was great as the food was certainly worth it being included in that offer. i think most of the rooms are round the back and are the modern types, nothing special, only the front of the hotel looks like the pictures. but again get what you pay for and for 1 night was fine.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwellallthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you found the Spa and bar and restaurant to be excellent. Breakfast service is challenging during busy leisure times, but we continue in our efforts to deliver excellent customer service at all times. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,722 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,080 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing