We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what you would expect from a high class hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pouance, France
Level Contributor
186 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Not what you would expect from a high class hotel!”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The ambiance is, as expected, very good but menus we had previously chosen became unavailable beforehand and we had to re-choose. One does NOT expect this from a first-class hotel of this calibre. The meal was even then overpriced, especially as there was a preponderance of apples in the so-called fruit "salad" while the mark-up on a bog-standard wine was, frankly, exhorbitant. We could have bought the same wine at our local French Supermarket for appx. £2.00 the bottle whereas they charged almost £20.00! Fair enough, they have to uncork it, serve it and wash the glasses afterwards but this was way OTT!
There was no-one on Reception when we arrived and again no-one there when we left so we could not collect our coats.
We shan't eat there again unless we can help it!
A 50 year re-union dinner was only rescued by meeting up with old colleagues.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Escutcheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. May I apologise that your dining experience was below our usual high standards, and hope that you will give us an opportunity to redress this in the future. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    736
    538
    291
    153
See reviews for
360
1,309
38
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Booked a last-minute, king-size room for my partner and I. The room was a good size, (the bed was huge!) and well equiped: fridge, plenty of tea, coffee etc, shower gel, lovely big towels and complimentary bottle of water (the bottle was a special etched glass Macdonald hotel one, so they ask you to either leave behind the empty bottle, or pay a charge if you want to keep it). We were right at the back of the hotel, and had a very peaceful nights sleep, no noise. Blackout curtains was a nice touch, too. Made use of the pool, sauna and gym which we found very useful. Bar was a little pricey, but no more than any other hotel bar, I guess. Staff very friendly & helpful. All in all I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank User19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and recommendation. I am pleased that you had such a relaxing stay with us. I hope you will be back. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We stayed for 1 night in August and upgraded to a coach house room (Feature King room) which we felt was worth it. We booked direct with the hotel on a half board basis and this was very good value for money then booking room and paying again for meals.
The room was really comfortable and was as described beams etc and huge bathroom.
Food was of a good standard though the menu on the night we were there did have a lot of fish choices and pork which limited the choice. I asked the staff if they could put a candle on my partners dessert as it was his birthday and they did with a really nice attitude and even gave us 2 complimentary glasses of Prosecco.
Very welcoming staff who make you feel special.
Easy to walk and explore Stratford as few minutes walk to the river which was preety lit up at night.
we did not use the leisure facilities so can't comment on those.

One tip- we drove in at the back of the hotel entrance and would suggest that you drive in at the entrance where you see the old manor house as it's much more special.

Room Tip: Recommend paying extra for a character room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Yes, the Alveston Manor is in an excellent location for exploring Stratford upon Avon, without using the car. My team prides itself on delivery excellent cusotmer service and thank you for your kind comments about the staff. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We stayed at the Alveston Manor for 2 nights last week. The experience was excellent from check in to check out. Lukasc the receptionist could not have been more welcoming, likewise the concierge Andy, who showed us to our room and told us much about the history of the hotel. The evening meal was superby cooked & served as was breakfast. How nice to have your cooked food and toast served to your table.All in all a great experience for a short break in Stratford on Avon. Thank you .

Room Tip: Feature rooms are excellent, but we did see the standard roooms which are equally as good but not qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrythewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you received the excellent customer service that we pride ourselves on. I hope we can welcome you back in the future. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Let me begin by saying that this isn't a bad hotel and there is a lot we liked about it. Our room was a good size and the furnishings were OK. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was fine and the towels were good quality (so many hotels skimp on fluffiness or size or both). The rooms seemed to be very well sound-proofed as well. Breakfast was very good and overall the service we received in the hotel was friendly and efficient.

However... This is a four star hotel and it's reasonably expensive (expect to pay from £150 per night) so we would have expected more than we got. The hotel needs to update itsa infrastructure. Our room windows were single glazed and metal framed, the paint was peeling off them. Our bathroom had no extractor. There was no safe in the room. Wifi is not free. Having spend time in many, cheaper, European hotels over the Summer we found free wifi in most places so why isn't it free in a hotel of this bracket? The toiletries in the bathroom were a bit skimpy. The air-con also appears to be from out of the ark. It was quite noisy and, for some reason it switched itself off in the middle of the night. I find almost all hotels to be stifling so the increase in room temperature woke me up for a while.

Simply put the hotel is showing its age and Macdonalds should seriously consider more than a refurb to the place. Oh yes, by the way, it also suffers that worldwide hotel disease - interminable corridors.

Overall, not a bad hotel but no better than average for the price.

Room Tip: Check in as early as you can and complain if you don't like the one they give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased to be able to adivse you that a refurbishment is planned to commence in 2012, which should greatly enhance our product. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wednesbury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We went to our friends daughters wedding, the gardens and setting was lovely being just a short hop from the river and the town of stratford. Although quite pricy you could not fault the hotel itself although you would need a second mortgage for your bar bill!!!

Room Tip: to be honest all the rooms were to a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ria_addis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Yes, the Alveston Manor is a beautiful setting for a wedding and we pride ourselves on offering a very special experince to our bride and grooms. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2011

I only visited the Spa- had the classic aromatic facial. It was the best and I loved the wheat and sunflower face mask!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Delighted you enjoyed your Spa experience, we hope you will be back for more. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#13 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing