We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights and thought it was a very good hotel overall. Upgraded to a better room in the old part, as was aware the ones in the new area were a long walk away, and overlooking a car park. Room was kept spotless, and it was nice and quiet. We ate in on one night, and food was good, but if anything the staff were a little too attentive. We were asked at least three times if the meal was ok, and we were only on our starters!! - and again three times for each course. Breakfast was similar. A bit over the top!! Nice swimming pool, and a short stroll into town and the Theatres. Would definitely stay again, but would look for a discount were possible or a free upgrade of room

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scholesLlandrindod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,441)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,094 - 2,100 of 2,441 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

A bright and airy very clean room. Nice lighting and bathroom. Would recommend it. Only negative is I put in for a wake up call which never came but since I was jet-lagged I was up anyway.
Nice bar area too.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitasTorrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Impressed by the website, I was looking forward to an enjoyable stay in a historic hotel.

It's true that some parts of the hotel are exactly as the photos show, with character and charm. However, other parts of the hotel are more modern and utilitarian. Having been given a room in the modern section you pass various function rooms of the hotel and through a number of twists and turns of corridors which are lit by low voltage ceiling spotlights with a distinctly bluish hue than is very surreal.

The room and en-suite were clean and had everything you'd expect, but again, for a hotel of this standard really could do with a bit of refreshing. The view from my window was of a car parked in front of it, though there were tantalising glimpses of lawn and trees beyond.

Breakfast was served promptly with good coffee and piping hot food, sometimes not the case in other hotels.

The staff themselves were all polite, courteous and efficient which is always a real bonus.

I left with a sense of disappointment that the hotel hadn't quite lived up to all that I'd hoped it would be, and not really value for money, at least for the part of the hotel I'd been staying in.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Channelhopper30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We do not like to disappoint our guests and my apologies for any shortfall in our standards. I am pleased to be able to advise you that the hotel will be undergoing refurbishment - commencing during 2012. Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Location
Lovely looking hotel, good for those seeking a ‘Shakespearian experience’.
Well located approx 5 min walk from the RSC, a bit longer to reach the centre.
Facilities
Plenty of car parking space (a main and an overflow).
Bedrooms are well-sized, lovely big bed but disappointed with the many dips in the mattress, didn’t get much sleep.
Bathroom was a good size but tired and in need of an update e.g. old fashioned non-adjustable shower over the bath.
Very disappointed with the heating system, despite several attempts to adjust the temperature control, the heating seemed to readjust itself back to an uncomfortable level.
Rooms are paper-thin; you can hear your neighbour’s toilet flushing and other residents walking down the corridors
Breakfast is quite good, reasonable choice, shame the toast was delivered cold!
In Summary
An ok hotel in need of a refurb. Worth considering if you can snag a good deal, otherwise you might be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestMidsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Thank you for your comments, we do take on board all of your feedback, which will be very valuable to us in planning for our refurbishment over the next 12 months. We hope that you will visit us again at sometime in the future. Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The staff made our stay in this hotel special. From the minute we arrived everyone was courteous, attentive and helpful. We were celebrating our wedding Anniversary and found chocolates and a card in our room and we were given a complimentary glass of bubbly with our evening meal.
The Market Menu is very good value and the menu usually changes daily.
The breakfasts were very good, always arriving on piping hot plates!
The room was spacious and clean. The only slight niggle was that the shower temperature was a little temperamental and the air conditioning was sometimes very noisy.
It is very close to the centre of Stratford and the river but the hotel was quiet & restful.
We have stayed in several MacDonalds Hotels but to date this is our favourite. It may need a bit of refurbishmment in places but the staff made it a stay to remember.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay. The staff aspire to delivering excellent customer service, and it is always good to receive such positive comments. Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Although we liked this hotel, it did not offer its guests complimentary wi-fi. In this day and age with more and more people carrying internet capable devices I think it is a service that all hotels should be providing. We stayed in several other hotels, big and small, on our travels through England, Scotland and Ireland and the majority of them offer complimentary wi-fi.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bwdebeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

We take on board your comments about complimentary wi-fi and will pass them to the appropriate people at our Head Office. Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in August 2011. Hotel was lovely, 3 nights in the original Tudor part of the Hotel (Amazing) and one in the 'new extension' (lovely rooms, queen size beds). Staff very friendly, fantastic breakfasts. Ate in the restaurant one evening. Had 'early bird' menu and it was great value for money - wine was a bit over-priced. Extensive up-market main menu, something a bit different if you're adventurous!

Our room was at the front of the Hotel for 3 nights and was quiet even though we were near the main road - secondary glazing clearly worked. Moved to room at the back for one night as was there was wedding and staff didn't want anybody to be disturbed by the noise from the disco - very thoughtful. Room was good size, walk-in light up wardrobes, fridge, tea, coffee, kettle, biscuits, toiletries, big fluffy towels, complimentary slippers, bath robes and water. Fresh milk and ice on demand by simply ringing reception - appeared within 5 minutes every time. Plenty of parking - free for residents which is a bonus. Access to rear car park is restricted at night which means peace and quiet, no cars driving about.

Perhaps the best part was the location as it was only about 5 minutes walk over the River Avon to the centre of Stratford. As a Blue Badge holder I could manage it quite easily as it is all more or less on level ground. Theatres, shopping, restaurants etc. were just across the Bridge and it saved us a fortune in taxis as we could quite safely walk home after a leisurely dinner or stroll along the Avon.

Can't wait to go back again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Join MacDonalds loyalty club and you'll get a free upgrade if one is available. Ask for room in...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waltzingmatilda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,969 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,803 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £84 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing