We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The White Swan Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Stratford Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Arden Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Billesley Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Stratford, A QHotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,586)
Filter reviews
2,587 results
Traveller rating
696
804
593
314
180
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
696
804
593
314
180
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach houselovely hoteltown centrespa breakevening mealleisure facilitiesold buildingfour postershort breakwithin easy walking distancefew minutes walkafternoon teastayed for one nighta lovely staystratfordweddingcharacter
Filter
Updating list...
2,207 - 2,212 of 2,587 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This is the second time we have visited this hotel. It is situated on the south side of the bridge over the Avon and is very convenient for sight-seeing in Stratford or visiting the Theatre. It is an attractive building with welcoming staff. The corridors are a little 'tired' with worn carpets in places. The lounge/bar is very welcoming and comfortable. The Leisure centre is excellent with a large pool, gymnasium, steam room and sauna. It is within the main building. The restaurant provided excellent food [dinner and breakfast] although we felt that there should have been more staff to wait at table. The rooms were not particularly generous in terms of size but were comfortable. Prices are on the expensive side but special deals are often available on-line.

Room Tip: There are long corridors so it is best to ask for a room at the end of a corridor or you will be disturbed by the noise of passing guests.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppadoc5748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had a two night stay at this hotel. After the first night, we were woken on Sunday morning at 6.00am by appalling noise from the room above which went on for at least an hour. We were later informed by Reception that the room above was a regular booking for pilots and that they always arose at that time and would be doing the same the next morning! We were upgraded by the hotel to another room in the main hotel - above reception. Again we were awoken - at 6.45am this time - from noises down below!

Now on to the restaurant - definitely not to be recommended! The breakfast was fine; however, we had dinner in the restaurant on the Saturday evening. The Head Waiter was extremely rude and embarrassed us by arguing that we could not have the early bird dinner at 8.00pm as it was for one course only and had to be taken before 6.30pm - although we were told by reception that the early bird was two courses and that for earlier inconvenience we could have it at 8.00pm for the same price (£15 per head). After my husband complained about his appalling behaviour we were given the food and a complimentary bottle of wine on the house. However, damage already done cannot be undone. To add insult to injury, I ordered the lemon sole and was delivered with salmon - which I would not have ordered in the first place - apparently the sole had run out which the waiter failed to mention! I couldn't be bothered to send it back so my husband ate that and I had his duck. All in all, an experience not to be repeated - and the food itself was not to be recommended. One more gripe - TURN THE HEATING UP, THE PLACE IS FREEZING! After saying all that - thank you to the Reception staff, especially Nick, who were more than helpful.

Room Tip: Do not have a room on the ground floor - the noise overhead is terrible!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priddie766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed here last Saturday on a winter promotion deal priced at £134.25 for dinner, bed and breakfast in a double room and it was excellent value. The check in was very polite; we arrived at 10am and only intended to leave the car on the car park but our room was ready and we were able to check in. The room was plenty big enough, spotlessy clean and had a very comfy bed. We were charged £5 for the car parking but this was for all day Saturday, overnight and through Sunday if we wanted too, so I thought this was very good value. The drinks in the bar however were very expensive - £7 for a bottle of coke and a bottle of Peroni beer. The nibbles were a nice touch though. Dinner was from a special menu although you could order from the a la carte and pay supplements if you wished. We ordered from the special menu and the food was excellent. We also received a bottle of house wine which was included in the price; this hadn't been mentioned when I booked so was a nice surprise. The waiters were professional and friendly and the courses served at good intervals. Breakfast had a huge array of choices and a cooked full English too which was hot and tasty. It's a very short walk into Stratford, perfectly located. We ate at a bistro called Lamb's on Sheep Street for Saturday lunch and can highly recommend it - it was beautiful. We had every intention of using the hotel's swimming pool and steam room but didn't get round to it as we fell asleep on the very comfy bed instead! It was a fabulous weekend, excellent value and we will certainly stay here again and also some other MacDonald hotels based on this very positive experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoryRushden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Helpful and polite reception staff. Parking on site, which is a bonus in Stratford. The hotel is close to the town which allowed us to walk everywhere. The manor part of the building is amazing with the old timber frame exposed. Inside, there are carved oak doors and lots of panelling. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and we weren't really disturbed by any other guests. I thought the breakfast was expensive but being so close to town there are plenty of choices when it comes to eating.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearlsnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I stayed here in business in Jan 2012 and must say that both the service and the food were great! This cozy hotel is perfect for a winter getaway and is steeped in history. Great breakfast!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie-in-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews