We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing break.”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Myself and my wife have just returned from a couple of nights stay at the Alveston Manor on the Seasonal Promotion deal. We paid £238.50 for 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast which included a bottle of good quality house wine with dinner each evening. We arrived late morning and obtained a parking pass from reception which covered us for the 3 days of our stay. There is a charge for parking of £5 for the entire stay. The hotel is so near to Stratford that we did not have to use the car until we were ready to come home. There is a very good real ale pub (The Bear) directly opposite the hotel which is part of the Swan hotel (also a Mac Donald hotel). The food at breakfast and dinner was of a very high standard and the service from all the staff was exceptional. Our double room was very comfortable with a large double bed and powerful shower. The swimming pool, sauna and steam room were very clean and very welcome after being out in the near freezing conditiions walking round Stratford! All in all a very enjoyable break.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    743
    542
    295
    153
See reviews for
368
1,320
38
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed at the Alveston Manor for a night whilst in Stratford to go to the theatre. The hotel is conveniently located just over the bridge past Cox's Yard and in lovely grounds. Parking is available on- site for £5 a day, which seems a bit of a con since you're bound to park there!

Being our wedding anniversary, I had booked a 4-poster room in the main house which proved to be of good size and pleasantly furnished. Not extravagantly elegant or particularly noteworthy, but characterful and reasonable value. The floorboards creak a lot, so if you think this will be annoying, I'd suggest booking a room away from the main house! Also, the main building is adjacent to a busy main road and may prove an irritation for some travellers, especially light sleepers.

We walked into town for a meal in the evening so didn't eat in the restaurant until breakfast the following morning. Breakfast selection was good, standard fayre that set us up nicely for the day!

All staff that attended to us were very pleasant & the hotel has a nice swimming pool, which may be of value to travellers looking for a break from Shakespeare!

One other small point of niggle in addition to having to pay £5 a day carparking was the £2 charge added to our account for paying by credit card!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We would like to thank everyone who made the Keeling/Trow wedding such a memorable day.We were all made to feel very comfortable and nothing was too much trouble. We would like to thank Laura for her help organising the day and a very big thank you to Keith who stayed with us throughout the evening making sure the meal was perfect and guests did not want for anything. Thank you so much Keith. Our stay was wonderful and wedding party guests who stayed the evening all said the same. The rooms were lovely and the breakfast was the perfect meal to start the day. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for the perfect wedding venue.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22ann22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed at the Alveston for 2 nights to celebrate a friend's 50th. The hotel is in a great location just across the bridge from Stratford centre. The building is very impressive as you approach. The hotel itself is a little tired but it didn't away from our wonderful weekend. The biggest bonus to this hotel is it's STAFF. Nothing is too much trouble. They go out of there way to be helpful in every way. We had a great and memorable weekend. And it all looked in nicer in the snow. Thanks very much to all at the Alveston. You will see us again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed here on an evening we were booked to see The Merchant of Venice, and it was lovely, as was the pre theatre dinner with marvelous food and the sweet on our return. The RSC was equally as wonderful (breath taking actually with fine performances) and an easy wander across the bridge to the theatre

Room Tip: Book a room in the Old building not the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We had a fantastic weekend at Alveston Manor from 27-29 January. We had a double room for myself and wife and a twin for elderly mother in law.
The hotel looks great as you drive in and the interior does not disappoint. From the welcome at the reception desk to the moment of departure the staff were excellent and to my mind that greatly helps the experience.
The standard rooms were excellent. We requested downstairs rooms and thats what was waiting for us.We needed that for ease but there was a degree of noise from above which could be annoying. The rooms are in the newer part of the building but felt very in keeping with the rest of the hotel. Rooms very comfortable and well equipped.Corridors a liitle tired and in need of refurb.
The restaurant breakfast was superb and evening meals we had where off the market menu (table d'hote). Again excellent and you could upgrade to for a small charge.Staff especially Keith and Hannah first rate.
The leisure facilities again were very good with a well equipped gym and large pool.
The location is excellent for exploring Stratford and the surrounding area. Be aware of the £5 per night car parking for hotel guests ( seems common in Stratford but I'd rather they didnt charge for residents).
All told an excellent stay with no complaints from any of us.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms have the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen_royle845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This is the second time we have visited this hotel. It is situated on the south side of the bridge over the Avon and is very convenient for sight-seeing in Stratford or visiting the Theatre. It is an attractive building with welcoming staff. The corridors are a little 'tired' with worn carpets in places. The lounge/bar is very welcoming and comfortable. The Leisure centre is excellent with a large pool, gymnasium, steam room and sauna. It is within the main building. The restaurant provided excellent food [dinner and breakfast] although we felt that there should have been more staff to wait at table. The rooms were not particularly generous in terms of size but were comfortable. Prices are on the expensive side but special deals are often available on-line.

Room Tip: There are long corridors so it is best to ask for a room at the end of a corridor or you will be dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppadoc5748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,036 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,562 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing