We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My partner and I stayed here for two nights in April 2012 and paid 130 pounds a night. For that price it is an absolutely terrible deal. The hallways and bedrooms are extremely old and shabby. The staff are quite unhelpful and downright rude at times. We have stayed in many places in the UK for half the price that were twice the quality. There were weddings on both nights we were there and it was loud late into the night. Our room was dirty and there were stray hairs in the bathroom. I would advise other travellers to avoid this hotel at all costs unless you get a much more attractive rate and are simply looking for a place to sleep for the night. For travellers looking for anything more, you're better off looking elsewhere.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Al K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you were so disappointed with your stay, I can only say that is is very unusual for us to receive such negative feedback about our staff, who usually go out of their way to ensure that our guests have a good experence. We take on board your comments about the cleanliness of your room, no exxcuses, not acceptable and my Housekeeper joins in my apologies.
On a positive note, our bedroom refurbishment has now commenced and when completed will I am ensure greatly enhance our product. Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,051 - 2,057 of 2,456 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just spent a most enjoyable short break at the Alveston Manor. Comfortable clean room and very good service and food. Exceptional breakfast (especially the black pudding). Very well placed for walking into Stratford and places of interest there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groundhog51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay at the Alveston Manor, and hope to welcome you back in the future. Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Lovely hotel,delicious food but only one choice for vegetarians on the market menu,Good value for £15.00.Very clean and a good atmoshere.Lovely breakfast.The bar and lounge areas were very comfortable and all staff were courtious

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soulmatecornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you for posting your comments, delighted that you had such a good Easter break with us, we hope to see you again soon. Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This hotel was everything i expected it to be, travelled with husband and 7yr old. The food was excellent quality and varied. The room was clean and nicely furnished. The hotel building is magnificant, with its charming oldie worldie appeal. The bar and lounge areas were v.comfortable and all staff were courtious and couldn't do enough for you. In a central location it was lovely to walk across the road straight onto the canal and famous shakespere sights/sculptures. Will def visit again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that we lived up to expectations, we are certainly an excellent location for visiting all of the Stratford attractions. We look forward to seeing you again. Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

After staying at Alveston Manor in November 2011 and being very happy with the hotel but then having money taken out of my bank without my knowledge, I made a complaint to the management. They were very quick to respond, very apologetic, and understood my anger at the Spa staff. In my previous review I mentioned all this, so felt it only fair to report on our free of charge visit in January! As a Christmas gift for my future daughter in law's mother, I had promised a visit to Alveston Manor for her, my future daughter in law, myself and the same friend who came with me in November! We only had to pay for one room, as one room was given free of charge, and we also received a 50% reduction on all Spa treatments. All 4 of us had a one hour relaxing massage, so this in itself was a brilliant saving for us all, costing just £118 for all 4 of us! From the minute we arrived at the hotel, to the minute we left, everything was just wonderful! As requested we were given room 20 (my friend and I both have disabilities and struggle to walk!) and our friends had a room nearby. Unfortunately the second room was a double and not a twin as requested, so I went to reception and asked for a change. This was done immediately, and they were put in the room next door. This was not their fault as it had not been put onto the request from Options! They even sent a porter to move the bags! We all had our treatments in the afternoon, at different times, but it was wonderful! We enjoyed relaxing and chilling out, and in the evening went for a meal in the restaurant. This was absolutely divine! The service, the food, the ambience, everything was excellent! For the money the food was exquisite, and although the wines are a little on the expensive side, they are very nice! The service was at all times 100%! Breakfast on the Sunday morning was busy, but we were seated quickly and had a lovely filling breakfast, and were not rushed in any way. We took our time over breakfast and enjoyed a leisurely coffee afterwards! The only negative we found throughout the whole weekend was on departure. We left at 11, when it is 'kicking out time' and although we did not have anything to pay as we had paid as we went along, we had to queue to hand in our keys and for them to check there were no charges. Perhaps a 'quick checkout' might be a good idea for those of us who do not owe any money, as they have in other Macdonald hotels! A wonderful stay, attentive staff, lovely food, lovely atmosphere, can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: If you want to be near to amenities and cannot walk far, ask for rooms in the main building. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

It is always pleasing to receive a good comment, particularly after a previous poor experience. I am pleased that you had such a wonderful stay on this occasion. Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I recently took the kids to stay at Alveston Manor. We booked a family room, no breakfast, for £79. It is a central hotel with a super pool and a nice relaxed atmosphere. Check in was pleasant and the room was huge. We ate out and were mindful of our budget. For what we paid and the kind of break we wanted it - I'd recommend it.

Room Tip: The family room we had, which slept 3, was super spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My sister and I booked a one night spa break for my birthday. The spa facilities were disappointing sauna and steam room where average gym was nonexistent. The treatment and the evening meal were excellent, however we were woken up at 2am until 6am but loud noises in the room above we later found out that this was the air crew who have rooms there every night. When we complained to the reception they told us they had not had any complaints before ....however another reviewer has complained about the same issue.....go figure!!!! We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cpns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,003 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,826 reviews
4.0 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £84 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, LateRooms, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing