We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
i wana be in oz
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, Stratford-upon-Avon
Well appointed hotel in the centre of Stratford -on –Avon, walking
distance of shops bars etc and close to river.
All the staff throughout our stay were very friendly and helpful.
We only stopped for one night with friends on a birthday treat
weekend B/B and evening meal.
The Food was excellent /plenty of choice and the restaurant had
a very nice atmosphere.
Breakfast was a well set out buffet cereal /fruit /pastries Etc
and you ordered cooked breakfast by the waitress freshly cooked to order.
The room and public areas were clean comfortable and warm.
Could not fault anything during our stay and would recommend to anyone.
thank you to all the staff.

we had read some of the reviews.
ian paisley
no mixer tap but burnt hand several times?
tea tray hidden away but must have found it ?
car park did you ask at time of booking?
may be you should stay at home.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you so much for your great positive comments about the Alveston Manor, particularly about the staff who go out of their way to ensure that our guests have a good experience. We hope that you will come and visit us again. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    753
    547
    299
    160
See reviews for
375
1,342
39
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Ideal location and a great looking building. Nice garden and decent food. I think it just has to be updated as it feels tired and realise that it can't rely on the Straford Tourist trade. Could be great.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your comments, the refurbishment of our bedrooms has now commenced and I am sure that this will greatly enhance our product. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

- No mixer tap provided on bathroom handbasin and as a result scorched my hand a number of times
- Tea and coffee making facilities were hidden away in a cupboard below TV
- Car parking fees were not clearly made aware at the time of booking
- No roof safe/ secure deposit box was provided in the room, totally unacceptable
- Pillows were too soft and there were no spare pillows in cupboards provided making sleeping impossible
- Room telephone was a very old model with limited functionality, particularly poor for a 5 star
- Radiator valves in room were switched off and the room was freezing through the night until we found the problem ourselves
- Air conditioning thermostat was not functioning correctly making the room very uncomfortable
- Shower mixer was not working and only supplied scorching hot water making washing very difficult indeed

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your comments, we can only apologise that you were so disappointed with your visit to the four star Alveston Manor Hotel. We take on board your comments and will pass them to the appropriate people, as they will be very helpful in the forthcoming refurbishment of our bedrooms and bathrooms. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for two nights in April 2012 and paid 130 pounds a night. For that price it is an absolutely terrible deal. The hallways and bedrooms are extremely old and shabby. The staff are quite unhelpful and downright rude at times. We have stayed in many places in the UK for half the price that were twice the quality. There were weddings on both nights we were there and it was loud late into the night. Our room was dirty and there were stray hairs in the bathroom. I would advise other travellers to avoid this hotel at all costs unless you get a much more attractive rate and are simply looking for a place to sleep for the night. For travellers looking for anything more, you're better off looking elsewhere.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Al K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you were so disappointed with your stay, I can only say that is is very unusual for us to receive such negative feedback about our staff, who usually go out of their way to ensure that our guests have a good experence. We take on board your comments about the cleanliness of your room, no exxcuses, not acceptable and my Housekeeper joins in my apologies.
On a positive note, our bedroom refurbishment has now commenced and when completed will I am ensure greatly enhance our product. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just spent a most enjoyable short break at the Alveston Manor. Comfortable clean room and very good service and food. Exceptional breakfast (especially the black pudding). Very well placed for walking into Stratford and places of interest there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groundhog51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay at the Alveston Manor, and hope to welcome you back in the future. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Lovely hotel,delicious food but only one choice for vegetarians on the market menu,Good value for £15.00.Very clean and a good atmoshere.Lovely breakfast.The bar and lounge areas were very comfortable and all staff were courtious

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulmatecornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for posting your comments, delighted that you had such a good Easter break with us, we hope to see you again soon. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This hotel was everything i expected it to be, travelled with husband and 7yr old. The food was excellent quality and varied. The room was clean and nicely furnished. The hotel building is magnificant, with its charming oldie worldie appeal. The bar and lounge areas were v.comfortable and all staff were courtious and couldn't do enough for you. In a central location it was lovely to walk across the road straight onto the canal and famous shakespere sights/sculptures. Will def visit again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that we lived up to expectations, we are certainly an excellent location for visiting all of the Stratford attractions. We look forward to seeing you again. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,075 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,676 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing