We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice position, nice frontage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The hotel occupies a position in easy walking distance to the centre of Stratford. Staff were in most instances friendly and welcoming, only met one going through the robotic welcome routine.... Rooms of reasonable size for the tariff and superficially clean. Fridge and air-con in room. Parking is free as long as you register at reception and get a stamped ticket. WiFi also free if you're a BT openreach customer, otherwise tokens have to be purchased at a price which is a bit of a swizz.
Breakfast was excellent, but would recommend ordering the 'special' rather than the self serve which seemed to constantly be running out of scambled eggs , mushrooms etc..
Bad points; bathroom not getting periodic deep cleans.. black mould visible under sink when in bath, extractor blocked with a wide variety of insects etc...
The large annex on the back of the hotel is very 1960's Crossroads.. but at least this area gets you well away from the constant stream of weddings the hotel holds throughout the summer.
I'll never understand why wedding guests aren't billeted well away from other customers... Outdoor housekeeping was poor, a bloke with a blower blowing the canapes and half eaten chicken wings under the bushes, resulting in the area being very popular with the vermin from the nearby river.
Drink was also horrendously expensive, 335ml of Speckled Hen; £4.25, 2 glasses of house white; £24.00!!
Barfood was expensive and only occupied a small corner of the large 12" plates they were served on which in turn barely fitted on the small tables in the bar. Though I'm sure the free range hand reared pork sausages would be popular with the tourists, you don't see that many sausages let out of doors...

Room Tip: Although it's a long walk, get a room as far away from reception as possible, near the pool, to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernleyfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,009 - 2,015 of 2,458 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

Spent two nights here and quickly wished I'd booked somewhere else. Charged extra just for parking the car, rooms were small and had an unpleasant aroma upon entering. Breakfast was great though and the breakfast staff were very attentive - shame the same couldn't be said of the rest of the staff. Bar prices a ridiculous - even for a hotel.

2 rating for the breakfast - 0 rating for value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MR0181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stopped here for 2 nights in August and had high expectations of the hotel , sadly these were not lived up to. Upon checking in to room 24 , after a long car journey I needed to use the facilities. Upon doing so I was disgusted to find human excrement on the toilet roll in our room. Quickly wanting to wash my hands I found the hot water tap wasn't working at all. We went to reception and they quickly moved us to room 27 ( no apology, and she didn't seem perturbed that human waste was found) . Room 27 was a disabled room which oddly was smaller than the first room and unfortunately for us was directly across from the laundrette. So noise was a big part of our weekend. We also got woke up during the early hours of the morning by guests coming home (2/3 am) so not a great nights sleep . The service during breakfast was pathetic , the "express service " where you could help yourself to a cooked breakfast was almost empty when we first sat down, so after having fruit/cereal and over 30 mins later we expected it to have been replenished , we were wrong . We informed a member of staff who said it was going to be replenished , so we waited . After another 30 minutes we gave up the wait . They charge £17.50 each for the fiasco that is breakfast . I have travelled all over the world and have never witnessed service so poor. We joked that we could have walked in to Stratford to buy a breakfast and come back to our table quicker than they could have served us. All in all a very ,very poor hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Go_green2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We had a great weekend in Stratford and thoroughly enjoyed the Alveston Manor.

Breakfast was good - Overall loved the hotel - only thing missing was the jacuzzi - apart from that cant fault it!!

The location is fantastic, it's a five minute walk over the bridge and you are right in the town centre. Superb.

£5 parking for the two nights stay - don't mind that at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for one night as a romantic getaway. Upon arrival we were greeted in reception quickly and given the card to our room.

ROOM:
It was a bit of a trek to the room so if you have a lot of luggage I'd imagine this would be a bit of a pain but we only had the one suitcase between us and so this wasn't too bad. However, upon arrival to our room we discovered we'd been given a room with twin beds despite requesting a double room when booking. We went back down to reception to inform them and the receptionist apologised and immediately changed us to a double room. We had left our suitcase in the twin room when we came back down to save us carrying it however there no was offer to fetch the case and take it to the new room so we had to trek all the way to the twin room, grab our suitcase and then walk up two flights of stairs to find the new room which I did find a bit off. The room itself was lovely, clean and well equipped so no complaints there.

RESTUARANT:
After unpacking we decided to grab some lunch downstairs before heading out to the main high street for an explore. However when we did get downstairs we realised we couldn't sit in the outside area as there was a wedding reception being prepared which was a little disappointing. We ended up deciding to eat out in the town as we found the lunch menu far too expensive. As for the dinner menu, both the food and the wine was absolutely delicious. We had two waiters attending to us during our meal who both couldn't have been friendlier and more knowledgable and made our meal that much more pleasant.We very very much enjoyed our evening.

The only complaint I would have is that during the meal a hen party arrived for dinner. They were sat a little way away from us but the more the wine flowed the louder they became, endless shrieking and giggling and shouting down the table to one another. I'm all for a good time, but in this instance my partner and I were looking for a quiet relaxing evening and we both found this pretty irritating and disruptive at times. Surely there must be a seperate room for these occasions or the staff could have asked them to keep it down a little?

BREAKFAST:
We fancied a lie in so we requested we have breakfast bought to our room in the morning for an extra charge of £3.00. You get a good selection on what you would like for both food and drinks and the meal was bought up displayed very nicely.

LOCATION:
The location is fantastic, it's a two minute walk over the bridge and you are right in the town centre, so nothing but positive things to say about that.

STAFF:
As mentioned the two waiters at dinner were brilliant and really chatted to you and made you feel welcome and relaxed. The lady at reception seemed a little 'off' at first but after that, was very smiley, friendly and as we checked out was making sure we'd enjoyed our stay etc.

As we weren't there long we didnt get chance to visit the swimming pool/spa/gym unfortunately.

Would definitely recommend this hotel, lovely stay, would come again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachVictoria1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Typical hotel trick of beautiful frontage with crappy tired motel style rooms out back. More like a 2 star motel than a 4 star hotel. Feel a bit ripped off as nOt cheap and could have stayed somewhere much nicer for same amount.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TanaMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Booked courtesy of Tesco! Hotel upon first pulling up is full of old charm and character; looks fabulous, in the original part of the hotel the character is splendid although the new section doesn't have this, but hey ho.

Breakfast was fabulous every day, waiter served although for those wanting a quick brekkie there was the choice of self serve. Plenty of choice, except one day when they had had a rush on and we were a little late.

Had one meal in the hotel, the food was fabulous and the attentiveness of the head waiter was brilliant who could not do enough to help to ensure you had a lovely meal. We hadn't booked an outside table (yes the weather was good!!) but he went out of his way to organise for us. Nothing like eating outside in Summer.

The gym was fabulous and very clean with good quality equipment.

So close to the town, just a small walk and you are there. Would definitely stay again if in this area.

Room Tip: We had a room at the book (in the newer part) - bonus was it was close to the gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,004 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,833 reviews
4.0 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £83 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing