We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Booked a night to celebrate wife's birthday and before we have our first child in 4 weeks, so paid a bit extra for a four poster suite, well if you ever stay, ensure you are not in room 8, directly above the bar / seating area, complained at midnight but didn't get to sleep until 2am!!
Had a lovely evening meal in the restaurant and breakfast was nice too, great location, shame about the noise, won't stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 366,854,533,727,468,357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,805 - 1,811 of 2,468 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel really does have an excellent location only a few minutes walk from all the "Baird Action". My wife and I stopped for two nights whilst attending a nearby event, so it was doubled up as a romatic get away. The hotel enjoys a spectacular facade, and the information book in the room lays out an amazing trek through history. Because the hotel has grown so much over the years there are small flights of stairs and a labrynth like layout which will catch people out and cause problems for people with mobility issues. The rooms were clean and well presented with aircon, plenty of TV channels and free wifi. The bed was comfy and the curtains provided excellent blackout to aid a good nights sleep. there were no bath robes which I thought would have been a standard feature in a hotel of this level. Both my wife and I failed to get on with the pillows and the second morning we both had neck ache. The restuarant sounded very nice but the prices put us off and we ate out in the plethora of local eateries within easy walking distance. Breakfast was fairly typical, althought first morning we didn't see any "baked goods" croissants etc, and all the white bread was poppy sead bread -including the toast and fried bread. Do heed the warning signs about breakfast getting packed out, we were in as it opened both mornings and I was suprised how quickly it filled up. The staff were all very helpful, although a strange thing happened as we checked in, having parked in their pay and display car park, and read the sign saying parking was free for hotel guests. The young lady checking up in went to great length to explain how there was a £5 parking charge for our stay, which left us with a "cheapskates" feelling, when we checked out we were not charged a parking fee, and were then left wondering if it was a staff member trying some free enterprise.

Room Tip: the corridors are quite narrow and creaky, with plenty of small stairs around, room 111 was at a dea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spexmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at this hotel and found the hotel to be fine if a little jaded around the edges. The room was very clean and had Air Conditioning but it really does need a lick of paint as it had yellowed and in the bathroom the tiling wasn't very good . The swimming pool was fantastic and very clean. I was very surprised at the high bar prices and after getting my bill i can now understand why the bar was empty. There are plenty of parking spaces and whilst they charge £5 to park it's understandable being so close to the town centre. The grounds are excellent and it really was nice to sit outside. I think that with a little investment this could be an absolutely fantastic hotel as it's location and architecture is perfect for Stratford.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here as part of a bus tour. This is a hotel that grew around an old manor house, so there are lots of small steps to get to the bedrooms. Reception service was poor -- they were focused on catering to a wedding the night we stayed. The bar service was good, and the bar area was warm and inviting. Breakfast service was slow and inefficient. However the location was just on the edge of the theatre and shops area, very easy to walk to everthing, yet far enough removed to avoid any noise. Free wifi in lobby and bar area but iffy in the evenings.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor, as you rightly say the Alveston Manor is in an excellent location on the outskirts of the town, but within 5 minutes walking distance of the town centre, Royal Shakespeare Theatre and many other attractions. Our sincere apologies if you experienced poor service at reception on the evening of your stay and at breakfast the following morning; I have discussed your comments with the departments concerned so that improvements can be made, but assure you that they do not reflect our usual high level of customer care.
Thank you again and I hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future. Sam Aziz, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights. If you have some idea that there ought to be a person at the front desk at least most of the time, think again. At check-in, and every other time we needed any assistance, including check-out, it was consistently a hunting expedition to find anyone to help us. Calling the front desk was of no help whatsoever, as nobody ever picked up the telephone on multiple tries at at various times during what one would consider normal business hours.

We chose this hotel and paid a premium because it looked charming. The look is deceiving, as almost all rooms are in far-flung wings that are modern and charmless. They might as well have been in a budget hotel. Getting to your room is an adventure of twists and turns, long distances and many many stairs, some of which, in a relatively modern building, are mid-hallway. It was a mystery. Go figure. There is no elevator. If you have any mobility issues, good luck. You are also unlikely to get any assistance.

There are, for example, a few handicapped spaces in the parking lot, but you can count on your room being at least 3-4 times the walk from spaces to the front of the hotel.

I recommend staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: I'm frankly not sure there are any good rooms. If you have issues with lugging bags up many stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaryK104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Excellent grounds and location but very tired to the extent that warm water comes out of cold taps.
It can be difficult to book a table in the restaurant for an evening meal, apparently very busy but hardly any tables in use due to staff shortages, probably planned that way by management to reduce costs of peak? Although the evening meals were good.
Breakfast, good selection but reheating used extensively so not fresh, done to reduce costs again?
All staff very friendly and helpful, Lions led by donkeys?
Nowhere near as good as the management think it is.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithy019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The front of the hotel is very beautiful but the inside is old and tired. We had to wander down several wings and ended up in what I would compare to a motel 6 in the states...chipped furniture, a mattress that was so old, you rolled to the middle and felt like you couldn't get out, old stained carpet, just extremely tired and in need of a makeover! The website certainly does not portray the hotel as it really is!! So glad we only booked for one night!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,391 reviews
4.0 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,776 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £89 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing