We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive pub meal” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
cheltenham uk
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Expensive pub meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I had booked this "hotel" about a month ago for a very special birthday luncheon. We were directed to an overflow car park and obliged to pay £5 as were staying there for more than 2 hours. Checked what it said on the parking meter, to make sure this was correct, it did say we could get £1 back. Spoke to a very curt male receptionist about this "parking money" he coldly pointed out that we should have seen signs saying to book into the hotel first. I checked this was not pointed out on the machine, the sign saying about checking in was some distance away. Some welcome! When I said I had booked for lunch the two receptionist glanced at each other and said nothing. When my family arrived I asked to go to the dining room for our pre booked lunch, to our amazement we were told the dining room did not open for lunch on Saturdays and they could not find our booking. Reluctantly we settled for a bar lunch, a limited menu, my 7 yr old grandson could have eaten my husband's fish and chips in a couple of mouthfuls. Two small tables were put together, chairs had to be change as we did not want to eat of our laps. Is it normal to have to share lunch with 8 bedraggled people in dressing gowns in a 4* hotel? We did get the £5 charge back but this issue should never have arisen. The Alveston Manor managed to ruin our celebrations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to discuss the matter with me over the telephone, and I would reiterate my apologies for any confusion with your lunch book and for any shortfall in customer service on arrival at the hotel. I hope that we have addressed the matter to your satisfaction and that we are able to welcome you back to the Alveston Manor at sometime in the future.
Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    722
    528
    283
    149
See reviews for
355
1,281
36
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

we waited years to visit. when we were young it was too expensive, but now our time came and we booked a four poster room (2). First surprise - you have to pay to park. then a queue at reception- with just one receptionist whilst other staff looked on from the office.
generally corridors in the old part of the building grubby and dark. old and dirty not characterful.
The rooms a bit the same. chipped paint, cracked floor tiles in bathroom, broken window with sharp glass i bathroom, dirty and calcified bath with mould and dirty grouting to tiles, and mould on main room windows where it would have taken more than a quick wipeover to clean (see pics)
Then its a wedding hotel and a family reunion was taking place in the bar (beneath this room) til the early hours.
Breakfast was crowded. why does a kipper cost 2.50 more than a full english - and where else would you have to sign for the extra before they let you have it!
altogether a shabby place, trading on its position, and nothing like other macdonald properties i've stayed in.
there's lots of hotels in stratford - i'd give this one a miss when i go next.

Room Tip: avoid room 2 - and i think 1 is probably also above the bar. stay in the new wing- no character but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxontraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, and I am sorry if your visit to the hotel did not live up to expectations. Our car park is operated by a third party in order to provide a safe and secure environment in which our guests can park, we do keep the charge to a minimum £5 per stay.
We take on board your comments about the room and I have personally reviewed room 2 with the Head Housekeeper and Maintenance Manager, so that any necessary action may be taken. Considerable investment has recently been made in the property, with many improvements made to the exterior of the building, public areas of the hotel are now being upgraded, and redecoration throughout the hotel is ongoing.
Our apologies that you were disappointed, and I hope that you will allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves at sometime in the future.
Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Perfectly located in the centre of town and with character and history and by the bucket load this place should be a real gem but sadly the state of the bedrooms lets it down.

The reception and bar area are lovely (chintzy and charming) but lovely no the less. The bedrooms while clean and in a good state of repair are very very dated. Mine appeared as though it had not seen any form of decorative upgrade for about 20 years. The corridors were very worn with threadbare carpets and scuffed walls.

Breakfast is done the old fashioned way and is made to order which is great if you're not in a rush. I wasn't hugely impressed with my burnt toast and overly vinegar tasting poached eggs but my travelling companion faired much better.

On the plus side the bed was super comfortable, though that wouldn't be enough to tempt me back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs_p81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buurnley
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

A beautiful hotel set in lovely grounds and just a stones throw from the town of Stratford upon Avon.

The main reception and dining areas are all in the old manor itself and the food is excellent with a wide variety of choice all the staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome.

Although there are rooms in the manor ours was in a very discreet annex at the rear and I must say it was very comfortable and accommodated all our needs, We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Very helpful staff and excellent food at this MacDonald hotel 5 minutes walk from central Stratford. Spa beauticians were all superb - my only complaint is that there was nowhere to eat in the spa itself, so a shame to have to get dressed and go to the bar rather than stay relaxing in our dressing gowns.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSpeake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent the weekend at Alveston Manor which we just selected off google and it was our third choice but I think on reflection it was just as well the other two were booked. A lovely hotel with superb food, extremely pleasant and helpful staff and within walking distance of Stratford upon Avon town. Would def rebook this hotel if staying in or near Stratford again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennington, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The hotel is very conveniently situated, with easy pedestrian access to the town, and the building is rather attractive. However, the mattresses were the old fashioned type with jabby springs, the curtains and general decor looks as if it hasn't been changed in 50 years, and the service is average. The breakfast is good, but the organisation is somewhat chaotic. Over all a bit mediocre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
4.0 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing