We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girlie spa weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Girlie spa weekend”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I have just returned from a special deal to this hotel for a spa weekend. The deal included a bottle of bubbles, Dinner, Breakfast and a spa treatment... This was a treat for my beautiful daughter, who actually came away even more beautiful after her treatments...if that's possible! I have to say the experience was an absolute pleasure from when we first arrived. Yes...the place is a little tired in places but the staff are wonderful, the spa and treatments amazing and dinner was exceptional for the price paid. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short luxury break, and you are only a few minutes walk into the town..... I feel thoroughly spoiled and pampered....just what a break like this should do....... Thankyou! :0)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such generous comments, I am delighted that you and your daughter had such an enjoyable and relaxing break with us. I will ensure that your feedback is shared with all those concerned. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    754
    547
    299
    160
See reviews for
376
1,342
39
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Tourists will love the history and architecture of this hotel. With heaps of interesting facts from yesteryear, fine decor, excellent food, comfortable bedrooms, a superb health spa, and within very close walking distance of the the local attractions that Stratford upon Avon has to offer, guests will not be disappointed. The lack of my 5th star, was simply down to an administration error that was not rectified by reception, so I lost out on the use of a voucher. Other than that, I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Unfortunately, all bedrooms have very noisy closing doors, so the less thoughtful guests can be ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigger193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback, it is always good to receive such positive comments and I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Visited this hotel in March, had an enjoyable break so decided to return. The hotel does need a bit of redecoration, but could not fault the cleanliness. Would not like to pick out just one member of staff as all who we dealt with were extremely friendly and helpful. We ate at the hotel on both nights of our stay and the food as before was absolutely delicious and very competitively priced. Would have no hesitation in returning if visiting Stratford again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is centrally situated and a short walk from the RSC theatres which is a bonus. Unfortunately this hotel needs an uplift in decor,although main rooms were old and nice, once you walked down the labyrinth of corridors the decor was very tired. Our room was quiet,comfortable but dull in decor and lighting. The bathroom was light, bright and well appointed. The staff at the hotel were all very obliging and pleasant. The restaurant had a lovely view of the grounds and the gardens front and back which were well kept and delightful. The food in the restaurant sadly was very mediocre - we had fish and chips for dinner that had a tasty batter but unfortunately the chunky chips were hard and uncoooked, although I pointed this out to the waitress she did not offer to provide me with another portion. However there are quite a few good restaurants reasonably priced and located a short walk away for lunch and dinner.
Another problem we found was that when we booked our short break we emphased that we wanted to have several spa treatments, which we were assured were available for our stay and in fact our room was next to the entrance to the spa. We booked one massage and were told that we could book the others when we arrived ! When we arrived we were told that they were fully booked but we could book the day after next as there was plenty of room - alas we were leaving that day ! We were also surprised to note that there was NO display of the tarriff for all the treatments available, either in the hotel or in the spar itself and the female staff in the spa also had a very offhand manner - this was a downside to our stay but we would add that for a short break if one was not bothered by the spa, one could have a comfortable room and surroundings and be centrally located for he RSC and all delightful amenities that Stratford upon avon have to offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor, as you rightly say the Alveston Manor is in an excellent location for visiting Stratford and surrounding area. Macdonald Hotels are currently investing in the hotel, and a considerable amount of work has already been carried out, with upgrading of the grounds, external signage and externa paintwork. Work has commenced on the public areas of the hotel including the lounge, bar areas and corridors, and this will continue in the foreseeable future. Apologies for any shortfall the quality of your evening meal, it is unusual for us to receive negative comments about the food and this has been highlighted to the Head Chef.
Our Spa is always very busy, and particularly at weekends, I am sorry that this was not made clear to you at the time of booking, we would recommend that Spa Treatments are booked in advance to avoid disappointment.
Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights, having made our travel plans at the last minute. The location is very good - close to the town centre and within easy walking distance of the RSC and the bars / reataurants etc, As others have said, we did pay £5 for the car park and, whilst unwelcome, I didn't find it a big deal. The hotel has a kind of faded charm, but the rooms were fine and quiet. The restaurant food was very reasonable and the breakfasts excellent and the service was very good. There is a well-stocked and very comfortable bar area and very pleasant bar staff. The free wifi (provided, or not !) by the Cloud was not up to much, but all in all, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiretours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham uk
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I had booked this "hotel" about a month ago for a very special birthday luncheon. We were directed to an overflow car park and obliged to pay £5 as were staying there for more than 2 hours. Checked what it said on the parking meter, to make sure this was correct, it did say we could get £1 back. Spoke to a very curt male receptionist about this "parking money" he coldly pointed out that we should have seen signs saying to book into the hotel first. I checked this was not pointed out on the machine, the sign saying about checking in was some distance away. Some welcome! When I said I had booked for lunch the two receptionist glanced at each other and said nothing. When my family arrived I asked to go to the dining room for our pre booked lunch, to our amazement we were told the dining room did not open for lunch on Saturdays and they could not find our booking. Reluctantly we settled for a bar lunch, a limited menu, my 7 yr old grandson could have eaten my husband's fish and chips in a couple of mouthfuls. Two small tables were put together, chairs had to be change as we did not want to eat of our laps. Is it normal to have to share lunch with 8 bedraggled people in dressing gowns in a 4* hotel? We did get the £5 charge back but this issue should never have arisen. The Alveston Manor managed to ruin our celebrations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to discuss the matter with me over the telephone, and I would reiterate my apologies for any confusion with your lunch book and for any shortfall in customer service on arrival at the hotel. I hope that we have addressed the matter to your satisfaction and that we are able to welcome you back to the Alveston Manor at sometime in the future.
Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

oxfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

we waited years to visit. when we were young it was too expensive, but now our time came and we booked a four poster room (2). First surprise - you have to pay to park. then a queue at reception- with just one receptionist whilst other staff looked on from the office.
generally corridors in the old part of the building grubby and dark. old and dirty not characterful.
The rooms a bit the same. chipped paint, cracked floor tiles in bathroom, broken window with sharp glass i bathroom, dirty and calcified bath with mould and dirty grouting to tiles, and mould on main room windows where it would have taken more than a quick wipeover to clean (see pics)
Then its a wedding hotel and a family reunion was taking place in the bar (beneath this room) til the early hours.
Breakfast was crowded. why does a kipper cost 2.50 more than a full english - and where else would you have to sign for the extra before they let you have it!
altogether a shabby place, trading on its position, and nothing like other macdonald properties i've stayed in.
there's lots of hotels in stratford - i'd give this one a miss when i go next.

Room Tip: avoid room 2 - and i think 1 is probably also above the bar. stay in the new wing- no character but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxontraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, and I am sorry if your visit to the hotel did not live up to expectations. Our car park is operated by a third party in order to provide a safe and secure environment in which our guests can park, we do keep the charge to a minimum £5 per stay.
We take on board your comments about the room and I have personally reviewed room 2 with the Head Housekeeper and Maintenance Manager, so that any necessary action may be taken. Considerable investment has recently been made in the property, with many improvements made to the exterior of the building, public areas of the hotel are now being upgraded, and redecoration throughout the hotel is ongoing.
Our apologies that you were disappointed, and I hope that you will allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves at sometime in the future.
Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,081 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,682 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing