We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Poor restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - Poor restaurant”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This was the first time I have stayed in this hotel and I was very impressed. From the moment you walk in it is a very warming place. The room we stayed in was excellent very clean and had a bottle of wine in there waiting for us, the staff were very friendly and it had a nice pool, sauna and gym to relax in. I would go back!
The problems and there were a few. The first was with dinner. The service was extremely bad. We had to wait 30 minutes for our order to be taken and had to wait an extra 10 minutes for our bottle of wine!!! A 40 minute wait for a food and drink order, and there was only 11 people in the restaurant!!! I was extremely disappointed in this. There was no explanation or no apology either which I thought was rude to. This was the same for the other 3 or 4 tables around us. The amount of complaints from that night must be looked into. The food was AMAZING!!!
The next issue was the room location. The one problem we had with the room was there was a fan of some sort outside the window which kept us up all night. I would recommend that if you stay in one of the rooms which face the front car park you would want to move. It would have also been nice if the hotel told us about this at reception.
On the whole an OK stay, however I hope that the restaurant service improves. I would recommend this hotel to stay. Just make sure you check the room you stay in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anil492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    743
    542
    295
    153
See reviews for
368
1,320
38
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed on the 27 th of oct for one night with my friend and can not believe how bad our stay was..
Room 22 was ok, nothing special, service in the bar was slow and sometimes nonexistent, in fact we waited at the bar and a member of staff walked in and out the bar area and completely ignored us, a simple 'will be with you in a minute' would have been nice! In the evening after our meal, went back to the bar to order a couple of champagne cocktails and was met by a 'bar man' who informed us the till wasn't working and so we couldn't pay cash, so in order for us to have our drinks my friend needed to show photo ID! Really? We wasn't happy about the service once again but went along with it just so we could have a drink, 20 mins later, someone else bought a drink and paid cash, we asked if the till was working and the bar man said yes, so we paid for our drinks that we ordered earlier, unfortunately for us, the bar man didn't update the payment on the system and my friend was charged for these again on checking out, she did question it but got confused and paid, again!! I have emailed the hotel,twice about this, but they haven't even bothered to reply.. 4star hotel indeed, rip off hotel with lazy staff.. Can't believe they are allowed to get away with this.. There are so many better hotels in the area, and if I were you I would book one of them. This hotel lacks customer service of any kind...

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on this hotel, better ones in the area and cheaper....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor, I am sorry that you left the Alveston Manor Hotel with such a poor impression, and would assure you that the service you experienced does not reflect our usual high standard of customer care. Our sincere apologies for any shortfall in our standards of service in the bar during your visit.
If you contact me personally, I will be pleased to discuss any issues with your bill, we have unfortunately been unable to trace your e-mails and can only apologise for any lack of response.
Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed for two nights (Friday and Saturday) to attend a function at the Hotel.
The room was clean, warm and well appointed. Ample hot water.
There was a little noise from the ajoining room but other than that no issues.
Would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Well spread out on two floors with long corridors. Did not see a lift but there may be one. Try for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avwhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was our fourth visit to the alveston manor and I must admit that the superior room that we booked was looking a little tired. The bath was chipped and although very clean the whole place could do with a refurb. The breakfast was very nice but I felt that it is a bit money grabbing to charge extra for fish and eggs Benedict. The evening dinner was quite nice but there are so many lovely restaurants nearby that we only ate there the once. The staff are very helpful and when we had a lightbulb out it was replaced immediately. I thought that the £5 to park the car was unnecessary as we had never paid it when we stayed on previous occasions. All in all the location of the hotel is excellent as it is just across the river to shops ,bars and restaurants and is particularly nice in the winter months as the lounge and bar areas are very cosy it just needs some money spent on it.

Room Tip: I like staying in the old part of the building as it really has character
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElainePatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I have just returned from a special deal to this hotel for a spa weekend. The deal included a bottle of bubbles, Dinner, Breakfast and a spa treatment... This was a treat for my beautiful daughter, who actually came away even more beautiful after her treatments...if that's possible! I have to say the experience was an absolute pleasure from when we first arrived. Yes...the place is a little tired in places but the staff are wonderful, the spa and treatments amazing and dinner was exceptional for the price paid. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short luxury break, and you are only a few minutes walk into the town..... I feel thoroughly spoiled and pampered....just what a break like this should do....... Thankyou! :0)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such generous comments, I am delighted that you and your daughter had such an enjoyable and relaxing break with us. I will ensure that your feedback is shared with all those concerned. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Tourists will love the history and architecture of this hotel. With heaps of interesting facts from yesteryear, fine decor, excellent food, comfortable bedrooms, a superb health spa, and within very close walking distance of the the local attractions that Stratford upon Avon has to offer, guests will not be disappointed. The lack of my 5th star, was simply down to an administration error that was not rectified by reception, so I lost out on the use of a voucher. Other than that, I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Unfortunately, all bedrooms have very noisy closing doors, so the less thoughtful guests can be ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigger193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback, it is always good to receive such positive comments and I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Visited this hotel in March, had an enjoyable break so decided to return. The hotel does need a bit of redecoration, but could not fault the cleanliness. Would not like to pick out just one member of staff as all who we dealt with were extremely friendly and helpful. We ate at the hotel on both nights of our stay and the food as before was absolutely delicious and very competitively priced. Would have no hesitation in returning if visiting Stratford again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,847 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,701 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,558 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing