We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent New Year Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Alveston Manor is brilliantly situated - a stones throw from the town itself. We arrived on 30th December to find a lovely spacious and well equipped room, after having a swift, efficient and welcoming check-in. We stayed 3 nights, choosing to spend New Years Eve in the restaurant, rather than with others in the function room with dinner/dance. It was exactly the same menu in both, excellent food and service. (Those to whom we spoke next day said that they had had a lovely time at the dinner/dance) Wonderful breakfasts, beautifully cooked and presented. The staff 'go the extra mile' to make your stay enjoyable, everyone was helpful and respectful. We did not use the spa facilities but they looked really good. The hotel is extremely clean and tidy in all respects and we particularly noticed this. Checkout was easy and we were even given a bottle of water each - for our journey home! Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - they succeeded at every stage. Well done to the administration and other staff at Alveston Manor.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,754 - 1,760 of 2,469 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our experience was just wonderful! We visited with relatives for the hotel's New Year's Eve event and had a great time. Firstly our room was fabulous (Room 72), it was large, spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, good quality linens, controllable heat, etc. The event itself was great fun - delicious meal, fun people, just the right number, good music and so on. Breakfast was served until noon, giving us the opportunity to rest up and enjoy the morning and work up an appetite for the meal. Most importantly, the staff were superb on the reception, at the party and finally housekeeping. I left a brand new pair of earrings in the room safe. They were found and are now on the way back to me. We would highly recommend the hotel and will most certainly go back.
Unfortunately, didn't have time to experience the spa.
I stay in hotels at least twice a month and this level of service is extremely rare.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a superior room and it was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent feedback, I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time over the New Year period, and thank you for your kind comments about the staff. I do hope that we can welcome you back in the not too distant future. Sam Aziz, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My family of 4 spent 5 nights over Christmas at the hotel. That period is always pressured and we could not speak more highly of the hotel team. They all worked tirelessly throughout our stay and their smiles never dropped. We were given as good a Christmas break as you could want. The ambience was excellent - pretty rooms, nice decorations etc. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel as part of a Christmas present for my girlfriend and I must say it didn't disappoint! I booked their winter spa break which included a suite, 1 hour full body massage and breakfast. Full use of the spa facilities and gym was included too however I didn't use these.

On checking in we were offered an upgrade to a feature room which are based in the roof of the very old and beautiful building. The room was beautiful and went down well with the girlfriend too! The staff at the hotel were great too! We decided to take the hotel dinner deal which meant we paid £20 and got the full three course experience in the manor restaurant. The food was lovely and I definitely recommend eating here if staying.

Over all and wonderful time was had and at a great hotel! Will definitely return!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such positive feedback, which I will share with those concerned. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable break with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. Sam Aziz, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Good: business opportunity, size, pool, frontal, ok rooms
Poor: night porter/manager - cocky and unfunny attitude; mini-bar empty; breakfast staff very unprofessional, talking, chatting, folding etc in public, and they also have an annoying regime of talking your breakfast order 10 mins after your tea and cold toast arrives; needs redecorating

This COULD be an outstanding flagship hotel, IF: the staff are changed or at least trained; the rooms improve; there is proper international standard management with a serious attitude adjustment.

However, thank you to the reception and room staff who did locate some lost property! All feedback meant constructively.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the reception otherwise you will have a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you very much for your constructive comments, which will be discussed at our weekly head of department meeting and taken on board, and sincere apologies for any shortfall in standards during your stay. Staff training is ongoing and your feedback will be valuable in helping us to move forward. A considerable number of improvements have been made at the Hotel over the past year, with the recent completion of refurbishment of our public areas, we hope that investment will continue for the foreseeable future. Sam Aziz, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel some years ago and revisited recently, the hotel is now tired and felt rundown it is convenient for the centre of Stratford but felt expensive for what it was. we had breakfast which we felt was poor

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have been looking forward to our night away before Christmas but feel very let down by a few different things!
1. We found the room cheaper the night before but wasn't offered the cheaper rate.
2. The cheaper rate included included breakfast so we paid more and didn't get breakfast.
3. The staff knew both of these issues and didn't offer any help.
4. At time of booking we were told we would receive a £10 voucher to spend at hotel. This wasn't given.
5. Online it said free parking and even though we paid over the odds for the room we were charged £5 for parking when we went to leave,
6. The air con in the room didn't work and we couldn't open a window, it was so hot all night we hardly slept.
7. When we mention the room temperature at reception they didn't apologise just said someone would check it out!
There isn't a number 8 but I think that's enough, I thought the hotel seemed clean and the pool was nice but the issues above ruined our stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kurtis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments, and my sincere apologies that you felt let down following your stay at the Alveston Manor. our rates are flexible and are dependznt on how and when you book, if you booked on line, a £10 discount was offered towards any extras purchased in the hotel, this would automatically be on you bill when checking out, had any extras been purchased. Our website states 'on line parking (fees apply)' - our car park is operated by a third party in order to provide a safe and secure environment in which our guests can park, the fee is kept to a minimum of £5 and is per stay.
The air cooling system is operated during the Summer months, in the Winter it provides additional heating for the rooms, I am sorry if you were uncomfortable. Thank you again. Sam Aziz, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,393 reviews
4.0 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,776 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £88 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing