We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this fantastic hotel. We had a beautiful king feature room complete with old beams. Room 71. A very quiet and large room with a very huge bed and comfy pillows.
The lovely gardens were an added bonus as was the location just a 5 minute walk to the beautiful old town centre.
The staff were very welcoming at the reception and the breakfast was 1st rate as was the excellent dinner in the dining room.
We would highly recommend this hotel to people who want to relax and enjoy the surroundings of a fine old hotel.

Room Tip: The corner king feature room number 71 was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reid02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for posting such excellent feedback about your stay at the Alveston Manor Hotel, we do appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive review. I am delighted that the hotel and staff provided you with a relaxing stay and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    743
    542
    295
    153
See reviews for
368
1,320
38
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

10 of us had new year here some of us for 2 nights, food was really good very friendly staff
very comfortable room although a bit hot, but a great time was had by all.There was a mix up over the cream tea on second night but we had the original paper work with us and this was sorted out, well done to your staff.

Room Tip: room 12 is small but handy for the dining room overlooks the bridge at the front ,very hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Found it a very good hotel. Some parts of the hotel are in need of some TLC. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. Food was of a very good quality but found the evening meal very expensive.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Wilts.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Four of us stayed in 2 rooms on a New year's 2 night package booked through Superbreak.

Taking advice from this website I phoned the hotel a few weeks before asking for rooms in the main building. The receptionist told me this would cost an extra £40 per couple so we went ahead. On check out we were actually charged an extra £80 each (£40 per night). I feel this was not properly explained by the receptionist I spoke to as the price we paid was for a package not per night. When we questioned it however we were just met with a shrug and told the upgraded rooms were better - well obviously but this was not the point we were making. Unfortunately this did take a bit of the gloss off what had been an enjoyable stay overall.

The hotel itself is historic and comfortable- smaller than I expected, but it is just an old manor house. Service was very good, especially in the restaurant, and the food was good. Yes it could do with some renovating, but if you want pristine carpets and perfectly clean paintwork you stay in a modern hotel not one that is hundreds of years old surely. The rooms were comfortable and clean and, yes, were a bit overheated, but you could turn off the radiators and, given the choice, I would rather be a bit too warm than cold any day. The pool and sauna/steam room were an added bonus and it was good to be able to walk into the town centre in just a few minutes.

One thing to be aware of if you upgrade your room is that there is a big difference in the size and ambiance of the old rooms. Our room (14) was considerably larger than our friends' (18) and had more historic features. I suggest you ask for a specific room when you book.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel. Not sure if we would stay again as we don't live near Stratford and tend to try different places for holidays.

Room Tip: Ask for a specific room if upgrading - they vary considerably!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melbermar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, and my apologies for any confusion in the supplement prices given to you by the reception team, I have discussed this with them.
I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us over the New Year, and found the hotel comfortable and the service good. I am pleased to be able to advise that the public areas – the lounge/bar/reception/Cedar room – are in the process of being refurbished, to be completed by the middle of February. Our feature rooms do vary in size and style due to the nature of the Manor House building.
Thank you for recommending the hotel, and I hope that we are able to welcome you back sometime in the future. Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pershore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Alveston Manor is brilliantly situated - a stones throw from the town itself. We arrived on 30th December to find a lovely spacious and well equipped room, after having a swift, efficient and welcoming check-in. We stayed 3 nights, choosing to spend New Years Eve in the restaurant, rather than with others in the function room with dinner/dance. It was exactly the same menu in both, excellent food and service. (Those to whom we spoke next day said that they had had a lovely time at the dinner/dance) Wonderful breakfasts, beautifully cooked and presented. The staff 'go the extra mile' to make your stay enjoyable, everyone was helpful and respectful. We did not use the spa facilities but they looked really good. The hotel is extremely clean and tidy in all respects and we particularly noticed this. Checkout was easy and we were even given a bottle of water each - for our journey home! Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - they succeeded at every stage. Well done to the administration and other staff at Alveston Manor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our experience was just wonderful! We visited with relatives for the hotel's New Year's Eve event and had a great time. Firstly our room was fabulous (Room 72), it was large, spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, good quality linens, controllable heat, etc. The event itself was great fun - delicious meal, fun people, just the right number, good music and so on. Breakfast was served until noon, giving us the opportunity to rest up and enjoy the morning and work up an appetite for the meal. Most importantly, the staff were superb on the reception, at the party and finally housekeeping. I left a brand new pair of earrings in the room safe. They were found and are now on the way back to me. We would highly recommend the hotel and will most certainly go back.
Unfortunately, didn't have time to experience the spa.
I stay in hotels at least twice a month and this level of service is extremely rare.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a superior room and it was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent feedback, I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time over the New Year period, and thank you for your kind comments about the staff. I do hope that we can welcome you back in the not too distant future. Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My family of 4 spent 5 nights over Christmas at the hotel. That period is always pressured and we could not speak more highly of the hotel team. They all worked tirelessly throughout our stay and their smiles never dropped. We were given as good a Christmas break as you could want. The ambience was excellent - pretty rooms, nice decorations etc. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,847 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,701 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,558 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing