We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, but not as good as we had expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ok, but not as good as we had expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We booked this hotel as a little treat for ourselves - we had to come to Stratford to visit a terminally ill friend.
When we arrived, nobody was on Reception, and we had to wait several minutes before a member of staff appeared. We were hit with the £5 parking charge, and the first room allocated to us we had to refuse - the window did not shut properly, it looked out onto a yard, and there was a high pitched humming from the fitness suite air-con. The second room was in the same 70s hall of residence style wing, at the end of a very long narrow corridor, but had a better view, and was fine, if bland. Bathroom was fine, bed was very comfortable. However, one had no feel of staying in a historic hotel, or of any sort of treat - a Premier Inn room would probably have been better.
Breakfast was fine, but served in a very dark room, away from the lovely sunny garden. This must be one of the few hotels these days not to have a breakfast buffet. Took a little time to order our cooked breakfast, but when it came, it was good.
We saw that the olde worlde public areas were being refurbished - we sensed that this was as a shop-window for tourists, while behind the scenes, most of the guest accommodation is a bit tired and dingy. This is now the second Stratford hotel I have had to review in this way, and, like before, we came away feeling we had not got value for money.
On the plus side, the hotel is very conveniently situated for the river, the theatre and the town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephogrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your comments, and apologies for any shortfall in our usual high standards of customer care. The majority of our rooms are in the modern wing, they are well presented and clean. The company has made considerable investment in the Alveston Manor over the last year with many improvements externally and recently the refurbishment of the public areas of the hotel, for the benefit of all of our guests; this will continue in the foreseeable future.
I am sorry if you were in any way disappointed, however, as you say the hotel is very well situated for visiting Stratford upon Avon, and perhaps we can welcome you back in the future to see the many improvements that have been carried out. Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    729
    535
    288
    151
See reviews for
358
1,297
37
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here at different times of year in the past, we decided to celebrate New Year and arrived on 30th Dec - departing on 2nd January - this was our 2nd year to stay over a 'New Year' period. We enjoyed it so much 2012/13 we had encouraged friends accompany us this year. We decided to stay in the main house - room 16, which was a suite - however, in retrospect it was not really worth the upgrade price from a Superior Room. Unfortunately, the service in the general restaurant on 30th and 1st was 'hit and miss'. Orders not being taken correctly, wine - on the list - not being available, coffee, not appearing - but being charged for. As others have said...TLC for the hotel is needed...but not too much please, as this is not your run of the mill 'Boutique hotel' and should not attempt to be! In general though ... A good time was had by all. It was good to meet up with friends made last year and also to make new friends. The New Years Eve Dinner Dance was brilliant. To my fellow Northern Soul compatriot - "keep the faith"

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank fitzhamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We came back to the Alveston for the second year in a row and again could not really fault it.
Most of the staff were really helpful, polite and attentive.
Food was, again of a very high standard, we really liked the Boxing Day lunch which was basically small dishes of food from varying parts of the World, this was something different after all the turkey etc consumed over Christmas.

Christmas dinner was lovely, and pretty cheap when you consider what you would pay for a pub Christmas dinner which is basically a glorified £12.95 Sunday lunch for £50-£60!

Well worth a visit, but if you fancy a Christmas getaway then give this place a chance!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my husband and young son. We had a good size family room on the ground floor and not to far from reception.
Room was a good standard, hotel is in desperate need of some tlc, I have stayed here before and it is becoming run down in many areas.
Breakfast is a good choice although why it is extra for certain items is beyond me, black pudding is swimming in grease again could be great but it's not.
Would I return I probably would as it is a nice hotel in a good location, I just hope that they pay attention to some of the reviews and put some money into this hotel to keep guests coming back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug6211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this fantastic hotel. We had a beautiful king feature room complete with old beams. Room 71. A very quiet and large room with a very huge bed and comfy pillows.
The lovely gardens were an added bonus as was the location just a 5 minute walk to the beautiful old town centre.
The staff were very welcoming at the reception and the breakfast was 1st rate as was the excellent dinner in the dining room.
We would highly recommend this hotel to people who want to relax and enjoy the surroundings of a fine old hotel.

Room Tip: The corner king feature room number 71 was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reid02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for posting such excellent feedback about your stay at the Alveston Manor Hotel, we do appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive review. I am delighted that the hotel and staff provided you with a relaxing stay and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

10 of us had new year here some of us for 2 nights, food was really good very friendly staff
very comfortable room although a bit hot, but a great time was had by all.There was a mix up over the cream tea on second night but we had the original paper work with us and this was sorted out, well done to your staff.

Room Tip: room 12 is small but handy for the dining room overlooks the bridge at the front ,very hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Found it a very good hotel. Some parts of the hotel are in need of some TLC. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. Food was of a very good quality but found the evening meal very expensive.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing