We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dull hotel rooms - Excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dull hotel rooms - Excellent food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Old part of building that you see from the road is very pretty and apt for Stratford upon Avon. However, behind the old "manor house" which houses the Reception area is the rest of the hotel - and it is very ordinary indeed.

ROOMS: are that old institutional shade of cream that looks grubby - and although I can't honestly say the rooms were grubby - they were not in any way special. Very average amenities, small ordinary out of date bathroom. The corridors go on forEVER - it feels like you are on a cruise ship - miles of low ceilinged badly lit corridors (make sure you have a bag with wheels on!).

POOL: is good for swimming lengths and has a steam room and sauna at one end. But have no thought that you can loll around the poolside and relax - it is not that kind of place - children are allowed in it until 19.00 - so is more like a public baths and not AT ALL like a resort/spa pool (which was a big disappointment to us). You go, you swim, you leave .....

BAR/RESTAURANT: The old part of the hotel houses the Bar (which is in a lovely room - but again the furnishings are very standard "chain hotel") and the restaurant. Ah now here is a dichotomy .... the restaurant decor is a tad "Berni Inn" circa 1980.... BUT... the food is EXCEPTIONAL. The service was good (though could have been better eg the waiter opened my husbands napkin before mine and my sister in laws; didn't really know about the menu in the detail it deserved and took a bit too long to refill water etc BUT these are small gripes and I only mention them because the restaurant could be really special if they paid attention to ALL the details. The following morning, not being a breakfast person (and having eaten so well the night before) I was just going to have tea - UNTIL - I saw the breakfasts! And again - I think it was possibly the BEST cooked breakfast I have ever had. The bacon - let me wax lyrical about the bacon - not watery; not salty; not too thin or too thick and it tasted like - well like bacon should taste (totally yum). My husband (Scottish - therefore and expert) told me that the Black Pudding was possibly the best he had ever had too - crumbly and soft. Not a spot of grease or briney water on the plate either and piping hot. Toast was assorted and interesting. I would go back for the breakfast tomorrow!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    729
    536
    288
    151
See reviews for
358
1,297
37
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Good points// Excellent spa and treatment. Very hospitable staff who are very willing to help. Lovely location just a stone throw away from Stratford upon Avon.

Bad points// Could do with refurbishment around the corridors. The restaurant was a major let down as it boasts of being award winning. Not terrible food but nothing special either.

In conclusion// The spa made the weekend and the hour long massage is top notch. Staff very pleasant and a wonderful location. A bit more attention to detail and this could be a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We booked a 2 night 'luxury spa break' here through secret escapes. When we arrived, we were impressed with the Tudor fronting which matched the image promoted on the hotel website and secret escapes. However a sign on reception announced that the spa had closed 4 hours early (not good for a spa break) and when we went to find our room, we got to see the real hotel. Behind the Tudor front are a series of stale-smelling dark corridors with stained carpets and paint peeling from the walls and doors. Our room was not big enough to swing a cat, was very dark, the bedspread was dirty and the carpet was covered in dirt and glitter - it clearly hadn't been vacuumed for some time. We had to go back to reception to complain and were given an 'upgraded room'. It was still very dated and grubby but the bed was a bit bigger and the carpet was clean. However as soon as I went to sit on the bed, I could see the sheets were covered in dog hair - and I mean covered. Another trip down to reception, to be dragged around and shown two more rooms with filthy carpets and dirty beds. By this point, we had been traipsing round for 90 minutes - all following a 2.5 hour drive to get to our 'luxury break'. It was too late to be served dinner and the spa we had been promised was closed so we made the decision to leave the hotel and drive all the way home again. The hotel and secret escapes have both refused a refund, stating we got through room we paid for. I am disgusted - I have never left a hotel before, nor ever had to request a refund. I have seen cleaner travelodges and although we had been marketed more than just somewhere to put your head down, in the end I'd have been grateful even for that - but they could not even provide a clean bed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank L0ul0u81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We booked this hotel as a little treat for ourselves - we had to come to Stratford to visit a terminally ill friend.
When we arrived, nobody was on Reception, and we had to wait several minutes before a member of staff appeared. We were hit with the £5 parking charge, and the first room allocated to us we had to refuse - the window did not shut properly, it looked out onto a yard, and there was a high pitched humming from the fitness suite air-con. The second room was in the same 70s hall of residence style wing, at the end of a very long narrow corridor, but had a better view, and was fine, if bland. Bathroom was fine, bed was very comfortable. However, one had no feel of staying in a historic hotel, or of any sort of treat - a Premier Inn room would probably have been better.
Breakfast was fine, but served in a very dark room, away from the lovely sunny garden. This must be one of the few hotels these days not to have a breakfast buffet. Took a little time to order our cooked breakfast, but when it came, it was good.
We saw that the olde worlde public areas were being refurbished - we sensed that this was as a shop-window for tourists, while behind the scenes, most of the guest accommodation is a bit tired and dingy. This is now the second Stratford hotel I have had to review in this way, and, like before, we came away feeling we had not got value for money.
On the plus side, the hotel is very conveniently situated for the river, the theatre and the town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephogrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your comments, and apologies for any shortfall in our usual high standards of customer care. The majority of our rooms are in the modern wing, they are well presented and clean. The company has made considerable investment in the Alveston Manor over the last year with many improvements externally and recently the refurbishment of the public areas of the hotel, for the benefit of all of our guests; this will continue in the foreseeable future.
I am sorry if you were in any way disappointed, however, as you say the hotel is very well situated for visiting Stratford upon Avon, and perhaps we can welcome you back in the future to see the many improvements that have been carried out. Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here at different times of year in the past, we decided to celebrate New Year and arrived on 30th Dec - departing on 2nd January - this was our 2nd year to stay over a 'New Year' period. We enjoyed it so much 2012/13 we had encouraged friends accompany us this year. We decided to stay in the main house - room 16, which was a suite - however, in retrospect it was not really worth the upgrade price from a Superior Room. Unfortunately, the service in the general restaurant on 30th and 1st was 'hit and miss'. Orders not being taken correctly, wine - on the list - not being available, coffee, not appearing - but being charged for. As others have said...TLC for the hotel is needed...but not too much please, as this is not your run of the mill 'Boutique hotel' and should not attempt to be! In general though ... A good time was had by all. It was good to meet up with friends made last year and also to make new friends. The New Years Eve Dinner Dance was brilliant. To my fellow Northern Soul compatriot - "keep the faith"

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank fitzhamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We came back to the Alveston for the second year in a row and again could not really fault it.
Most of the staff were really helpful, polite and attentive.
Food was, again of a very high standard, we really liked the Boxing Day lunch which was basically small dishes of food from varying parts of the World, this was something different after all the turkey etc consumed over Christmas.

Christmas dinner was lovely, and pretty cheap when you consider what you would pay for a pub Christmas dinner which is basically a glorified £12.95 Sunday lunch for £50-£60!

Well worth a visit, but if you fancy a Christmas getaway then give this place a chance!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my husband and young son. We had a good size family room on the ground floor and not to far from reception.
Room was a good standard, hotel is in desperate need of some tlc, I have stayed here before and it is becoming run down in many areas.
Breakfast is a good choice although why it is extra for certain items is beyond me, black pudding is swimming in grease again could be great but it's not.
Would I return I probably would as it is a nice hotel in a good location, I just hope that they pay attention to some of the reviews and put some money into this hotel to keep guests coming back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug6211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing