We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Stratford, A QHotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Arden Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe(Stratford-upon-Avon)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Billesley Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,631)
Filter reviews
2,631 results
Traveller rating
707
818
603
318
185
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
707
818
603
318
185
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach houselovely hoteltown centrespa treatmentsevening mealleisure facilitiesold buildingshort breakwithin easy walking distancefew minutes walkafternoon teaa lovely staystratfordweddingcharactertheatrebeams
Filter
Updating list...
1,894 - 1,899 of 2,631 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Beautiful location and very impressive from outside unfortunately dull and dingy inside. Staff were pleasant and welcoming Bedroom on ground floor was clean and comfortable but also reflected the dull dingy image with poor lighting and heavy net curtains. Evening meal and service on first night of stay was excellent. Breakfast on second morning service was poor and staff appeared disorganized coffee and toast order did not materialise despite other tables arriving after us,being served promptly, had to re order then wait again, order for top up coffee failed to appear.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed at the Hotel very recently with my elderly parents, the rooms were OK, nothing special and on a cold February weekend could have done with double glazing in the bedroom windows! The main problem was the restaurant it was freezing cold we mentioned it to the staff but all they could say was that the heating was on! The food was alright a choice of about 7 mains and over our 2 night stay was a bit boring, on the 2nd night we weren't even told about a daily special this we overheard mentioned to other guests after we had eaten! There didn't seem to be anyone in overall charge in the restaurant and therefore seemed very chaotic, especially at breakfast on the Sunday morning. Overall for the cost of the stay this was a bad experience and one i won't be repeating.

Room Tip: rooms near the spa are a long walk from the reception/restaurant and bar
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for posting your comments, my apologies that you were cold during your stay, and I am sorry if you and your parents were uncomfortable when dining in the restaurant. I take on board your comments about the restaurant service, and will discuss them with the Restaurant Manager; we do run a limited restaurant menu through January and February and again apologies if you felt the choice was poor.
I am sorry if we did not provide a good experience on this occasion and hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Sam Aziz, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel with my family & friends to celebrate a special birthday. The receptionist was very friendly & efficient and all our rooms were ready on arrival. The restaurant food was nicely presented and to a very high standard. The ambience was very relaxing and the staff were very attentive. I was even presented with a free glass of champagne on my birthday! The hotel itself was in a good location and within easy walking distance of the Stratford Town centre. All in all it was a lovely weekend to remember.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Overall the accommodation was very good and the rooms were clean with good facilities. Definitely needs decorating in communal corridors. However the service was very poor. Afternoon teas etc were charged incorrectly and service at dinner was terrible. Waited nearly an hour before we were given a drinks menu and then the starters arrived before we had bread or any drinking water. We had been informed the weekend was going to be busy.....better to reduce numbers of guests if the service can not be improved. Food was pretty good however on this weekend's service will not recommend hotel to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janietip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments, and I am pleased to note that you found the accommodation and facilities good. Please accept sincere apologies for any poor service you received, this has been discussed with the team and will be addressed as appropriate with training etc.
The maintenance of our bedroom corridors is ongoing, and will continue in the future.
Thank you again. Sam Aziz, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Hi All, had to arrange a work/customer function night out, we always focus around Stratford but normally go for a meal and stay at a local hotel. This year however I thought about a private dining experience and ploughed through the internet to find something, Alveston kept appearing so I gave them a call and spoke with Danielle who to fair arranged everything, i just told her what I wanted and expected and the rest was easy. From arrival to departure my colleagues and customers could comment enough on the service, people and food and no one wanted for anything. The private dining was great as although we were in a separate room we were not closed off to the outside world so still felt part of the bigger picture - would recommend thhis hotel to anyone thinking of doing something like this in the future.

Room Tip: We got what we asked for, king size rooms
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smithff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews