We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing ”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I booked the hotel through Late Rooms and it appeared I was getting a good price. However, what the hotel description didn't state is that they have built a modern extension onto the older part of the building in the style of a travel lodge. I really feel like I've been ripped off! You also have to pay for parking at the hotel, which doesn't leave you with a great first impression as you arrive. On the plus side, it is only walking distance from the town centre.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktbeth19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your feedback, the majority of our rooms are located in the modern wing, and I am sorry if your were disappointed. Our car park is operated by a third party in order to provide a secure area in which our guests can park and we do make a minimal charge of £5 per stay, however, as you rightly say the Alveston Manor is in an excellent location for exploring Stratford where car parking is at a premium.
Thank you again, Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    743
    542
    295
    153
See reviews for
368
1,320
38
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Lovely hotel, convenient for walking into town centre, really excellent food, nice pool, with sauna statement room, gym etc, only missing a jacuzzi which is a shame. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dillymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Beautiful location and very impressive from outside unfortunately dull and dingy inside. Staff were pleasant and welcoming Bedroom on ground floor was clean and comfortable but also reflected the dull dingy image with poor lighting and heavy net curtains. Evening meal and service on first night of stay was excellent. Breakfast on second morning service was poor and staff appeared disorganized coffee and toast order did not materialise despite other tables arriving after us,being served promptly, had to re order then wait again, order for top up coffee failed to appear.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed at the Hotel very recently with my elderly parents, the rooms were OK, nothing special and on a cold February weekend could have done with double glazing in the bedroom windows! The main problem was the restaurant it was freezing cold we mentioned it to the staff but all they could say was that the heating was on! The food was alright a choice of about 7 mains and over our 2 night stay was a bit boring, on the 2nd night we weren't even told about a daily special this we overheard mentioned to other guests after we had eaten! There didn't seem to be anyone in overall charge in the restaurant and therefore seemed very chaotic, especially at breakfast on the Sunday morning. Overall for the cost of the stay this was a bad experience and one i won't be repeating.

Room Tip: rooms near the spa are a long walk from the reception/restaurant and bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for posting your comments, my apologies that you were cold during your stay, and I am sorry if you and your parents were uncomfortable when dining in the restaurant. I take on board your comments about the restaurant service, and will discuss them with the Restaurant Manager; we do run a limited restaurant menu through January and February and again apologies if you felt the choice was poor.
I am sorry if we did not provide a good experience on this occasion and hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel with my family & friends to celebrate a special birthday. The receptionist was very friendly & efficient and all our rooms were ready on arrival. The restaurant food was nicely presented and to a very high standard. The ambience was very relaxing and the staff were very attentive. I was even presented with a free glass of champagne on my birthday! The hotel itself was in a good location and within easy walking distance of the Stratford Town centre. All in all it was a lovely weekend to remember.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Overall the accommodation was very good and the rooms were clean with good facilities. Definitely needs decorating in communal corridors. However the service was very poor. Afternoon teas etc were charged incorrectly and service at dinner was terrible. Waited nearly an hour before we were given a drinks menu and then the starters arrived before we had bread or any drinking water. We had been informed the weekend was going to be busy.....better to reduce numbers of guests if the service can not be improved. Food was pretty good however on this weekend's service will not recommend hotel to others.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janietip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments, and I am pleased to note that you found the accommodation and facilities good. Please accept sincere apologies for any poor service you received, this has been discussed with the team and will be addressed as appropriate with training etc.
The maintenance of our bedroom corridors is ongoing, and will continue in the future.
Thank you again. Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Hi All, had to arrange a work/customer function night out, we always focus around Stratford but normally go for a meal and stay at a local hotel. This year however I thought about a private dining experience and ploughed through the internet to find something, Alveston kept appearing so I gave them a call and spoke with Danielle who to fair arranged everything, i just told her what I wanted and expected and the rest was easy. From arrival to departure my colleagues and customers could comment enough on the service, people and food and no one wanted for anything. The private dining was great as although we were in a separate room we were not closed off to the outside world so still felt part of the bigger picture - would recommend thhis hotel to anyone thinking of doing something like this in the future.

Room Tip: We got what we asked for, king size rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,036 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,562 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing