We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel is within easy walking distance of the theatre and most of the tourist attractions of the town.The large car park is a bonus. We were in room 35 (very close to room 31) but fellow guests were well behaved the night we stayed and it was very quiet. I usually have difficulty sleeping past 6am, but had to be woken at 9am having slept through the night. Breakfast was what you would expect from a hotel of this standard. Most of the staff were good but I guess that some were new for the season and still under training. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanefromSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I am pleased to note that you had a good night's sleep, and enjoyed your stay with us. Training with new team members is ongoing and I hope that you will see the improvements on your next visit; we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Sam Aziz, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,703 - 1,709 of 2,476 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed at Alveston Manor on 10th April after visiting the NEC. We had booked an executive room on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. Our room was lovely very comfortable and welcoming with nice extra touches like coffee machine and robes. We had a drink in the bar before dinner and the barman couldn't have been more helpful and friendly and after taking our dinner order walked us through to the restaurant and made sure we were happy. The food was gorgeous and the staff were very attentive and friendly.
Breakfast was also lovely with a great selection of breads, pastries, fresh fruit and cereals as well as all the cooked options you would expect.
Overall the hotel was very well presented with beautiful architecture and wood panelling. We had a fantastic stay and the excellent staff really made our time at the hotel special.

Room Tip: Would recommendan executive room for the extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaP202014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such positive comments. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with and that the young man in the bar gave such excellent customer service, I will ensure that your feedback is passed to him. Thank you also for your kind comments about the food, both at dinner and breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Alveston Manor in the near future.
Sam Aziz, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

“Noisy and small rooms”
Reviewed yesterday NEW
We stayed in room 31 which was on the main corridor and very noisy, we could hear people walking up and down and chatting all evening, which woke us up at least 4 times through the evening, including at 2.30am! We complained and were moved to another room away from the people flight path to the spa, however, the air conditioning in the new room was faulty and was extremely loud, so we had to switch it off to try and get some sleep. Finally, after two nights of disturbed sleep we were woken up with a fire alarm test, which is set for 9am every Monday morning. Very disappointing stay, when we gave the feedback to the staff on reception when leaving, they just smiled and said sorry......., while taking our payment!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main corridor, this is main main corridor through to the spar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your comments, my apologies that you had such a disturbed night, we do rely on our guests to be considerate of others when returning to their room and I am very sorry that you were awoken in the early hours. It is a challenge to find a suitable time for all to test the fire alarms, Sunday night/Monday morning is historically the quietest night of the week, with any business meetings etc. not commencing until 9am or after.
Again apologies if this detracted from your stay at the Alveston Manor.
Sam Aziz, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

My other half and I have a soft spot for Stratford & this hotel in particular. Although at the higher end of price range it's very nice indeed. We had a nice room with a 4 poster bed, coffee machine & a nice bath in the bathroom. Breakfast was ok too. Nice to have the use of the gym & pool facilities. I've no doubt we'll be back soon.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bEd_BUg-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night pror to a conference. I was staying in a single bedroom (costing £100) which felt quite cramped. However, the room was very clean and the room service was delicious. The gym in the hotel was great. I enjoyed my stay but do not think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending a business conference. The conference itself was well supported and the hotel staff were helpful and supplied everything we needed. In terms of the hotel, I felt the rooms and corridors were a little in need of a refurb though hadn't got as far as being "tatty" yet. That said, everything in the room seemed to work OK, and I actually got 2 very good nights sleep which is unusual for me as I generally sleep badly in hotels. The shower was hot and at a good pressure, the wifi worked (although it used The Cloud which requires every tiny personal detail about you to login - no doubt I will receive loads of spam emails soon), and the bed was large and comfortable. The food supplied for lunch during the conference and in the restaurant on the one evening we ate there was excellent. The location is perfect for walking into Stratford which itself is a lovely town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mat-Ingram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments, I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we provided good service and food for your conference. We have recently invested a considerable amount into refurbishing the public areas and conference rooms, and we hope that this investment will continue in the forseeable future; in the meantime the team do their best to ensure that bedrooms are clean and well presented.
Thank you for taking the time to let us have such positive feedback, we are very appreciative and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Sam Aziz, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I recently visited the spa with my mother as a gift for mothers day. The idea was that we would have a relaxing day. Upon arrival at the hotel we payed £5 to park in the hotel carpark. We then proceded to the leisure centre/spa reception to check in. The man working on the reception told us that we would get the £5 carparking charge refunded from the main hotel reception desk on our way out.

My mother and I had a couple of treatments in the spa and had a lovely day relaxing. We also really enjoyed a healthy lunch in the hotel restaurant. It was a very relaxing day and at 5pm we got ready to leave refreshed and relaxed. Before leaving we went to the main hotel reception to claim our £5 carpark refund that we were told we would get back. Sadly the staff on the desk were most unhelpful and told us that it is not possible to get the refund. We were very upset about this after being told that we would get it back, so we asked to speak to the manager. The manager on duty was very unhelpful and said that he cannot refund us the £5. We then went back round to the leisure centre reception and told them that we would like the refund that we were promised. Again they said that they couldn't give it to us. By this time we were getting a little fed up and it seemed completely ridiculous that a hotel like this was arguing over £5! It was very silly that after being told we would get our refund the staff were now saying that we couldn't have it. The staff stood for ages arguing with us and the manager on duty was absolutely useless and the customer service was shocking. It took half an hour for the hotel to give us back the £5 refund for the carpark. Very disappointing and the customer service really needs sorting out. It is very bad that one member of staff says one thing and then another member says something completely different! Management don't seem to hold much authority either!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Saliboti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Firstly, I am pleased to note your positive comments about your Spa day and that you and your mother enjoyed your treatments in the spa and spent a relaxing day.
Please accept my sincere apologies for any distress caused by the issue with your parking charge; unfortunately, if £5 is paid into the parking meter we are unable to offer a refund, all Spa Day guests are able to park free of charge when registering at the Leisure Club reception, I am very sorry that this was not explained to you at the time of booking. I would also apologise for the confused communications you received, the process has now been entirely clarified to all staff concerned. I do note that we did eventually refund the £5 to you and again I am sorry that this was not offered immediately due to the incorrect information you were given.
Again my apologies that your enjoyable day was marred by this issue.
Sam Aziz, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,070 reviews
4 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,867 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £89 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing