We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in a good location with good restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here before, it's in a great location for visiting Stratford. The basic rooms are nice, with iron and board, complimentary drinks, hair dryer. There is a bath and shower with toiletries.

The beds are comfortable, disappointed though that one of the duvet covers was stained, it was clean but had an old stain on it.

The rooms are quiet and most of them are accessible from car parks.

Restaurant was very good for both dinner and breakfast. Dinner service was a bit slow but food was delicious and well cooked. Young man taking orders was really nice and helpful called John Rogers.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 186400Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,441)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,657 - 1,663 of 2,441 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Came for Shakespeare on a "S****t E*****s" deal but was very disappointed. Hotel front signage needs repair and patched up window. Room just ok but radiator did not work, the a/c was slow and noisy, and the window ill-fitting. Had to request complimentary wine and bill did not show £10 services credit. Spa is ok, dinner was reasonable and breakfast was probably the best thing. Poor value for money, staying in a b & b next time and spending difference in a good restaurant.

Room Tip: Expect a long walk!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twotoneblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, all of which is important to us and we take on board. Please accept our apologies for any shortfalls on our part, I am sorry that we disappointed on this occasion. I hope that you will reconsider and visit us again in the future, so that we may have the opportunity to show what we can achieve. Sam Aziz, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

If you are staying in Stratford this hotel is surely the best choice, can't quite understand why it is not in the top five at least. Not only for its perfect location in the town but also for its overall quality. We spend many of our holidays in the USA and found that this hotel was almost on a par with hotels Stateside, in other words a cut above what we usually get in the UK. We have read some of the negative reviews people have given but found our experience to be entirely positive. Our room was of a good size larger than most in the UK and it was clean and comfortable, the bed gave a good night's sleep. We ate breakfast and dined at the hotel and enjoyed all our meals. We rate this hotel as 'very good' instead of excellent simply because for the price for what is provided is exactly what you should expect. We plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor room which was larger than our friends' first floor room so perhaps...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and for the positive feedback. As you rightly say, Alveston Manor is in a perfect location for visiting Stratford upon Avon, and we strive to provide excellent customer service, I am pleased that we delivered to expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you again. Sam Aziz, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Pleasant room, with a great comfortable Queen-size bed. Ignoring the en-suite plumbing, the room was fine. Good leisure facilities. Location was very good with quick access by foot in to the Town and the amenities.
The public corridors and circulation areas are a bit tired and need refreshing.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Alveston Manor Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulhazelgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Me and my husband decided to come here for our anniversary. I am wishing we hadn't now! It was a special occasion as we hit a mile stone in our marriage and was ruined by the general state of this supposed 4 star hotel and the lack of management in the spa. We hadn't previously booked any treatments in the spa but as we stayed for 3 days we thought we would visit the spa and try and book in for the following day. We had quite a walk from our room above the bar, not very well sign posted!! We finally got to the reception and were greated with quite miserable members of staff, they told us to go up another flight of stairs to get to the spa. We got to the spa and no one was on reception. So we waited and waited and waited, there were people in and out the spa in robes but no members of staff, my husband been in the security business pointed out they had no CCTV but had expensive products on display!! For a 4 star hotel I would like to think security is one aspect hotels need!! Anyway we waited 35mins no sign of anyone so we left and went else where to a local salon for our treatments and I must say the small town salon was perfect and far from the 4 star dump we came from. Our room was small, dirty and noisy, I must say the food was lovely in the restaurant but the staff were very miserable, staffing seems to be a problem with this hotel! The receptionist was very kind and inviting such a shame the hotel let it all down! I won't be staying here ever again! It's way over priced! I had given the hotel the benefit of doubt after reading such terrible reviews prior to booking. Is defiantly lives up to the poor reviews on here!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Security4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I recently came with my mother and sister for a spa day, when we arrived in the spa there was no one on reception for 45 mins!! When the staff finally appeared we were ignored for 5 mins until we were taken to the relax room. After been taken into the "relax" room to our amazement it was far from relaxing, there was no seats left and there was dirty cups all over the place, the room looked so messy and far from relaxing. Our therapist took over 50 mins to take us through for treatment, I was not given a thorough consultation and the therapist missed one of my medical conditions, luckily I know I was still able to have the treatment. After talking to the therapist I soon realised she was the manager, so I expected some what of a first class service after such disappointment. My treatment was ment to be an hour long but in fact it was only 40 mins!! I was left in the room to get dressed and noticed the face towels she had used on me were soiled and had been put back into the heated cabinet to be used again!! Anyway, we spend a few hours in the spa tryin to relax and noticed the phone was ringing non stop but no one was on reception! I mentioned to the manager about this issue as I also had an issue with trying to ring the spa, her response was some what to be desired and quite snappy. I will safely say I won't visit there again, staff are rude, place is untidy and staff cut treatment times after paying such a high price for spa days. The manager was very unprofessional.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Starling201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your comments, our sincere apologies that you were so disappointed with your experience in our Spa. Please be assured that you comments have been taken on board and addressed with thos concerned, all customer feedback is important to us. I would like to add that our Spa is very busy, and our Spa Days are popular, it is unusual for us us to receive such negative comments, and I am very sorry that we did not deliver on this occasion. Sam Aziz, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

After reading some of the reviews I was a bit apprehensive about our stay. However, we had nothing to worry about. The hotel is very nice inside and out and has very nice period features.Is in a very good location for visiting Stratford.
Staff were all very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were clean and well equipped. Bed was comfortable and the pillows were very soft. We had booked a spa treatment and our rooms were conveniently located close to the spa.Spa treatments were great and we enjoyed spending time in the relaxation room. Dinner and breakfast was delicious and service was brilliant.
The only very minor weak points were the £5 parking fee, being charged £5 for a 750ml bottle of water in the restaurant and the windows in the bedroom wouldn't open so couldn't get any fresh air (although there was air con).
I will definitely be returning soon and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireandchris164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear guest
Thank you very much for posting such positive comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sam Aziz, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,968 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,801 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £84 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing