We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just back from a two night stay at Macdonald Alveston Manor. There were some positives to staying here those being the location, it is within walking distance of the towns attractions, parking only £5 per stay, free wifi and the attractive setting.
The negatives were cleanliness -for example there was a used shower cap hanging on the bathroom door. The room was cold as the window would not close and we had to wait an hour for someone to come and do this for us. Also there was never anyone on the reception desk so I just had to stand wait for someone to come from the office at the back each time.
Another odd thing was the way breakfast is served they ask you to order toast as soon as you sit down then come back about 10minutes later to take your breakfast order so by the time your eggs arrive the toast is stone cold!
These are only minor complaints however my overall feeling is that a hotel that charges £111 per night I don't want to have any complaints at all!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noangelsuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments, and I would like to offer sincere apologies that we did not meet our usual high standards of standards and customer care, I do appreciate that the small things add up and I am very sorry if you were in any way disappointed. On a positive note, as you rightly say, we are located in an excellent position for visiting Stratford upon Avon, and we will strive to ensure that we meet with customer expectations. Thank you again. Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    755
    547
    300
    160
See reviews for
377
1,343
39
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

What a wonderful place this is in a beautiful setting, located just far enough out of the centre to avoid the crowds, but close enough to walk in to the centre.

Reception is efficient but can be busy at times. Our check-in was lunchtime on a Saturday, just as a wedding party arrived, there was a short wait but the staff were still pleasant when it came to assisting us, unlike some hotels where everyone seems to be a problem!

We had room 8 which is a fantastic room in the Manor house. High vaulted arched ceiling in the master bedroom, Lovely oak 4 poster bed which was super comfortable, ensuite bathroom with shower over bath. The bedroom also had a lovely arched stain glass window overlooking the gardens to the front of the hotel and towards the town centre.

The sitting room inside room 8 was also spacious and cosy, same vaulted arch ceiling and stain glass window gave the room a light and airy feel.

The rooms have comfort cooling / air conditioning in and free mineral water is provided in this room and a fridge for your soft drinks, milk or medicines. Room service provide fresh milk and ice FOC. The fresh milk makes a nice change to the UHT cartons and is lovely with the Nespresso coffee also provided in the room.

If you like your television, there are two in this room, one in the bedroom and one in the sitting room. Nice amenities in the bathroom and fluffy robes and slippers complete the set!
We stayed on a B&B basis and our direct booking with the hotel on their website (rather than travel providers website) gave us £10 credit towards any spend in the hotel.

The breakfast service is pleasant and unhurried. This could be an issue if you are desperate to get out and about, I would suggest you just advise your server that you are in a hurry and I am sure you will get faster service.

The breakfast choice is ample. Cereals, juices, fruit and bakery items are available and a menu for cooked breakfasts. Basically the typical elements of a full English are available and salmon also. There is plenty of food to suit all tastes and I would recommend including Breakfast in your stay choice.

We chose to eat in the hotel bar one evening and had a Tuna and Mayo sandwich (more than enough for one) and a Sausage, Mash and Onion Gravy main also. Both lots of food were presented well, good portion size and very tasty. The chunky chips were expensive for what you got but this is typical for hotel charges in the UK.

The hotel also has a gym and wet facilities – swimming pool, sauna and steam room. Its nice to make use of such facilities after a day sightseeing. Both the sauna and steam room are large enough for about 10 people but the steam room didn’t really get very hot.

Checkout was a busy experience again, obviously this will be time dependant, but the staff were pleasant once again despite the pressure they were under. Parking is currently charged at £5 per stay NOT per day which was a nice surprise and very reasonable. Pay when you check out and NOT at the Pay & Display meters!

Overall we had an excellent stay, nothing really we could fault. The hotel is full of character and charm with history dotted around the older buildings. Lovely garden areas to the front and rear but the most relaxing area was definitely the rear garden where you could sit and enjoy the sunshine (we were fortunate enough to have a sunny bank holiday weekend!)

The hotel is by no means 'cheap' but the quality is definitely there and you get what you pay for. Other than the chunky chips (counterbalanced by the very reasonable parking charge!) we did not begrudge any of the cost of our stay.

The floors slope, everything creaks, the hotel oozes history and the staff are pleasant and helpful - I would very much recommend a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 8 has vaulted ceilings, 4 poster bed, views over the front garden, separate sitting room and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeAndMrsJonesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments, we very much appreciate your detailed feedback and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Alveston Manor in the future. Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I booked our stay for a one night spa package with bubbly in the room. I booked direct at the hotel by Danielle. I explained I was celebrating my partners 50th birthday. I advised that his favourite sweet was a Knickor Bocker Glory and would it be possible for this to be arranged for him. She liaised with the staff regarding my request before she emailed me back saying it was not problem.

From the moment we booked in the hotel on 4th May 2014 we were made every welcome. The room was lovely and very clean.

We were pre booked in the spa for our treatments and the staff were great and very professional. Jessica gave me a full body massage and she really got the knots out of my shoulders and I felt great afterwards My. partner had a facial he felt wonderful it made him look ten years younger lol.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and the staff were very professional. We were mainly served by John Rogers.(Thank you John.) We also had a complimentary bottle of wine with our dinner which was not part of the package. I can only guess this was complimentary due to my partners birthday which was a lovely touch. As for the Knickor Bocker Glory it came in the traditional ice glass and the exact recipe which we both remembered when we were children. It was fabulous. thank you to the chef/chefs organising this treat for my partner it was a total surprise to him.

I would say this was one of our best weekends ends away together and I would recommend this hotel and the package as it was very good value for money.

Room Tip: We had a king size room and the bed was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your lovely comments, I am delighted to note that we were able to provide you with your partner's favourite dessert, and I will ensure your thanks are passed to all concerned. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at sometime in the future. Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had our wedding at Alveston Manor over Easter 2014. We chose this hotel as we love the location, and when we have visited the staff are always welcoming and keen to assist in any way they can.

We had a mixture of rooms for members of friends and family all of which were clean, comfortable and as expected. The food in the restaurant was wonderful, covering evening meals, breakfasts and also our wedding breakfast. We have also attended Christmas Day lunch here and the food is always of a consistently high standard.

The staff have been with us throughout our wedding journey and made the occasion very relaxed and enjoyable, keeping us informed throughout the weekend and also being on hand upon request, including through all the planning and many discussions!

We would definitely stay at the hotel again, and visit for afternoon tea/meals when in Stratford Upon Avon.

The only let down we could say is the Spa, if this was of the same standard as the rest of the hotel and staff it would be a thumbs up all round, but as we did not specifically book this hotel based on the Spa in our experience we have discounted that and focused purely on what mattered to us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baker175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hi,
I stayed at the hotel as part of a hen party this weekend, and just wanted to say what a lovely hotel, great food & a fab team of staff you guys have there!
Oliver in the spa was really accommodating for us making everyone feel like they were a vip client & the spa treatments were brilliant, all the girls enjoyed them.
Also Katie in the bar was really attentive to us during lunch & well as Michael who told us about spooky happenings in the hotel.
We are definitely planning when we can visit again and make the most of our time.
Thanks Guys.
Gemma

Room Tip: We stayed at the rooms towards the back of the hotel near to the spa so we didnt here too much noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoonce83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here 5 years ago and it was fantastic. This time it was ok. The receptionist whisked me through at top speed and must have spent only 2 minutes checking me in. No information was given regarding breakfast, morning papers, wake up calls, dinner, etc. I was left struggling with my suitcase up various steps within the hotel to my room and hadn't been told an easier route to the room from outside around the back of the hotel through the Spa entrance (no steps encountered). The room was ok. Definitely needs a refurb. The face cloths had been used - not pleasant to see. The air con wasn't the easiest to figure out. Plenty of hanging space and good lighting.
Whilst I was in the hotel I heard comments amongst the staff regarding staffing issues which was not very professional considering I was at the other end of the room. There was a definite lack of staff which unfortunately caused some residents to complain about the length of time they had had to wait for their drinks or meals. The gardens are well kept and good parking - go round the back if you can't park out the front. As I say, it was ok - just not fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9112hayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry if you felt that the hotel had lost some of its sparkle, our apologies for any shortfall in customer care on this occasion. We have recently invested considerably in the Alveston Manor with the refurbishment of public areas and enhancement of the exterior and grounds, we hope that this will continue for the forseeable future.
We take on board all of your comments which will be discussed with all departments, to ensure improvements in the future. Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I booked an overnight spa stay for my mom and I. It was a treat for her birthday, I am so glad that I did. I do not have anything bad to say, the hotel was lovely, all of the staff were really friendly and the food was excellent. The spa treatments and atmosphere was really relaxing and the staff were really lovely. I will definitely be booking again. I honestly can not see how anyone could not enjoy every aspect of this hotel.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such excellent feedback, I am delighted that you and your mum enjoyed your Spa Day, and thank you for your kind comments about the staff and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back. Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,921 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,083 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,683 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing