We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunately Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Pictures are beautiful, great Location, good pool facilities but that's about it. I stayed here two weeks ago for my wedding Anniversary and didn't want to kick up a fuss and ruin our mini break by moaning, But would like to prepare future guests of the reality of this beautiful building.

To start, guest have to pay for parking within the hotel car park which is not reimbursed. Our Standard double was below par than a Premier Inn, the bathroom was tired looking with chips in the bath enamel and general tired decoration throughout bathroom and bedroom. The double bed was comfy but seemed to be two singles loosely fixed together so therefore moved separately. Breakfast was very steeply priced at £17.50 per person, after paying for a very average room for £130 per night we decided to pop to the supermarket and buy our own continental breakfast the night before ready for the morning. We took our own bottle of champagne to dink in our room and was shocked to find that the wine bucket left for convenience cost £5 to fill with ice.

Like most beautiful old hotels the picture you see on the web page are the few manor rooms decked out in full glory for honeymoon suites and top end priced executive rooms, but the majority of the guests are placed down a long corridor which leads to the poor 80's extension and feels very far removed from the original manor house that you fell in love with.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pixiejoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,641 - 1,647 of 2,469 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Nothing not to like about this place really from my experience. Great looking building from the outside, in keeping with the biscuit tin image of Stratford. From the inside, it continues not to disappoint, as the public areas - reception, lounges, bar, restaurant - are all slightly splendid in a classical sense - again, in keeping with what most people visit this town for. The staff, incidentally, were great! Room was fine too, although not qualifiable for the bargain of the year award, but very nice nonetheless. Very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your excellent positive feedback, and it is good to note that you were not disappointed in any way. We strive to provide our guests with a good experience and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to welcome you back in the future. Sam Aziz, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had booked a room for the night as part of a birthday trip for my wife and after reading reviews we thought we may have chosen badly. Fortunatley, we were quite happy with our stay. The staff were, without exception, courteous, freindly and proffesional. The room was the usual standard as hotel rooms go, the king sized bed was clean and comfy. Pretty standard fare and one night for £118 may seem steep... However, The style and surroundings of this beautiful hotel is quite outstanding and the location makes it perfect for visiting Stratford (easy walking distance to town centre) breakfast was good without being exceptional and overall we happy with our stay. One minor gripe.... paying for parking !........ Don't like that.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that we exceeded expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you say the location is perfect for visiting Stratford and whilst taking on board you comments about the parking charge, this is in line with other town centre hotels in Stratford, where parking is at a premium. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Sam Aziz, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I got this hotel off the internet and saw I could spend two nights b&b or up grade to half board.I thought it would be a good idea to go the half board to save us having to look elsewhere to eat.On arrival we were given our room number which was a double executive room and told we were down for b&b.I explained we had paid for the half board option and showed the paperwork we hadWe went to our room and first impressions did not disappoint.It was so quirky and so Tudor just what I wanted.On further inspection for the money we were paying a night which was £240 per night ..wait for it,the shelf over the radiator was covered in dust there was a large cob web over the wardrobe,a cracked pane of glass in the front window,there was so much clutter on the surfaces there was no where to be able to make a drink.The bathroom blind I don't think had been cleaned for weeks every slat was thick with dust in other words someone elses dead skin.The coffee machine when we went to make a coffee had 4 empty pods inside that had not been emptied from the previous occupantsthe radiator valve was green indicating that there had been a leak at some point that had not been sorted,the radiator paint was coming off,the door handle on the wardrobe was broken,the light in the corner wasn't working and there was no bag in the bin.Now I could of ignored all this if it wasn't what happened next when we went to have a walk round the town.At reception we were called over by the manager who informed us that there half board was in fact breakfast not evening mealWe showed our paperwork we argued our point that tariffs were .....room only...b&b....half board...full board...all inclusive but no way was the hotel having any of it they were adiment that half board was b&b im sure that they thought we were some tourists that didn't understand.So we had to pay for evening meals for two daysand were told we had to sort it out on out return We had to pay £5 to park the car in their car park.The breakfast was very good but not for the money we had paid..To cut a long story short we have had £111.36p refunded even though I paid an extra £150 and no letter of apology from the hotel

Room Tip: the rooms are not large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merilyn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We chose the Hotel for the location and were impressed by the Frontage of the Hotel.
The offered room (21) was a bit small - 5 x 6 metres with a bathroom squeezed into one corner; hard to move let alonr make early morning tea.
We were offered another room (36) - huge - but we refused to move.
The staff seemed overworked in the Dining room; food was good but Breakfast pricey = £17.50 and extra £2.50 for Smoked Salmon or Eggs Benedict

Room Tip: Just do not accept first room they offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALTEFUCHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here and found the hotel pretty, spotless, and all if the staff were friendly efficient and always smiling. The facilities were excellent as was the food. Special mention to James in the restaurant who was super accommodating and lovely with my late breakfast request having suffered from a migraine all night. We had a wonderful relaxing stay and the hotel was perfectly located for wandering around beautiful Stratford. We will definitely return. One small point ... The car park charge is a bit cheeky..at five pounds per stay whether you stay one night or a week.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your feedback, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments about the staff. Our car park is operated by a third party, in order to provide a secure and safe environment in which our guests can park, a charge has been in place for the past two or three years, and is in line with other hotels in Stratford, where parking is at a premium. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Sam Aziz, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in 2006 for our honeymoon, loved it! Returned 8 years later and feel a little disappointed. The car park costs £5 for the duration of your stay (not a good start). The staff were helpful and pleasant. The bed was comfy. The grounds are lovely. But, the place is dirty! We say for breakfast next to a radiator, I don't even think it had seen a cloth. Where radiators have been installed in the hall ways, the dust from the drilling holes in the walls is still on the skirtings and floor. Our bathroom grout was orange in places, and the dust was horrendous. Cobwebs, tea stains on the walls (where people have missed the bin with the tea bags) tired furniture. The air conditioning made an awful noise (the weather was HOT) and at night we had to turn the air con off. The room soon got hot! Did it spoil our stay, no! Would we stay here again, probably not.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tictoc1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,393 reviews
4.0 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,776 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £88 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Lastminute, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing