We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
wolverhampton
1 review
“Top class hotel”
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Just spent a week at alveston manor. Not our first by any means. The hotel and its staff consistantly meet the highest standards.
The breakfast, dinner and snacks offer a good range and the quality is excellent.
The staff, reception, restaurant, leisure centre, in fact all the staff we encountered are particularly welcoming and always helpful.
The hotel is close to town, but not overwhelmed by it and the theartre is a walk away.
The leisure facilities are an added bonus.
We shall definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briantgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, Steven Quick General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments about your stay at the Alveston Manor Hotel, it is really good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will pass your comments to my team, who pride themselves on offering excellent customer service to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    729
    535
    288
    151
See reviews for
358
1,297
37
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We stayed in the Manor part of the hotel (at an additional charge) and it was beautifully maintained. We had a lovely room with fluffy bathrobes included (and even biscuits on the hospitality tray).

The hotel staff were very attentive and made sure that our stay was very comfortable. The quality of the food was very good - breakfast was cooked to order.

We also had some spa treatments and the therapists ensured that we were truly pampered.

Its location is also ideal for sightseeing - only a short walk into the town centre. There was lots to see and do and we found the bus tour and Shakespears houses particularly interesting.

Mrs Hayden, Hertford

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paintp0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments about your stay at the Alveston Manor Hotel, it is really good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will pass your comments to my team, who pride themselves on offering excellent customer service to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2010

I booked one night at Alveston manor as a weekend away for me and my girlfriend. We wanted to use it as a base for exploring Stratford / Warwick (for which it is absolutely perfect - you can walk right in to the centre of Stratford passing some lovely little pubs and such).
The hotel is in two parts: new and old. The old might be a bit tired but I bet it knocks the socks off the new!! The new area looked like an awful motorway services hotel from the 80's. We were in the old area and although it wasn't "perfect" - the carpet is worn in places, the decor is dull and lifeless - the bed (king size) was very comfortable, the bathroom / shower was clean and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
We used the Spa facilities while we were there and they are absolutely first class. Everything was very relaxed, I had a fantastic hour and a half massage for £65 which was brilliant. The pool looks pretty big too.
We didn't eat in the hotel (I can thoroughly recommend Lambs of Sheep Street - I've reviewed them too!) but we did get two glasses of wine when we got back, and as a previous reviewer said, it ain't cheap!! £8.50 for a glass of wine, that's pretty pricey.
I would stay again but I would always pay for a better room and I would always eat away from the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fruitloop77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

We were recommended this hotel by friends and it did not dissapoint, the hotel has great character and is very well located.
On arrivel our check-in was quick and welcoming, we were offered assistance to our room of which we declined as the room was not far away, of which was pleasant and comfortable.
The hotel and its restaurant were busy, however still maintaned a relaxed feel with the staff coping very well and were very friendly.

We had a great time and would cirtainly return if in the area in the future!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillyFoggPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2010

My First visit to Stratford and had a great time, the hotel was of a good quality with great attentive staff who couldn't have been more helpful, Hotel set in lovely grounds with good leisure facilities and an excellent busy restaurant serving great food.
The rooms were clean with all the usual amenities you can expect in a good hotel and only a short walk into the heart of stratford.
All in all a great time and happy to revisit again

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesTravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southwest
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2010

The Alveston manor hotel is one of the best hotels I have stayed in, the staff are very freindly and went out of there way to make our stay very special.
From the Moment we arrived to the moment we left, our every wish was catered for. We recommened the Restuarant, great value for money and a good selection of food, the steaks are out of this world.
The leisure club and spa are very relaxing and the staff very freindly and helpfull, one of the staff went out of his way to show us how all the equipment worked.
We can not wait to return in the summer and will be taking my parents to enjoy another great weekend. A big thankyou to the manager and his team for whta was a great stay at a wonderfull hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy1Southwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We stayed at this hotel thinking it would be a really luxourious break at a top class hotel, well sadly that really isnt the case. The room was tired and worn, the bathroom was not cleaned well at all and there was some areas with mould growing. Most dissapointing was the fact that we were told the restaurant was full so we had to go out. when we passed the restaurant on our way back in it was only a third full!!! i did complain and they said there had been a misunderstanding??? how can you misunderstand 'i would like a table for dinner' Avery poor hotel with very high costs.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2010
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor, I am sorry you were disappointed to find that we were unable to take a reservation for dinner, and apologise if there was any misunderstanding; we do, of course, wish to accommodate all of those guests who want to dine with us, and will look again at our booking policy.
Thank you for highlighting the issues with your room, thus giving us the opportunity to put a maintenance plan into place.
We aspire to delivering a high quality of customer service at all times and assure you that all feedback is acted upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,075 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,634 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,987 reviews
4.0 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing