We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard Bed, Nice Breakfast, Greedy Wi-fi Charges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 August 2010

There is plenty of parking and the hotel is approx half a mile out of the town centre.

I thought wi-fi would be free (as in most hotels these days) - not so - this is another greedy hotel which uses BT Openzone, and thinks its fine to sting you £10 for an evenings use.
After a long walk through about four corridors, I eventually arrived at my room and was not impressed by the mouldy grouting around the bath. The bed was hard as boards and the pillows not much softer.
The tv was fine with lots of channels, and the cooked breakfast was nice enough.
A lot of staff are East European, and their grasp of English isn't necessarily as good as you think. I asked the male receptionist for a receipt on leaving (I pre-paid my room through Last Minute.Com) and he then charged me a second time and produced a receipt for the second charge!
There are tired parts of the hotel which need a good refurb, but it did look and smell like the decorators were doing a bit of this.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,327 - 2,333 of 2,531 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2010

My husband and I held our wedding reception here in mid-July. Right from the start, when we booked last year, it has been fantastic - Laura the wedding co-ordinator has been amazing. She helped us plan every detail, and has accommodated every little change and tweak we have made, with the utmost patience! The day itself was amazing, everything went smoothly and all of our guests have commented on the delicious food, and how helpful the staff were. The hotel was everything we could have wanted in a venue. A big thank you to all the staff there who made our day special.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmylouCov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2010

Thank you for posting your comments, it is very important that we help to make your wedding day special and memorable, and I am delighted that we achieved this; I will ensure that all the staff receive your thanks. My very best wishes for the future. Steve Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

The hotel stay was promising (location and appearance), but it was apparent that many of the staff had had little or no training. Our 1 course supper took nearly two hours and the restaurant staff needed constant reminders that we were there. They also provided inaccurate information about the menu. Overhearing our fellow diners confirmed that all but one of the tables surrounding us were equally frustrated with the service.

A handful of the staff were professionals, and this place could be so much better if they hired or trained better. I'd suggest going elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuartgpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, I was disappointed to read of your poor dining experience, and assure you that this is not our normal high standard. Training of our new team is ongoing, but we take on board your feedback and will take immediate action to rectify the issues. Steve Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

This is the first time we have ever stayed in a hotel in England where the staff were willing , helpful , cheerful and keen to serve the customer to ensure we had a great stay. Sure we have stayed in many many hotels where some of the staff have been great, but in this hotel, the service was excellent from everyone.
The food we had in the bar was good, room service was fast and effecient
We stayed in a classic double room, unfortunatly we were given room 26 which is in a wing of the hotel where the corridor is not sound proof. the floor creaks loudly when walked upon and that noise and the conversations of people walking down the corridor are clearly heard from within the room.
At breakfast we were asked if we had a good night's rest, and we politely said no, the reception manager was alarmed and immediately went into action. we had a great breakfast,great service , good food, went out for the day and when we came back, we had been moved to a nice room 40, which was at the end of the same corridor, but with little or no passing traffic.
There were at least two weddings going on at the weekend , but the hotel was never over crowded or too busy
Overall a memorable weekend

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aljolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2010

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, the team aspire to delivering excellent customer satisfaction and such positive feedback is always welcome. Steve Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

I was urged by the hotel staff to leave a review on this site as, in their words, the hotel market in Stratford is very competitive. Well, if that is the case this hotel needs to work harder.

The food was adequate, although my breakfast kipper (a £3.50 supplement despite breakfast being included) was very small with no garnish or accompanying items.

The receptionist appeared to think our room was lovely. The bed was great, but we had an ugly view of the air conditioning units, which hummed all night.

On returning from the theatre we attempted to get a drink, but despite 3 people waiting there was no bar staff.

Looks lovely for weddings, but there are more conveniently placed hotels in Stratford and not as close to a major road

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neillawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, as the General Manager responsible for the hotel, I was disappointed to read your comments, however, all feedback is valuable to us, and we will ensure that the issues your raise are addressed wherever possible. Steve Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

stayed at this hotel as a stopover traveling from the lake district to the south coast. What a great choice, from arrival to the departure (unfortunately!) the staff,the service,the qaulity and the food were all exceptional many thanks for a great nights relaxation during what was a difficult two day journey.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murray899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

My daughter has just got married at Alveston Manor and we could not fault the hotel in any way. On arriving on Friday night the reception staff were efficient and helpful. Laura the wedding coordinator was there to meet us to discuss any last minute details. We stopped two nights in the coach house, the room was very large and comfortable, with the most enormous bed! On Saturday, the wedding day, everything went very smoothly and we could not fault the staff. The events team were great, especially Jon, who made sure everything ran according to plan. The garden and grounds are lovely and as we had a barbeque in the evening it made a great ending to a fantastic day. My daughter and new husband were so pleased they had picked such a great wedding venue. Thanks Alveston Manor! We would recommend the hotel to anyone who is looking for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ollielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor, I am delighted that your daughter and son in law enjoyed their wedding day, we aim to ensure that a memorable day is had by all. May I offer them my very best wishes for the future. Steve Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#17 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,816 reviews
4.1 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#12 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,926 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £76 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing