We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very attentive staff, great room and lovely atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very attentive staff, great room and lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

I have just returned from a weekend visit to this hotel with my husband and a group of Aston Martin owners and can rate this hotel very highly. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by the staff and had exclusive ability to park around the gardens infront of the hotel. Our room (in the new area), although a good walk from the reception and hotel facilities was large, clean and very quiet both Friday and Saturday nights, with a beautiful picture window onto one of the car parks and the sunset! The manager, Steve, was very interested in our Aston Martin group's stay and was very attentive throughout the visit, directing traffic as we left the hotel and keen to record the event for the hotel on our departure.
Breakfast was buffet style in the hotel restaurant with a wide choice of fruit and cereals, meats and cheeses, and hot food was cooked to order with plenty of time between courses without the feeling of being rushed. The staff were all very courteous and helpful.
We enjoyed a private dinner on Saturday night for about 40 of us, this alongside catering for a wedding in another room, and once again we had very attentive staff who didn't rush us through our meal. The food was of excellent standard and once again a great choice.
Alvaston Manor is situated within 10 minutes' walking distance of Stratford centre and an ideal location for exploring Shakespeare country and the surrounding districts. The hotel has a charming atmosphere and a great history being built in Tudor style and dating back to the 17th century

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2010
Management response from
GMAlveston, General Manager
Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, the team aspire to delivering excellent customer service and I am delighted that they helped to make your stay a memorable one; such positive feedback is always welcome. Steve Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    729
    536
    288
    151
See reviews for
358
1,297
37
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

Despite the fact we picked the days it rained continuously, i was pleased to be back in Stratford celebrating my 5th year with my boyfriend. We visited on our 1st year together and decided then that we would come back for our 5th year!
The hotel is beautiful and you are made to feel welcome from the moment you walk in. All hotel employees are polite, friendly and nothing is too much trouble! The Concierge said we had a look about us like we'd there before- relaxed and happy! The facilities are amazing with a free gym and pool including sauna and steam, the food is fantastic andh the town is only a short walk away even in the rain!
He proposed that night in the resturant and we booked our 2012 wedding there the next day! I'm sure we'll fit a few more stays in this hotel before we're married! I miss the place when i'm not there. Throughly recommend it!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justjessuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2010
Management response from
GMAlveston, General Manager
Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, the team aspire to delivering excellent customer service and I am delighted that they helped to make your stay a memorable one; such positive feedback is always welcome. Steve Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

Organised and stayed at this hotel as part of my daughters wedding. The organisation was superb, the venue was excellent and the service was of excellent quality. Would highly recomment this hotel for a wedding or a hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tutting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2010
Management response from
GMAlveston, General Manager
Thank you for posting your comments, it is very important that we helped to make your wedding day special and memorable, and I am delighted that we achieved this; I will ensure that all the staff receive your thanks. My very best wishes for the future. Steve Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

A lovely,friendly hotel in a truly Shakespearian setting.with staff and facilities who are very caring under the umbrella of a first class general manager.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordglenlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2010
Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel, the team aspire to delivering excellent customer satisfaction and such positive feedback is always welcome. Steve Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

Our visit was to celebrate my wife's birthday and there was a welcome note and a small gift from the manager in our room. It was a pleasant personal touch. The leisure facilities were excellent and the staff were all helpfull. We will visit again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2010
Thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us, the team aspire to delivering excellent customer service and such positive feedback is always welcome. Steve Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

We stayed overnight for our first visit to the hotel and stardford upon avon, I can say we had a fantastic experience, my husband is disabled in a wheelchair and the hotel provided us with a room on the ground floor, the reception staff escorted us to our room. The staff we fantastic too, they certainly know how to treat guests, I would reccomend this hotel to anyone. Thanks for a lovely stay

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppins1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2010
Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, the team aspire to delivering excellent customer service and I am delighted that they helped to make your stay a memorable one; such positive feedback is always welcome. Steve Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

We booked, and paid for, a 3 night half-board break in a "De Luxe" room as it was our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. No one should do the same.

Administration was incompetent fro start to finish. The bouquet of flowers that I ordered, a surprise for my wife, was not in the room on arrival, as requested. On departure, the presented bill was incorrect as my half-board booking (although pre-paid) had only been registered as bed and breakfast and so I was being charged again for our evening dinners.

Housekeeping and maintenance were sloppy, not to say dirty. On arrival, at 5.15 pm, we carried our own bags up a small flight of stairs which had torn carpet and circumvented a tray of dirty dishes on the half-landing outside our room. A similar tray of dishes was left there each day and, on our third night, was still there when we went to bed.!! The so-called "De Luxe" room came with mould or dirt round the bath, limescale on the plug, stains on both armchairs, a standard lamp that did not work and whose holder was covered in dust, an ageing carpet with joins that were a tripping danger and no safe for valuables. The rest of the hotel was little better. We sat for our 3 nights in the middle section of the restaurant along with 5 wall ights (we had plenty of time to count them as you will see later), 3 of which had faulty bulbs, adding to the dismal ambience. There, we met another couple on their 57th wedding anniversary and they had been unable to enter their bedroom. Neither could the Area Manager who came to help them. The answer, in the end, was that the battery in the door had given up the ghost.

The restaurant was an utter shambles. The first shock was to see a £25 maximum for half board guests in tiny print at the foot of the menu. Neither on the website or in reception had we been made aware of this. Not only was the service dire (it took 2 and a half hours for 3 courses) but the food was sparse. I ordered a simple prawn cocktail starter and receive 9 small prawns on 2 tiny lettuce leaves in the middle of a huge plate (£6.15) Ordering my main course, I asked the waitress how much vegetable came with the fish and she replied, "a bit of cabbage." It filled a teaspoon. To have anything substantial, you are craftily manoevered into additional costly side orders. It took 2 and a quarter hours before someone asked what we would like for sweet. This question should not have been needed had our dietary requirements (given at recepton on arrival) been passed on to the restaurant as promised. More poor administration. Still on the theme of sub-standard food, the following night my wife ordered a goat's cheese salad and received an uncooked, cold piece of round goat's cheese on a diced beetroot (£12.75) I could go on but you get the flavour (unlike us) As a rider, our final night's meal was reasonable and we were informed that there was a different chef on that night. This was no consolation for a horrific meal on our anniversary night, a definite example of appalling service and a lack of value for money.

The hotel is "sloppy." It is ideally located in a tourist hot-spot. It is as if it does not need to try as the coach parties come and go (there were 2 there in our 3 days, one a set of Japanese tourists) Coach parties haven't the time to complain. The hotel probably more than meets its financial targets but nothing works efficiently and it is in serious need of an upgrade. The elderly couple who were also there on their wedding anniversary had just come fropm the Macdonald Guisborough Hotel and said that it was far superior to Alveston Manor, no £25 limit on half-board meals, plenty of ample portions of food and top quality service. I am led to believe that the £25 limit at Alveston was enforced by Head Office. I wonder if it is because the tourists, attracted by its location, just keep on coming here to rack up the side-orders and sample a large glass of wine at £10 each.

I expressed my disappointment on departure and have since received an apology and the offer of one night's half-board at Alveston Manor from the Operations Manager which I have declined.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LawmanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at the Alveston Manor Hotel, we continue to strive to improve service and delivery to our guests and again I apologise if you felt let down on this occasion. We are currently repainting and re tiling bathrooms throughout the hotel and look forward to 2011 when the hotel will see a 5 million pound refurbishment. In the meantime, please contact me personally, if you would like to discuss any issues in more detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing