We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical overpriced hotel in tourist hot spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Restaurant poorly organised
Breakfast average for price
Staff friendly and mostly helpful
But: a £2 charge for credit card??
In it's favour is the location.
We would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigapix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2011

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you felt we were overpriced, clearly we did not live up to expectations on this occasion. As part of the Macdonald Group, we do pride ourselves on the quality of the breakfast we serve and I am sorry you were disappointed, I hope that you will visit us in the future, so that we may have the opportunity to show what we can achieve. Regards, Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,197 - 2,203 of 2,456 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2011

I was quite anxious about staying here... A lot of the previous recent reviews were very negative about this place, but on closer inspection it was because of bad experience in the restaurant.
So I cancelled the meal part of the package and just instead enjoyed the spa, the lovely room and the generous breakfast...
It really was a lovely one night 'treat' for my partner and I. The service - especially at breakfast - was impeccable; the spa spotless and well-equipped and as we stayed in the older part of the hotel (which I would recommend as the 'new wing' looked a bit soulless) the room had a lovely period feel to it.
I must confess that after my stay here, that unless the restaurant is truly awful (and breakfast was not - it was great) then perhaps this hotel has been the victim of over-picky reviewers. This is not only unfair on the hotel but does in fact ruin the value of the trip advisor forum -- please give measured reviews and, if you don't mind me saying, not blow out of proportion tiny misdemeanours!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank padulino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that we were able to allay your fears about staying with us, and thank you for putting things into perspective. We hope that next time you visit us, yuo will take the opportunity to dine in our restaurant when i am sure you will be served a meal of the standard we aspire to.
Regards, Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Our first experience of Alveston Manor was when we were looking at a number of hotels in the area to use for our Wedding on 30th January 2009. Upon entering the hotel the concierge, Andrew, asked us if we needed any assistance. At the time, the Wedding Co-ordinator was not available to assist and, as we had only dropped in whilst passing by, and not local to Stratford Andrew, very kindly showed us most of the hotel facilities there and then.

This was a typical example of the constant high level of service from all the staff and one of the contributory factors for us choosing Alveston Manor for our big day.

Our second experience was meeting with your wedding co-ordinator, Laura, to discuss packages and availability. She was very knowledgeable and brought items to our attention that we had not even though about. Laura was also extremely patient with us as we embarked on all the debates around number of people attending, timings, menu choices, etc. In the midst of our panic we had begun to feel about the task at hand, her calm approach was tremendously reassuring.

Even our visit for the pre wedding taster meal turned into a great weekend. The restaurant staff were knowledgeable of the wedding menus and helpful regarding the wines on offer, so we easily came to a decision after sampling a selection of food and wine.

Upon arrival for our wedding, we handed over the table decorations and briefed Laura on what would be arriving separately and how the tables needed to be laid out. We had not provided photographs or anything else but the decorations. Despite this, Laura did an amazing job, creating the exact arrangement we wanted. Fabulous! During the whole weekend of our wedding she was on hand to offer assistance when ever required, even supplying, out of the blue, a much needed glass of champagne following the ceremony.

Andrew seemingly appeared to be around during the whole weekend and always asked us if everything was ok and if we needed anything whenever he saw us.

During the wedding breakfast, the waiting staff were first rate and ensured everyone was looked after.

All in all the whole staff gave exceptional service with attention to detail not just to us, but to all of our guests also, from the youngest to the oldest. Nothing was too much trouble

We visited again for our 1st wedding anniversary and the service received was again fabulous. It just felt like coming home after a long time away. We returned to Alveston Manor for our 2nd anniversary and celebrated in familiar surroundings with as always the same fabulous service.

So a massive thank you from us both to all the staff at Alveston Manor, who make it all fall into place effortlessly. Special thanks definitely go to Laura and Andrew.

Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsDoc41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2011

Thank you for posting your wonderful comments about your special day and the team at the hotel, I am delighted that we have lived up to expectations for your first and second wedding anniversaries, and we look forward to welcoming you back next year. Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Stayed at the Alveston Manor with my husband, brother and his wife for the weekend. Everything from check in to check out was excellent. The room was spacious and spotless and welcoming. Breakfast in the morning was very good with lots of choice and the smoked haddock was delicious. The hotel is near to the marina and ideally situated for the centre of Stratford where we spent our time taking in the sites. We went up to the top of the RSC where the views were excellent.. We had our evening meals on both nights in the hotel where the service in the dining room was second to none. The Caesar salad was awesome! Would recommend this hotel to you for a pleasant weekend getaway. Thank you very much :)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoulSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2011

Thank you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of yuor stay with us and hope to welcome you back sometime soon. Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary - by adding this information to our booking form we were given a card and luxury chocolates! Such touches are always appreciated and I would recommend this hotel.
Our welcome on arrival was charming and efficient and started the break off well.
The leisure/spa facilites were very good; I had a beauty treatment as well and was very pleased. The staff know the area well and were able to recommend a decent route for a 10k run.
The room was clean, comfortable and well decorated.
We did not eat in the hotel (room only package) but you are only a 5-10 minute walk away from Stratford's cafes and restaurant so it did not seem necessary. I did notice a VERY long queue for breakfast on the Sunday morning as we were checking out though!

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank familyholidaymakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always like to acknowledge special occasions if at all possible and it is good to know that this is appreciated by our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back. Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

The purpose of this stay was to catch up with old friends and from this perspective, we had a great time. However, I can only echo the comments of other recent reviewers. The hotel was exceptionally cold every where but we did manage to warm our room using the aircon controls. The evening meal was just about adequate - same dishes were not consistant and my steak was so thin that it could not possibly be cooked rare.And as we said to the duty manager, we could have driven home and cooked breakfast ourselves in the time it took ours to arrive (one hour plus).
On the positive side, our room was ready when we checked in at 11.45 and the discount they gave us on checking out was very generous.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haveyougotthemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2011

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that we did not meet expectations on this occasion, and I will discuss your feedback with those departments concerned, to ensure improvements in the future.
In view of the extreme weather conditions we have experienced this year, we are now in the process of installing additional heating in some of the public areas in the hotel, for the comfort of our future guests. I am pleased that we were able to offer a good will gesture on your departure. Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Hotel location is good,if you would like to stay in town.Rooms are clean,service is very professional from booking and including check out time.
Swimming pool side and showers were not particularly clean during our stay.
But friendly ,attentive staff and great breakfast made our visit overall quite pleasant.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
Thank yelena22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2011

Dear guest
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, and comments about the hotel. I will personally visit the pool area, we normally receive excellent comments about this facility, and I am sorry if the standards did not meet expectations during your visit. Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,999 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,767 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,824 reviews
4.0 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £84 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing