We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sequoia House(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Lodge(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Thistle(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Arden Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Payton Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
Reviews (2,571)
Filter reviews
2,571 results
Traveller rating
688
798
591
314
180
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
688
798
591
314
180
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach houselovely hoteltown centrespa breakevening mealleisure facilitiesold buildingfour postershort breakwithin easy walking distancefew minutes walkafternoon teastayed for one nighta lovely staystratfordweddingcharacter
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,307 - 2,312 of 2,571 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We stayed here on Sunday & Monday on the Valentine special package, we had a wonderful room and had our valentine meal in the restaurant, it could not have been better, Keith Robinson - Restaurant Manager was excellent, he greeted us as we arrived handed us our Champange and explained about the specials that were on that evening, we both had the Rack of lamb that was absolutely perfect. We would have no hesitation in recommended this hotel to our friends and family and are looking forward to a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theblonde64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. We strive to deliver on hundred per cent customer satisfaction and it is good to receive such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back. Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

From the time we stepped up to the reception desk until the time we walked out the doors, we were treated with the utmost respect..
The staff were always courteous and extremely helpful thoughout.
Everywhere was clean,neat and tidy.
Food was superb.

Many thanks to all!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank labpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We strive to deliver excellent customer service to our guests, and it is always good to receive such positive comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

booked double room got two beds put together and fell though during the night. the food you could not eat chef ran off when we wanted to talk to him staff unhelpful overpriced

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank city0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2011

Thank you for your comments, clearly we did not meet with expectations on this occasion, and I can only apologise for any disappointment. Regards, Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Restaurant poorly organised
Breakfast average for price
Staff friendly and mostly helpful
But: a £2 charge for credit card??
In it's favour is the location.
We would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigapix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2011

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you felt we were overpriced, clearly we did not live up to expectations on this occasion. As part of the Macdonald Group, we do pride ourselves on the quality of the breakfast we serve and I am sorry you were disappointed, I hope that you will visit us in the future, so that we may have the opportunity to show what we can achieve. Regards, Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I was quite anxious about staying here... A lot of the previous recent reviews were very negative about this place, but on closer inspection it was because of bad experience in the restaurant.
So I cancelled the meal part of the package and just instead enjoyed the spa, the lovely room and the generous breakfast...
It really was a lovely one night 'treat' for my partner and I. The service - especially at breakfast - was impeccable; the spa spotless and well-equipped and as we stayed in the older part of the hotel (which I would recommend as the 'new wing' looked a bit soulless) the room had a lovely period feel to it.
I must confess that after my stay here, that unless the restaurant is truly awful (and breakfast was not - it was great) then perhaps this hotel has been the victim of over-picky reviewers. This is not only unfair on the hotel but does in fact ruin the value of the trip advisor forum -- please give measured reviews and, if you don't mind me saying, not blow out of proportion tiny misdemeanours!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank padulino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that we were able to allay your fears about staying with us, and thank you for putting things into perspective. We hope that next time you visit us, yuo will take the opportunity to dine in our restaurant when i am sure you will be served a meal of the standard we aspire to.
Regards, Steven Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews