We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

We stayed here last weekend and I thought the place was lovely. We only stayed for one night and having been with Macdonalds before, I had high expectations. These were mostly fulfilled. The Spa was not as 'spa-like' as I expected but I enjoyed the steam room and sauna regardless. One of the problems we had whilst there was that there was an unexplained powercut during dinner which meant that we were unable to have our main meal. The staff worked really hard and were under a lot of pressure but the fact that we were waiting for so many hours meant that by 10:30 I was feeling rather faint. We then had to run across the bridge and find somewhere else to eat. THIS WAS NOT THE HOTEL'S FAULT, I must reiterate and they did give us £50 back as we had already paid out for our evening meal in advance which was generous. Overall, it was a nice hotel and if I visit Stratford again I would stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
I am pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and can only apologise most sincerely that due to circumstances beyond our control, we were subjected to a lengthy power cut and unable to fulfill our commitments for dinner. Thank you very much for your understanding and patience. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    729
    536
    288
    151
See reviews for
358
1,297
37
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

This was our third visit to this wonderful place and had my concerns about the reviews that had been left recently, especially as we booked our wedding here in 2012!
We went from Friday and VERY reluctantly left on Sunday after attending the wedding fayre, I haven't seen Laura (wedding planner) or Andrew since last September but myself and my man were recognised with a friendly hug- great service!
We went for my birthday, had a wonderful treatment in the spa and happily the wedding fayre fell on the Sunday where i collected info for my wedding next August.
As usual were welcomed with a smile, food was amazing again, warm and cosy (even with the powercut)
If you're visiting and have issues- speak to the staff- they'll sort them! It is a pricey place, but i truely believe you get what you pay for and i live on a tight budget!
I'm so looking forward to coming back in August and then again in December, we'll try and fit in one more stay before our wedding there in 2012!
Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justjessuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
I am delighted that you have booked your wedding here in 2012, the Alveston Manor offers a perfect setting. Thank you for taking the time to post such positive comments particularly about the staff who work very hard to deliver excellent customer service. We look forward to seeing you later in the year. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

We stayed here on Sunday & Monday on the Valentine special package, we had a wonderful room and had our valentine meal in the restaurant, it could not have been better, Keith Robinson - Restaurant Manager was excellent, he greeted us as we arrived handed us our Champange and explained about the specials that were on that evening, we both had the Rack of lamb that was absolutely perfect. We would have no hesitation in recommended this hotel to our friends and family and are looking forward to a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theblonde64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. We strive to deliver on hundred per cent customer satisfaction and it is good to receive such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

From the time we stepped up to the reception desk until the time we walked out the doors, we were treated with the utmost respect..
The staff were always courteous and extremely helpful thoughout.
Everywhere was clean,neat and tidy.
Food was superb.

Many thanks to all!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We strive to deliver excellent customer service to our guests, and it is always good to receive such positive comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

booked double room got two beds put together and fell though during the night. the food you could not eat chef ran off when we wanted to talk to him staff unhelpful overpriced

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank city0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Thank you for your comments, clearly we did not meet with expectations on this occasion, and I can only apologise for any disappointment. Regards, Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

Restaurant poorly organised
Breakfast average for price
Staff friendly and mostly helpful
But: a £2 charge for credit card??
In it's favour is the location.
We would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigapix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you felt we were overpriced, clearly we did not live up to expectations on this occasion. As part of the Macdonald Group, we do pride ourselves on the quality of the breakfast we serve and I am sorry you were disappointed, I hope that you will visit us in the future, so that we may have the opportunity to show what we can achieve. Regards, Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
padulino
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

I was quite anxious about staying here... A lot of the previous recent reviews were very negative about this place, but on closer inspection it was because of bad experience in the restaurant.
So I cancelled the meal part of the package and just instead enjoyed the spa, the lovely room and the generous breakfast...
It really was a lovely one night 'treat' for my partner and I. The service - especially at breakfast - was impeccable; the spa spotless and well-equipped and as we stayed in the older part of the hotel (which I would recommend as the 'new wing' looked a bit soulless) the room had a lovely period feel to it.
I must confess that after my stay here, that unless the restaurant is truly awful (and breakfast was not - it was great) then perhaps this hotel has been the victim of over-picky reviewers. This is not only unfair on the hotel but does in fact ruin the value of the trip advisor forum -- please give measured reviews and, if you don't mind me saying, not blow out of proportion tiny misdemeanours!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padulino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that we were able to allay your fears about staying with us, and thank you for putting things into perspective. We hope that next time you visit us, yuo will take the opportunity to dine in our restaurant when i am sure you will be served a meal of the standard we aspire to.
Regards, Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing