We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and professional helpful staff team.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent service and professional helpful staff team.”
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed for four days at the hotel. We frequently go away for midweek and weekend breaks but the Alveston Manor was one of our best stays. We could not get over how helpful and friendly all the staff team were from the warm welcome in reception, restaurant staff and even the groundsmen were cheerful and polite. The room was very comfortable, clean and had everything to make our stay pleasurable. Stratford was brilliant, loads to do, walks superb and mountains of restaurants and to choose from as well as the theatres. We had the most wonderful stay, thank you.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnoonoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay in Stratford upon Avon. The team at the Alveston Manor aspire to delivering a professional but warm and friendly service and it is great to receive such positive feedback. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    737
    538
    291
    153
See reviews for
360
1,310
38
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

This hotel is grossly over priced. I don't mind paying top prices but then I expect to receice a top quality product. Whatever you do, don't find yourself in the chair when ordering a round of drinks!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murryfield1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
We are very sorry that you felt that we were over priced, however, I can assure you that our prices are very much in line with the four star hotels within the Stratford area. Whilst I appreciate that drinks can be purchased at a lower cost at local super markets and public houses, we do provide a higher expectation of service and quality of product. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

Sutton, Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. All the staff that we encountered were friendly and attentive. Our room was perfect but we would strongly recommend that you request one in the original Manor as the rooms situated behind the hotel did not have the character that ours did. I believe you pay a premium for this request but I don't think you will be disappointed.
We ate in the restaurant on both evenings and whilst the meals were good (particularly the home-made bread) we did feel they were slightly over-priced. That said, we had no cause for complaint and the breakfast more than made up for the evening meals, being amongst the best we have ever had! On the second evening there was a very unexpected power failure throughout the entire hotel that lasted an hour before an engineer managed to re-connect the electricity supply. The staff kept us informed of progress during the entire episode and made sure that everyone was comfortable, and more importantly safe during the entire time. I have to say if anything the power failure added to the atmosphere, with t-lights the main source of light in most of the public areas there was a very romantic feel! Well done Alveston Manor for coping so well in a crisis!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireSuttonSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisr. We ar pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We will shortly be reviewing our menu and take on board all comments received from our customers. Thank you for your patience and understanding during the power cut.
Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We stayed here last weekend and I thought the place was lovely. We only stayed for one night and having been with Macdonalds before, I had high expectations. These were mostly fulfilled. The Spa was not as 'spa-like' as I expected but I enjoyed the steam room and sauna regardless. One of the problems we had whilst there was that there was an unexplained powercut during dinner which meant that we were unable to have our main meal. The staff worked really hard and were under a lot of pressure but the fact that we were waiting for so many hours meant that by 10:30 I was feeling rather faint. We then had to run across the bridge and find somewhere else to eat. THIS WAS NOT THE HOTEL'S FAULT, I must reiterate and they did give us £50 back as we had already paid out for our evening meal in advance which was generous. Overall, it was a nice hotel and if I visit Stratford again I would stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
I am pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and can only apologise most sincerely that due to circumstances beyond our control, we were subjected to a lengthy power cut and unable to fulfill our commitments for dinner. Thank you very much for your understanding and patience. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

This was our third visit to this wonderful place and had my concerns about the reviews that had been left recently, especially as we booked our wedding here in 2012!
We went from Friday and VERY reluctantly left on Sunday after attending the wedding fayre, I haven't seen Laura (wedding planner) or Andrew since last September but myself and my man were recognised with a friendly hug- great service!
We went for my birthday, had a wonderful treatment in the spa and happily the wedding fayre fell on the Sunday where i collected info for my wedding next August.
As usual were welcomed with a smile, food was amazing again, warm and cosy (even with the powercut)
If you're visiting and have issues- speak to the staff- they'll sort them! It is a pricey place, but i truely believe you get what you pay for and i live on a tight budget!
I'm so looking forward to coming back in August and then again in December, we'll try and fit in one more stay before our wedding there in 2012!
Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justjessuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
I am delighted that you have booked your wedding here in 2012, the Alveston Manor offers a perfect setting. Thank you for taking the time to post such positive comments particularly about the staff who work very hard to deliver excellent customer service. We look forward to seeing you later in the year. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We stayed here on Sunday & Monday on the Valentine special package, we had a wonderful room and had our valentine meal in the restaurant, it could not have been better, Keith Robinson - Restaurant Manager was excellent, he greeted us as we arrived handed us our Champange and explained about the specials that were on that evening, we both had the Rack of lamb that was absolutely perfect. We would have no hesitation in recommended this hotel to our friends and family and are looking forward to a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theblonde64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. We strive to deliver on hundred per cent customer satisfaction and it is good to receive such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

From the time we stepped up to the reception desk until the time we walked out the doors, we were treated with the utmost respect..
The staff were always courteous and extremely helpful thoughout.
Everywhere was clean,neat and tidy.
Food was superb.

Many thanks to all!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We strive to deliver excellent customer service to our guests, and it is always good to receive such positive comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#13 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing