We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Stayed one night only. Staff could not have been more helpful. We arrived early and were told that because they had been busy we could not get a room till 14:00. The concierge treated us to a coffee and talked us thru some of the delights of Stratford upon Avon and invited us to use the leisure facilities. After a wander around town we returned at about 14:00 to find still no room so reception upgraded us free of charge to a suite.
When we booked we requested a room in the main house, and checked before traveling that this would be the case. Some guests were complaining about being given a modern room, so if you want to be in the main house make sure you book it.
We were on bed & breakfast so didn't use the restaurant for evening meal. There are plenty of places to eat within easy walking distance from the hotel. We used the "Pen & Parchment" just over the bridge, The roast dinner was very good and good value for money.
We got a discount on this hotel thru "Tesco Clubcard". Not sure I would have paid full price, although it is a delightful place. Carved wood paneling all through the main part of the hotel with landscaped grounds.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevorbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
Thank you for your kind comments, I am pleased that the concierge was able to offer some helpful advice. We hope to welcome you back. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    743
    542
    295
    153
See reviews for
368
1,320
38
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We choose this hotel to stay in as we had previously stayed at another Macdonald Hotel, The Randolph, in Oxford. This hotel is not in the same league. The hotel is situated in an excellent location just across the Clopton Bridge from Stratford Town Centre. The main building is of an elizabethan style and very picturesque. However the room we stayed in was in the modern rear of the building and was an average hotel room. The room was described as having a king size bed, in reality this was two beds zipped together and uncomfortable along the join. The room was clean, but the bathroom could have done with a re-fit and looked tired and old fashioned. With our deal we got 3 £10 vouchers per night stay, which we had to "remind" the receptionist about.

We had decided to pay extra for an evening meal. BIG , BIG MISTAKE. On the first night we decided to eat at 8.15. The restaurant was busy and although the waiter took our order for wine very quickly, (cheapest bottle £20), they did take some time to take our dinner order. We accepted this as it was very busy and the head waiter brought us a glass some sparkling wine as compensation. The food was good but expensive. On the second night we decided to eat early at 6.30. There where only a few guests in the restaurant and some of them were almost finished as they were going to the theatre. Again the waiter took our drink order, very quickly, after waiting 45 minutes for our dinner order to be taken we decided we could not wait any longer and left. We complained at reception, advising them we did not want to pay for the wine and that we would not be eating in the restaurant again and could they amend our bill to reflect this, which they said they would do. We also experienced long delays at breakfast. Avoid the restaurant, it is overpriced and service is appaling. There are some excellent restaurants in Sheep Street, use these instead.

We also used the pool and spa treatment areas and these were very good.

This is not a 4 Star Hotel and Macdonald Hotels need to spend money not only on the rooms but employing staff who know how to run a hotel properly.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Thank you very much for reviewing the Alveston Manor Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you found our world class, 5 star, Randolph Hotel in Oxford to be of a very high standard. I will take the opportunity to pass your comments on to the General Manager at that Hotel.
I am sorry, however, that you found some aspects of yuor stay with us to be less than satisfactory. We always aim to provide one hundred per cent customer service and I am sorry if we did not achieve it on this occasion. I will take the opportunity to ensure that our restaurant team take action to rectify any issues that you encountered during you visit. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed for four days at the hotel. We frequently go away for midweek and weekend breaks but the Alveston Manor was one of our best stays. We could not get over how helpful and friendly all the staff team were from the warm welcome in reception, restaurant staff and even the groundsmen were cheerful and polite. The room was very comfortable, clean and had everything to make our stay pleasurable. Stratford was brilliant, loads to do, walks superb and mountains of restaurants and to choose from as well as the theatres. We had the most wonderful stay, thank you.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnoonoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay in Stratford upon Avon. The team at the Alveston Manor aspire to delivering a professional but warm and friendly service and it is great to receive such positive feedback. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

This hotel is grossly over priced. I don't mind paying top prices but then I expect to receice a top quality product. Whatever you do, don't find yourself in the chair when ordering a round of drinks!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murryfield1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
We are very sorry that you felt that we were over priced, however, I can assure you that our prices are very much in line with the four star hotels within the Stratford area. Whilst I appreciate that drinks can be purchased at a lower cost at local super markets and public houses, we do provide a higher expectation of service and quality of product. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

Sutton, Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. All the staff that we encountered were friendly and attentive. Our room was perfect but we would strongly recommend that you request one in the original Manor as the rooms situated behind the hotel did not have the character that ours did. I believe you pay a premium for this request but I don't think you will be disappointed.
We ate in the restaurant on both evenings and whilst the meals were good (particularly the home-made bread) we did feel they were slightly over-priced. That said, we had no cause for complaint and the breakfast more than made up for the evening meals, being amongst the best we have ever had! On the second evening there was a very unexpected power failure throughout the entire hotel that lasted an hour before an engineer managed to re-connect the electricity supply. The staff kept us informed of progress during the entire episode and made sure that everyone was comfortable, and more importantly safe during the entire time. I have to say if anything the power failure added to the atmosphere, with t-lights the main source of light in most of the public areas there was a very romantic feel! Well done Alveston Manor for coping so well in a crisis!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireSuttonSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisr. We ar pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We will shortly be reviewing our menu and take on board all comments received from our customers. Thank you for your patience and understanding during the power cut.
Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We stayed here last weekend and I thought the place was lovely. We only stayed for one night and having been with Macdonalds before, I had high expectations. These were mostly fulfilled. The Spa was not as 'spa-like' as I expected but I enjoyed the steam room and sauna regardless. One of the problems we had whilst there was that there was an unexplained powercut during dinner which meant that we were unable to have our main meal. The staff worked really hard and were under a lot of pressure but the fact that we were waiting for so many hours meant that by 10:30 I was feeling rather faint. We then had to run across the bridge and find somewhere else to eat. THIS WAS NOT THE HOTEL'S FAULT, I must reiterate and they did give us £50 back as we had already paid out for our evening meal in advance which was generous. Overall, it was a nice hotel and if I visit Stratford again I would stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
I am pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and can only apologise most sincerely that due to circumstances beyond our control, we were subjected to a lengthy power cut and unable to fulfill our commitments for dinner. Thank you very much for your understanding and patience. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

This was our third visit to this wonderful place and had my concerns about the reviews that had been left recently, especially as we booked our wedding here in 2012!
We went from Friday and VERY reluctantly left on Sunday after attending the wedding fayre, I haven't seen Laura (wedding planner) or Andrew since last September but myself and my man were recognised with a friendly hug- great service!
We went for my birthday, had a wonderful treatment in the spa and happily the wedding fayre fell on the Sunday where i collected info for my wedding next August.
As usual were welcomed with a smile, food was amazing again, warm and cosy (even with the powercut)
If you're visiting and have issues- speak to the staff- they'll sort them! It is a pricey place, but i truely believe you get what you pay for and i live on a tight budget!
I'm so looking forward to coming back in August and then again in December, we'll try and fit in one more stay before our wedding there in 2012!
Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justjessuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
I am delighted that you have booked your wedding here in 2012, the Alveston Manor offers a perfect setting. Thank you for taking the time to post such positive comments particularly about the staff who work very hard to deliver excellent customer service. We look forward to seeing you later in the year. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,847 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,703 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,559 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing