We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hotel, prime location but MUST sort out overly slippy shower” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Nottingham
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel, prime location but MUST sort out overly slippy shower”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

The hotel was in a prime location for Stratford Upon Avon. The fact you are able to stay in the car park while you explore the town is a great benefit.

The check-in was quick, staff were polite and friendly, location was good, room was clean.

There were only 2 minor flaws, if I had to make a comment on something. 1 was the fact that the shower gets *extremely* slippy. I actually did fall over as I just totally lost my balance. While I am in my early 20's and managed to laugh it off after the odd bruise I can't help but feel concerned for elderly residents staying here. There is a warning, low down which tells people who are in the bath to take care when they get up but I missed this sign as it was low - and I was busy washing my hair not using a hand rail to get out the bath!! So really, I had no chance. I absolutely think it's essential they get one of those in-bath mat type things which prevent friction as my fall could have been much worse.

The second thing I would say is that the water in the sink tasted awful. So when I woke up in the middle of the night feeling really thirsty after realising there was no bottled water in the room I had to dash to the bathroom sink for a drink but it was really terrible. In hindsight I could have seen if the night porter could have served me bottled water at the bar but I was too tired to think about that at the time.

Everything else about my stay was brilliant - working TV, warm shower etc. I didn't eat at the hotel so couldn't comment on that.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suparuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    652
    350
    118
    71
See reviews for
297
897
43
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

A comfortable stay and good location with parking. Had dinner and breakfast in hotel once during our two night stay which was convenient and fine. Recommend Lambs for dinner and The Vinter for a full English brunch - both in Sheep Street. Hotel offers free pass to nearby public swimming pool.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMD65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

Ref recent 3 night stay with you:
service was appropriate at reception, dining staff had a pleasant attitude and were attentive and focused on their job. Bedroom was really attractive and very comfortable with enough room to move easily. Everything in working order too!
We found the location ideal for theatre and handy for us as we could rendezvous with daughter and she could get a day visitor car park ticket which makes life so much easier.
Lovely violas at the front make a good impression and were cared for.
Reception booked a room at your Grasmere Red Lion for us, very good service!
Breakfast a tad pricey so we had a bite in town.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seventhseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

The staff were great and the hotel spotless, the breakfast was exceptional, overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johncummins174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

Stayed here for one night on 23rd March 2011. Room 209 on 1st floor. Double bed. Everything fine about the room - I could hear traffic on the Warwick Road despite being in a room which was side on to the road - those at the front may be too noisy for one or two people. The room had a large LCD tv with plenty of channels, the usual kettle and mugs with tea,coffee etc ( sadly no biscuits ), hairdryer in the bedroom,trouser press , Toiletries in the en suite and quality towels.

Breakfast was satisfactory - lacked dried fruits but otherwise the continental was fine. I had my breakfast at 6.30am and a voice from the adjoining kitchen announced to colleageus in there that he was having a "$hit" day and there were something else that displeased him with the use of the "f word" too. Not sure who it was but I am sure management will be delighted to hear this but as they are probably not there at that time of the day - it's anything goes.

The big issue at this hotel is the car park - quite simply it is not big enough and needs to be controlled. There are far less spaces than rooms and whilst some will have no car - I am sure staff use the car park and there are some fly parkers too from time to time.

Stairs are just a little narrow too but not a major issue..

Would I stay here again - Yes.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HuddersfieldTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

One of the best hotels we have stayed at in the UK! "Old fashioned values" seem to be the secrect of success in this wonderful hotel. Only minus point - could do with a larger car park, but given the location don't think that will happen. Biggest plus point - the staff, they are all wonderful!

Will certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HierandHier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

Reception staff and Restaurant staff friendly and efficient.

Room clean and ample in size but a little dated. Hotel seemed to have lots of older people staying there.

Comfortable bed.

Within walking distance of town centre

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BeachBhudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully elegant, Grade II listed, 3 Star Georgian Hotel with 73 bedrooms, centrally located in Stratford upon Avon, just 3 minutes walk from the RSC Theatre and all main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Western Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford-Upon-Avon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing