We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My regular rendezvous in Stratford”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We enjoy theatre trips to Stratford and we enjoy the Grosvenor; this is our 4th stay there. Comfortable, friendly, attractive, professionally run, excellent breakfast and dinner, and well worth the money.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carorichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,594 - 1,600 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

We loved the hotel. This was the best [BEST WESTERN] we have stayed at.
Rooms very clean, Food good, Staff very polite & helpful. We will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forcenine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Staff were very friendly and always had a smile. We felt welcome and at ease. We booked in for bed and breakfast and the whole experience is one I would have no hesitation repeating. We had dinner one evening from the special menu and it was really lovely, Service was great. Well done! See you again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Was going to eat in the restaurant but walked in and looked for a table and then smelt how foisty it was, and walked out again and ate down the road. Room was at the front and very very warm and had to open window wide, and expose main road noise, had to turn "ceiling fan on at max" and then found some sort of bed bug in the double bed, but dropped it on carpet as about to complain, which had very visible wear, as in holes in the sheets. Stayed last night at the Moat House, Best Western in Reading which is always spot on. Was careful to check this Grosvenor out as a Platinum member and decided to book here and not in Kenilworth whcih had a poor rating, but alas to no avail. Room very tired as corridors and carpets are, hotel needs a full refurb to justify the price of £109 for single occupancy for business user, and no biscuits or simple hot chocolate, someone is having a laugh!. Public areas all warm and foisty as well, needs severe ventilating.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carpet08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Once we arrived at the hotel and parked we didn't use the car again until we checked out.
Reasonably priced hotel and very good breakfasts. We were within a short walk of every place we wanted to visit so it was an ideal location.One drawback we found was that the parking was a bit tight in the car park and I don't know where you could park if it was full.
Apart from that we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

My wife and I had decided to do something different for our upcoming 40th Wedding Anniversary and go for one of the Murder Mystery Weekends offered by the hotel. We invited some family and friends along and on the Saturday evening dressed up in seventies party clothes. It is fair to say that everyone in our party had a great time from start to finish. In our view the hotel was excellent in every respect including meals, and the staff helful and polite. The hotel was central to Stratford which meant an easy walk to the centre of town and course the various attractions on offer.This was our first time attending a Murder Mystery Weekend and I have to say the company actors involved in the Murder plot were excellent with good interaction with us during the weekend. Our thanks go to Jack and his crew for not only making this a memorable weekend, but also judging which couple in our party had the best sevenites kit on. We would most definitely return and once again thanks to the hotel staff for making our family weekend so special.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2011

I'd like to thank you for your nice comments about last weekends Murder Mystery Break. Having run the events about 25 times a year for nearly 10 years, we have built up a great reputation for the quality of the food, service and acting provided by 'It's Murder'. It is still very encouraging to hear such positive comments and I'm sure my team will be grateful after their hard work. I look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

This place is a nice environment but beware booking in advance, some of the staff and management is profoundly less than kind or reasonable. We paid for and were charged for three nights and only stayed two, we did not ask for a refund just to move one night so we could get what we paid for, not only did they refuse that but we were told breakfast was included, when we expressed our concerns as to the over-charge of 1 night they refused and even said we couldn't checkout early without being charged an extra night. Then they reneged on breakfast. Very unkind and retaliatory. I have never experiences this before. We would NEVER stay there again so travelers BEWARE not to get ripped offby this place. Thank Goodness Best Wester Intl. USA made it right but as far as any local help from these people: forget it,find someplace else more consumer friendly as they are anything but consumer friendly and BTW the place up the street on the corner is owned by the same people. They also advertise air conditioning and there was NONE and it was rather hot!!! There is a B & B accros the street that is more economical and much freindlier. Don't let uncooperative and unreasonable staff at this place ruin your vacation. We are glad to be out of there, as far as the city, it's a great place. I am also lodging a complaint with the British Tourism Bureau for overcharging tourists. My advice, find someplace else. Happy Travels.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petrollaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2011

I have read your comments and think it is a shame you failed to understand the rate you booked yourself on a travel agents website for the hotel. In order to benefit from our cheapest advance saver rate, you booked a non changeable room only rate that didn't include breakfast and hence why we wouldn't allow you to alter the booking. A slightly more expensive but flexible rate allows changes and I suggest in future you consider that so you don't get so confused about what you think you booked. We also do offer 12 Executive rooms with air conditioning but you didn't book one of these, even though they were available at the time on the website you used, but do cost an £15 extra per night and offer excellent value and comfort especially in the summertime. As cost was obviously an issue for you, the town offers a wide range of accommodation providers at lower prices and sounds like they would be more suitable next time. I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip before returning to the States.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#12 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,925 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#8 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,191 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grosvenor Hotel

Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £52 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully elegant, Grade II listed, 3 Star Georgian Hotel with 73 bedrooms, centrally located in Stratford upon Avon, just 3 minutes walk from the RSC Theatre and all main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford-Upon-Avon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing