We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice place to stay and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Reviewed 8 December 2011

the room was clean i had acouple of issues which where dealt with speedily and efficiently, the aeril cable to the TV broke as it was too short and i moved the TV, a replacement was sourced quickly and no further problems, bereakfast and evening meal where both very good quality and value. the only issue i did have was that the window was very draughty, i ussually turn off all heating in rooms and evne open windows but the evening i stayed was particualalry windy and the draught was extremely uncomfortable as the nly place to put the chair and watch TV was in direct line iwth the chilly wind howling through, having said that i suspect this was the freak weather and it wouldnt put me off staying again. good parking, well lit and great location for walking into the town.

Room Tip: if its windy ask for a room with the newer windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkDuchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,483 - 1,489 of 1,813 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2011

We were give an afternoon tea voucher as a gift from family and chose The Great Western Grosvenor Hotel in Stratford as we had family their and could combine the two, The service and food was excellet and if you enjoy chocolate, as my husband does, you'll be in heaven!! I was a little apprehensive as to whether the voucher would entitile us to the exclusive cream tea and that we would be treated differently to staying guests. My fears were put aside as soon as we walked into this lovely traditional and warm hotel on that cold November day. We were warmly greeted and and professionally treated by all the staff on duty who made our two hour stay an experience to remember. Convieniently place just a few minutes from the town centre we were able to enjoy the rest of the day admiring the historical sights of Stratford. We took the hotel resident information as we would certainly consider staying over night on our next visit. Than you once again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Speedie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I visited thje Grovesner Hotel with my mother after receiving a voucher for afternoon tea for two as a Birthday present.
The hotel is perfecly positioned about 5 mins walk from Stratford Town centre and it was lovely to relax in the beautiful drawing room, having afternoon tea, following a mornings shopping.
Superb value for money and the young man that waited on was delightful.Despite being very busy,nothing was too much trouble for him!.
Would highly recommend this as a special treat to yourself or someone special.!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank JULIE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This is good value for money. We took the 'Two for £20' deal. The service is prompt and attentive and the food was good and plentiful. They gave us a doggy-bag for what we couldn't finish!
Don't expect spectacular cuisine; this is good traditional fare. I can recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank VixMiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Had great three nights at this hotel, originally booked two but as weather was good and Christmas festivities, ie lights switch-on etc., we decided on the extra night. Hotel excellent, ideally situated only 3/4 minutes walk to main street but in a quiet location. Staff very friendly and helpful and hotel lovely. Breakfasts were superb too !!! Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gill187059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Great hotel , friendly staff ,free parking ,excellent location for visiting all the attractions in Stratford, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank red o o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We complained by email and finally received a terse email from the manager almost scolding us for complaining??
The problem as we found is that although the hotel is listed as Best Western they are just a marketing company and have no authority over each of their hotels, so bear this in mind if ever booking into one of their so called hotels!
This place reminded us of something like a large guest house that has seen better times.
We had a series of small issues even after we had paid for an exec room so aside from being woken up very, very early in the morning by a lorry reversing at the back of the hotel. When we booked out at no stage were we asked whether we had a good nights sleep or whether we were satisfied with everything.
We have since our stay listed our complaints regarding the room, the lorry and lack of professionalism by email to the manager. However rather than appologise he argued each problem and stated that he hoped we found somewhere more suitable to stay in the area the next time we are in Stratford.
So you can clearly see that they value their customers! I'm pleased to say that Stratford does offer lots of lovely hotels so am surprised by the whole experience. We have no axe to grind and are a professional couple in our 40s, so if we can warn people regarding the hotel standards they can at least then make a better judgement call than we did!

Room Tip: Our room was away from the road in yet they still managed to ruin our nights sleep with a reversing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JNFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,829 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,553 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,819 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grosvenor Hotel

Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £61 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully elegant, Grade II listed, 3 Star Georgian Hotel with 73 bedrooms, centrally located in Stratford upon Avon, just 3 minutes walk from the RSC Theatre and all main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford-Upon-Avon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing