We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at the Grosvenor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
cardiff
1 review
“Christmas at the Grosvenor”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Just returned from a 3 day Christmas break at the Grosvenor Hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable, the food was extremely good and the staff couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful. There were nice touches like the glass of champagne before dinner on Christmas Eve and the huge box of chocolates waiting for us at our table on Christmas morning. Apart from our main meals, which was excellent, there was tea/coffee, snacks and chocolates available throughout the day. We would definitely consider booking again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    692
    373
    134
    83
See reviews for
317
948
43
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shoeburyness United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We arrived in the afternoon,to the Grosvenor,not having been there before and what a welcome,the staff were very friendly greeting us as old friends.The location is ideal for everything in town with its superb attarctions.
The Reception ladies were so helpful in all aspects and the bar staff were so nice to talk to.
The food over the length of our stay was so tasty and with plenty of choice.We liked the tea and coffee which was always available together with snacks if we required them.
The Hotel was very clean and the rooms likewise,If you want somewhere to stay which has life as it used to be,do not hesitate to reserve a room as soon as possible as you will regret it if you cannot get in
My partner has many food allergies,this again was no problem,other items were made available at all times.Finally we have already booked again for 2012.

Room Tip: Just book arrive to your room and relax,you will not be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexRon352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My sister and bro-in-law booked a three course lunch for 25 family and friends at The Grosvenor to celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary on 23 December. The staff were friendly, efficient and attentive and the chefs put on the most superb carvery - every single guest enjoyed their meal; the food was superbly cooked, presented and served. We have three chefs in the family and none of us could find fault. A local singer was laid on and a great time was had by all with a lot of singing (and a little dancing!). Given how busy it was, with Christmas guests checking in, everyone who made it such a special experience deserves a big thank you and a hearty pat-on-the-back. We'll be back for more!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarwickshireIsabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

It.s difficult to know where best to start. Lets start with some positives. Good location to town and local attractions, bar staff extremely friendly, food tasty and reaonable priced - the afternoon deluxe tea will leave you bursting - so dont plan to have one and eat a main meal later...cos you wont maket it. But that is where the goodness ends. One receptionist very rude. Be careful of "vouchers". We were given two £5 ones and they expired the month before! If you have the afternoon tea as we followed the offer in our room of £20 for 2, but when checking out the rude receptionist argued we needed a voucher...yet non was mentioned in advertising. We booked an executive room so having stayed in BW hotels before, executive rooms are normally that "executive"....not these. Beds are large doubles and when one night one of us was cold because we couldnt leave portable heater on decided to use spare duvet from cupboard...eww it was covered in blood stains - so was a non starter! The hotel has an old quirky layout which does add a certain charm, until you want to get to and from a room at the back where we were. We had to go up a flight of stairs, along a hot corridor, down more steps and along a freezing cold corridor till we reached our supposed Executive room. Room was freezing and had a cold air vent that couldnt be closed letting in even more cold air. Warm air heating heats this room, so took 2 hours to warm up. We had to stuff the cold air vent with tissue to stop the warm air being cooled immediately!! Heated towel rail in bathroom only heats up when bathroom light is on - not bad, but it takes 30 minutes to warm through and fan required in bathdroom blows cold air! Receptionists contradicted each other one said could have heater, other said "but its centrally heated madam"! Got heater and found when came to move it, plug was red hot and burnt hand.. When complained to duty manager he was uninterested didnt even want our room number!. The Saturday morning 5.30am dustbin collection right outside our bedroom window.......was not a relaxing moment. Sad to say I accidentally left something in the room when we checked out.....and no one occupied the room the Hotel claimed after....but the item has not been found. Perhaps paying out for the safe key is recommended!. I had so wanted this break to relax with my hubby after weeks of stress and overwork for both of us....such a shame that BW couldnt live upto our wishes. Wrote to hotel manager but not had a reply...so perhaps Mr Manager you will enjoy this review instead.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JBKB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

the room was clean i had acouple of issues which where dealt with speedily and efficiently, the aeril cable to the TV broke as it was too short and i moved the TV, a replacement was sourced quickly and no further problems, bereakfast and evening meal where both very good quality and value. the only issue i did have was that the window was very draughty, i ussually turn off all heating in rooms and evne open windows but the evening i stayed was particualalry windy and the draught was extremely uncomfortable as the nly place to put the chair and watch TV was in direct line iwth the chilly wind howling through, having said that i suspect this was the freak weather and it wouldnt put me off staying again. good parking, well lit and great location for walking into the town.

Room Tip: if its windy ask for a room with the newer windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkDuchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We were give an afternoon tea voucher as a gift from family and chose The Great Western Grosvenor Hotel in Stratford as we had family their and could combine the two, The service and food was excellet and if you enjoy chocolate, as my husband does, you'll be in heaven!! I was a little apprehensive as to whether the voucher would entitile us to the exclusive cream tea and that we would be treated differently to staying guests. My fears were put aside as soon as we walked into this lovely traditional and warm hotel on that cold November day. We were warmly greeted and and professionally treated by all the staff on duty who made our two hour stay an experience to remember. Convieniently place just a few minutes from the town centre we were able to enjoy the rest of the day admiring the historical sights of Stratford. We took the hotel resident information as we would certainly consider staying over night on our next visit. Than you once again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speedie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I visited thje Grovesner Hotel with my mother after receiving a voucher for afternoon tea for two as a Birthday present.
The hotel is perfecly positioned about 5 mins walk from Stratford Town centre and it was lovely to relax in the beautiful drawing room, having afternoon tea, following a mornings shopping.
Superb value for money and the young man that waited on was delightful.Despite being very busy,nothing was too much trouble for him!.
Would highly recommend this as a special treat to yourself or someone special.!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JULIE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,776 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,462 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,098 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully elegant, Grade II listed, 3 Star Georgian Hotel with 73 bedrooms, centrally located in Stratford upon Avon, just 3 minutes walk from the RSC Theatre and all main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford-Upon-Avon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing